suki & crystal (GA)
Member since 2014
yesterday
Happy Friday to all,
@Wendy&Neko @julie & punkin (ga) @Suzanne & Cobb(GA)
There were some interesting observations thrown up from my condo yesterday about Crystal's reaction to the R and possible IAA, thank you Wendy, Julie and Suzanne for your thoughts. Wendy said:
Look at Cobb's SS at the end of August last year. Suzanne went from R with every preshot in mid 200's and above, to no R because he was getting lower preshots and started turning all green, then to lowering the Levemir. She only used R after that for exceptions like fur shots. Neko's IAA started breaking mid August 2012, right after SRT. I wasn't giving R and it was a lower dose, but it was similar in that there were a lot of closely spaced reductions. With the amount of testing you do, you should be fine. The biggest thing to consider is to always err on the side of caution.
I'm still a bit confused as to how to interpret Cobb's SS and how both Suzanne and Wendy made the judgement call regarding reducing the Lev - until I can grasp it I think I will just have to continue asking for guidance. Wendy, when you say always err on the side of caution in what context should I be careful, administering R too much, or too little, or needing to adjust the Lev? Sorry for so many questions.
I've heard back from Ruth at the RVC today:
My name is Ruth and I am another of Stijn Niessen’s PhD students. Proliferation of the soft tissues around the muzzle and nose is certainly quite a common feature among acromegalic cats, especially in those with long-standing disease. In fact, one of our studies found that snoring, secondary to upper respiratory tract tissue proliferation, was one of the most common clinical signs among acromegalic cats and humans with acromegaly are often affected by sleep apnea.
Many acromegalic cats tolerate any breathing issues this causes. However, severely-affected cats can experience more severe breathing difficulties at times of stress such as hospitalisation and during hot weather. Humans with sleep apnea do experience an improvement after surgical treatment of acromegaly (hypophysectomy) but we unfortunately have no information as to whether breathing difficulties improve in cats after surgery. Definitive treatment of Crystal’s acromegaly by hypophysectomy may stop the progression of her upper respiratory tract changes. However, if you have decided against surgery (I appreciate you live very far from centres that offer this), the best management of Crystal’s breathing difficulties is probably to limit her exposure to stressful situations. Acromegalic cats can also develop heart muscular disease which can lead to heart failure and breathing difficulties due to fluid build-up on the lungs. However, your description of Crystal sounds as if her problems are attributable to changes in her upper respiratory tract.
Best wishes,
Ruth
I've replied along the lines of asking what tests, if any, I should ask my vet to do, maybe it will be enough to have a simple exam.
I gave Crystal 2u R this morning on an AMPS of 277. Currently her +10 is 194
so that's good. She doesn't appear so snuffly (this is becoming my favorite word) today and is more active than she was yesterday, when she slept for most of the day. I think I just have to take one day at a time and try to handle whatever she throws at me as best I can as she doesn't appear to be consistent in anything lately, she's certainly likes doing things her own way. 
Vines to all kitties in need and their beans
Suki
Happy Friday to all,
@Wendy&Neko @julie & punkin (ga) @Suzanne & Cobb(GA)
There were some interesting observations thrown up from my condo yesterday about Crystal's reaction to the R and possible IAA, thank you Wendy, Julie and Suzanne for your thoughts. Wendy said:
Look at Cobb's SS at the end of August last year. Suzanne went from R with every preshot in mid 200's and above, to no R because he was getting lower preshots and started turning all green, then to lowering the Levemir. She only used R after that for exceptions like fur shots. Neko's IAA started breaking mid August 2012, right after SRT. I wasn't giving R and it was a lower dose, but it was similar in that there were a lot of closely spaced reductions. With the amount of testing you do, you should be fine. The biggest thing to consider is to always err on the side of caution.
I'm still a bit confused as to how to interpret Cobb's SS and how both Suzanne and Wendy made the judgement call regarding reducing the Lev - until I can grasp it I think I will just have to continue asking for guidance. Wendy, when you say always err on the side of caution in what context should I be careful, administering R too much, or too little, or needing to adjust the Lev? Sorry for so many questions.
I've heard back from Ruth at the RVC today:
My name is Ruth and I am another of Stijn Niessen’s PhD students. Proliferation of the soft tissues around the muzzle and nose is certainly quite a common feature among acromegalic cats, especially in those with long-standing disease. In fact, one of our studies found that snoring, secondary to upper respiratory tract tissue proliferation, was one of the most common clinical signs among acromegalic cats and humans with acromegaly are often affected by sleep apnea.
Many acromegalic cats tolerate any breathing issues this causes. However, severely-affected cats can experience more severe breathing difficulties at times of stress such as hospitalisation and during hot weather. Humans with sleep apnea do experience an improvement after surgical treatment of acromegaly (hypophysectomy) but we unfortunately have no information as to whether breathing difficulties improve in cats after surgery. Definitive treatment of Crystal’s acromegaly by hypophysectomy may stop the progression of her upper respiratory tract changes. However, if you have decided against surgery (I appreciate you live very far from centres that offer this), the best management of Crystal’s breathing difficulties is probably to limit her exposure to stressful situations. Acromegalic cats can also develop heart muscular disease which can lead to heart failure and breathing difficulties due to fluid build-up on the lungs. However, your description of Crystal sounds as if her problems are attributable to changes in her upper respiratory tract.
Best wishes,
Ruth
I've replied along the lines of asking what tests, if any, I should ask my vet to do, maybe it will be enough to have a simple exam.
I gave Crystal 2u R this morning on an AMPS of 277. Currently her +10 is 194


Vines to all kitties in need and their beans
Suki