4/24 Hugo AMPS 104, PMPS 41 - no shot

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tiina and Hugo

Member Since 2016
Okay, so Hugo has been handing me funny numbers. Maybe it's the antibiotics kicking in after the bad diarrhea that lasted three days, but AM number was 104 ja just now PMPS is 41! :eek: Umm what?

He hasn't been eating very well today though I have offered him LC foods and some higher carb food too. He just nibbles some. I doublechecked the PM number and got a 42 after he ate a bit of food. So no I didn't want to stall and shoot, because he was so low. Now he has eaten some more and I gave five biscuits too. I have already drawn the insulin, should I shoot anyway?

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...ter-three-times-under-50.176795/#post-1947262
 
So glad you checked in with us.

Better s day too high than an hour too low.

Sorry for my brevity earlier- wanted to make sure you didn't shoot. Think of it as a fur shot.

A few questions -
How long has his appetite been off? Why is he on antibiotics? Is he prone to ketones? Does he have a history of DKA?
 
He hasn't been eating that great for a few days now. Usually he eats very well, but I have thought that he just is bored with his LC foods. Then started the diarrhea on Friday and it gradually got worse during the weekend escalating on Sunday morning to really watery. I have four cats and three weeks ago they all had a sudden diarrhea that was treated with antibiotics and it got better. Now suddenly it came back to Hugo. I was meant to collect stool samples if the diarrhea returns, so I did that during the weekend and that's why I couldnt' medicate his diarrhea sooner. But yesterday I had to start him on antibiotics again. He has gotten now three doses and hasn't pooed since. The last poo was really watery, slimy and even a bit of blood when I wiped his bum. The vet wants to wait for the stool sample results now, but I'm thinking if this could be pancreatis? About six months ago his last FPL result was slighly elevated, 4.9ug/l.

He has never had DKA, but when he was diagnosed just before I started him on Lantus, he had a moderate amount of ketones in urine according to the test strips. I could smell his breath was fruity smelling, but now I don't smell that.
 
It has also been over a year since he has had a full CBC. Last time they only checked for TT4, T4, FPL, TRYPK-TLI, Folic Acid, B12 and Fructosamine.
 
I'm sorry Hugo is not wanting to eat. Here is some information I was given one time when Furball didn't want to eat. I don't know if you have easy access to some of it in Finland. Maybe something will help. Sending prayers.

Do you have any parmesan cheese? If you maybe sprinkle a little of that on her food, she will perhaps eat? usually ondansetron is better for nausea than cerenia but it doesn't hurt to give her the cerenia....it can help.

Can you finger feed her....either see if she will lick food off your finger or will she let you dab some on the front of her tongue or on the roof of her mouth? Just be careful that it's only a small amount and that you don't get it down her throat.

Here's some info Jill often posts when a kitty won't eat:Here are some things you can do do entice your cat to eat:

-sometimes in order to get a cat to eat you even have to resort to dry it is more important that they eat. there are a couple low carb / grain free brands -- EVO and wellness core.

-making a buffet to give him choices
- heating food

sprinkle food with :
- forta flora -- a probiotic you can get at vets or online. is very smelly and cats love the taste of it.
- parm. cheese
- smashed crumbles of dry food
- bonito tuna flakes
- halo chicken treats -- crumble into dust over food
- poor a little water from tuna in water over food ( I use low sodium/no sodium added as other kinds in water has veg. broth in it and I assume that means onions, which are toxic to cats-- check labels)
-powdered oregano. yep sounds weird . but some cats like it and it will entice them to eat.

other ideas of foods to offer your kitty to stim appy:
- trader joe tuna for cats
-baby food -- beechnut turkey and broth or chicken and broth. they have no onions or other additives. some babyfoods have onions . please read labels if you can't find beechnut.
- kentucky fried chicken
- deli turkey /chicken
- plain cooked ( boiled or baked ) chicken breast
-canned chicken for people (watch the label that their are no onions)
- chicken broth -- low sodium
 
It would be great if you could find some Fortiflora where you live. I used to call it the magic dust as a sprinkle on top of the food always got my cats to eat the food they previously refused. I think Fortiflora is like a probiotic and helps with diarrhea too. Is Hugo getting any probiotics?
 
He ate now some of his LC. And I checked ketones from his urine, but there were none thank goodness. (I think this stress will be the end of me soon if my cats keep having health issues as often as they have been this year.)

He also went for a poo and it was a bit more solid now. I'm running around like a crazy person with the pee stick and wiping his bum and cleaning the box. While trying to get him to eat more. Sigh.

We don't have Fortiflora, so I would need to order it from the UK and it takes two weeks to arrive. The same goes for Slippery Elm Bark and other nice probiotics you got there. I only have Saccharomyces Boulardii, but my parents brought me more today since I don't have a car.

Thanks for all the tips, I did put some dry on top of his foods to get him to eat. No parm cheese in my fridge, but I could go get some from the small supermarket that is close by if Hugo's BG allows me to. Really odd that he was so low at preshot time, never happened before.
 
It would be great if you could find some Fortiflora where you live. I used to call it the magic dust as a sprinkle on top of the food always got my cats to eat the food they previously refused. I think Fortiflora is like a probiotic and helps with diarrhea too. Is Hugo getting any probiotics?
I have given him two half a capsules of S Boulardii yesterday, but none today. I have Pepcid here, would that be okay?
 
I would offer small amounts of food and see if he is interested. I would also mix as much water as he will tolerate into his food. The diarrhea likely has him dehydrated.

Glad to hear there is no history of DKA. However the ingredients favoring the formation of ketones are all present:
*infection/inflammation/systemic stress (diarrhea)
* not enough calories (appetite off for a few days)
*not enough insulin ( caused by the catch 22 of low BG and not being able to count on him eating if you need him to).

If he were my cat I would call the vet and at least see if subcutaneous fluids are in order all things considered. Definitely time for a CBC. Maybe a different antibiotic.
 
Thanks Sandy for the advice. It has been financially a strugge for me recently with so many things going on with my cats at the same time. My other cat is due for a blood test too next week, because he had a relapse with his hemolytic anemia. I have been at the vet every single week. I will try to sort this one out, but if Hugo needs some major treatment now I can't afford it. :blackeye:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top