4/23 Yemala PMPS 126 +1 192 +2 204 +3 234 +11 335

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 4//23 Yemala AMPS 129

We're going to get a curve on Mala today, so I think we'll shoot a mini-dose of .25 - same as she got all yesterday. I hope this is right, but we can't delay much longer.
 
Re: 4//23 Yemala AMPS 129

Sorry I can't offer any shooting advice...but good luck! I'd be just as confused as you if I had those #s to play with. Congrats on getting through those 20s though; that couldn't have been easy!
 
Re: 4//23 Yemala AMPS 129

you did good.
good luck with the curve.
as a guideline, check this example out from this sticky New to The Group

Learn how YOUR kitty is responding to insulin:
Onset - the length of time before insulin reaches the bloodstream & begins lowering blood glucose
Peak/Nadir - the lowest point in the cycle
Duration - the length of time insulin continues to lower blood glucose
How to do a Curve

Example of a typical curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.
 
Re: 4//23 Yemala AMPS 129

I would have shot the .25u as well. It's pretty low...although no telling how Yemala will react :-D but it keeps her lantus dose consistent.

Hope you are better today, Renee.
 
Re: 4//23 Yemala AMPS 129

I'm a little better, but still having to use codeine to sleep at night. The cough is driving me nuts.

Curve thus far:

AMPS =125
+1 206
+3 197
+3 172
+4 213
+5 201

She simply will NOT be just like all other sugar kitties. :?

She's felt well enough to sleep with me again. It means she's not furious - at the moment. When she's happy and feeling well, she tucks into my arm pit and snuggles so sweetly, and she hasn't done that for more than a week. It's nice to see her do that again.
 
Re: 4//23 Yemala AMPS 129 +1 206 +2 197 +3 172 +4 213 +5 201

The link to your condo from yesterday isn'g working. The board has been having problems with the links. It may work better if you link the "fancy" way so it look's like Yemala's condo from Friday. To do this, click on the URL button above the text box. This inserts code: . inside the first bracket type "=the copy and pasted http info from the previous day's condo" (without the quotes). In between the two sets of brackets, type whatever you want to name the link (e.g., Yesterday's condo). The link will work this way.

I thought I'd asked you this before -- what meter are you using?
 
Re: 4//23 Yemala AMPS 129 +1 206 +2 197 +3 172 +4 213 +5 201

Just want to say Hello I have never posted in your condo before lovely surf for Yemala :-D
 
Re: 4//23 Yemala AMPS 129 +1 206 +2 197 +3 172 +4 213 +5 201

I use a one touch ultra smart. brand new test strips, recently calibrated meter.

AMPS =125
+1 206
+3 197
+3 172
+4 213
+5 201
+6 226
+7 214


Fixed the condo. I'll try to do it this way from now on.
 
Re: 4//23 Yemala AMPS 129 +1 206 +2 197 +3 172 +4 213 +5 201

She simply will NOT be just like all other sugar kitties.

And what would that be like since my girl will not either :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: That's why we say ECID because they all like to play their own games and do their own dance with FD. ;-)

Seems like the cough always takes the longest to ditch but glad you are better otherwise. Thanks to the person who "invented" codeine!
 
Re: 4//23 Yemala AMPS 129 +1 206 +2 197 +3 172 +4 213 +5 201

Her highest number has been not high, her lowest has not been dangerous. .25 dose seems to work reasonably well for her, at least for now. We'll continue with the curve the rest of the day.

AMPS =125
+1 206
+3 197
+3 172
+4 213
+5 201
+6 226
+7 214
+8 196

Comparatively gorgeous day here. I opened up the door to the screened-in porch, and it's started up the Kitty 500. Mala is basking in some sun and sniffing the breeze and, from time to time, joining in the pile-up of kitties tussling on the living room floor. She's perky, content, interested, and engaged. She's her usual self - good to see.
 
Re: 4//23 Yemala AMPS 129 +1 206 +2 197 +3 172 +4 213 +5 201

AMPS =125
+1 206
+3 197
+3 172
+4 213
+5 201
+6 226
+7 214
+8 196
+9 176.

Little girl is dropping.
 
Re: 4//23 Yemala AMPS 129 +1 206 +2 197 +3 172 +4 213 +5 201

She's not at a really low number but she might keep dropping. There are a couple of options. Leave her alone and just monitor and see where she's going. She's still at a relatively high number. If you are nervous that she will drop lower than what you want to shoot her at, then you can feed her a small LC snack to see if it will bump her up. I'd do a +10 too and see where she is. If she's still dropping, you can feed her another very small LC snack but nothing after +10. I'm not sure what number you are comfortable shooting??
 
Re: 4//23 Yemala AMPS 129 +1 206 +2 197 +3 172 +4 213 +5 201

Husband forgot to test at+10. +10.5 = 125. She's still dropping.

We'll test and post at +12 and consider what to do then.
 
Re: 4//23 Yemala AMPS 129 +1 206 +2 197 +3 172 +4 213 +5 201

Renee: I'd post at +11.5 and not wait until +12. There probably won't be a big difference in 11.5 and 12 and that gives you time for someone to help you out if you need it. If you post at +12, you'll have to stall waiting for help possibly.
 
Re: 4//23 Yemala AMPS 129 +1 206 +2 197 +3 172 +4 213 +5 201

AMPS =125
+1 206
+3 197
+3 172
+4 213
+5 201
+6 226
+7 214
+8 196
+9 176

+10.5 123
+11.5 104

Her PMBG is low. She's been falling since +6. She should be getting food soon, but the question is - do we shoot?

Look at her spreadsheet first. Two days ago, she dropped her levels all afternoon, and we delayed food and insulin for two hours. As she didn't look to be going up on her own, we finally fed without a shot. Her levels were high next morning.

Any advice?
 
Re: 4//23 Yemala AMPS 129 +1 206 +2 197 +3 172 +4 213 +5 201

gosh, really not sure here as I really do not like giving dosing advice but looks as though your cat is a late nadir kitty. meaning her nadir is lowest around her PM shot. we really do not have enough data to know when she starts going up. if we know at +13 she starts to rise, then we could shoot at +12. I would test +12, +12.5 and +1. if going up then shoot. if goes to 40 I would decrease and try to half that dose. that would be anywhere close to the first mark on the syringe.
This is just what I would do. I am sure more folks with more experience will be along. at least I hope so
 
Re: 4//23 Yemala AMPS 129 +1 206 +2 197 +3 172 +4 213 +5 201

ps:
levels high next AM due to probable bounce. Liver is in training school LTS to learn not to panic with these lower numbers
 
Re: 4//23 Yemala AMPS 129 +1 206 +2 197 +3 172 +4 213 +5 201

12.5 = 104. If she follows the same pattern she did two days ago, she's just going to keep dropping for a while. I gave up on waiting her out the last time we saw this after delaying on food and dose for 2 hours.

She's only on a .25 dose now. How does one halve that?

I've got to feed the civvie cats. I can delay on Mala for a little longer, though she'll be furious with me. Oh, well. She'll forgive once she gets some food in her.
 
Re: 4//23 Yemala AMPS 129 +1 206 +2 197 +3 172 +4 213 +5 201

draw up to just a hair past the first line. that would be like a 0.1u a little more light above that line is 0.2u.
 
Re: 4//23 Yemala AMPS 129 +1 206 +2 197 +3 172 +4 213 +5 201

staying at 104 for the last hour so looks as though she is surfing. cats drop less from same dose when starting out at a lower PS (usually).
I have only popped into your condo on occasion and I am terrible at reading SS. so I could be way off base here but did not want you to be left hanging
 
Re: 4//23 Yemala AMPS 129 +1 206 +2 197 +3 172 +4 213 +5 201

I would agree with stalling to see if she will come up on her own. I'm not here long enough to be able to talk you through shooting a low number like this....especially a low dropping number. Sometimes, we shoot a BCS ( basically a chicken dose) but that is usually .25u less than the normal dose which doesn't help you any. So I would stall and see if she comes up. You also need to change your subject line showing she is falling and asking for help. I'm hoping someone else will chime in...like I said, I'm not sitting here in the house long enough to help you through this one and you need someone to do that.
 
Re: 4/23 Yemala PMBG 104 and dropping. Help

+13 = 99 She's still dropping, just as she did two nights ago. Do we throw in the towel and skip the dose, or shoot .25 on a dropping number?
 
Re: 4/23 Yemala PMBG 104 and dropping. Help

Renee: How much longer can you stall? If you can stall an hour to +14, I would see if she comes up. I, personally, am not comfortable suggesting that you shoot the .25u after I saw what she did the other night. I hate to tell you to skip if she's not up by +14 but I don't think you have the data to shoot and I'm not sure if you can dial in something less like .1u.

Could you please put the hour past this morning's shot time in your subject line? When people see PMBG, they think you are not shooting at all. So if she was at 104 at +12, then put +12 104 and then +13 99. If you decide not to shoot, then you would put PMBG at the last number you got before you didn't shoot. I'm sorry but I want to err on the side of caution with her.
 
Re: 4/23 Yemala AMPS +13.5 127

127 at +13.5 since this morning's shot; I can hold off another half hour before feeding and shooting.


AMPS =125
+1 206
+3 197
+3 172
+4 213
+5 201
+6 226
+7 214
+8 196
+9 176
+10.5 123
+11.5 104
+13 99
+13.5 127
 
Re: 4/23 Yemala PMBG 104 and dropping. Help

Oh good, I was just going to suggest a +13.5...that's a decent rise. Will you be able to monitor tonight if you do shoot? Do you have plenty of test strips and HC food? Will you be able to shoot 12 hours from when you shoot tonight, or will being off schedule cause a problem for you?
 
Re: 4/23 Yemala PMBG 104 and dropping. Help

If you did not feed her and she's on the way up, it's up to you if you shoot. Shooting late is the same as a dose reduction. So if I understand she was:
+12: 104
+13: 99
+13.5: 127

Are you comfortable shooting a 127? You want to take advantage of overlap if you are comfortable with that number because if she's on her way up now from her AM cycle, she'll continue to go up until she onsets for her PM cycle. But since you don't have a lot of data to know when that is...you will have to monitor like crazy to be sure she continues to rise. If you want to wait a little longer and make sure she is rising, you can. You'll lose your overlap to a certain degree but it's safer if you are not comfy with the 127. We need to also advise you how to get back on schedule starting tomorrow but deal with this first.
 
Re: 4/23 Yemala PMBG 104 and dropping. Help

We are now at +14. I'm going to go ahead and shoot a .25 again. I believe we'll be okay, but we'll monitor like crazy tonight. No problem keeping track of her tomorrow either - it's Easter, but we're here all day.
 
Re: 4/23 Yemala PMBG 104 and dropping. Help

Ok, please update your subject line with your PMPS # when you get a chance, and plan on getting a +1 and +2 to start. I'll be around and watching to see how you're doing, so please keep us updated, ok?
 
Re: 4/23 Yemala PMBG 104 and dropping. Help

Plus 14 = 126. She's at least holding steady from a half hour ago.

She's gotten 2.5 ounces LC tuna in her. And boy was she cursing us the last hour.
 
Re: 4/23 Yemala PMPS 126

I gave her little nibbles of turkey breast, too, to demonstrate my undying love. She forgives, when turkey is involved. ;-)
 
Re: 4/23 Yemala PMPS 126

She certainly has a tortitude!!! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: We had a torti once as well. I LOVED her tortitude.
 
Re: 4/23 Yemala PMPS 126

Tortitude and a half. She is undisputed mistress of all she surveys - that includes all other civvy cats as well. They are her slaves and minions.

She's at 192 for her +1

AMPS =125
+1 206
+3 197
+3 172
+4 213
+5 201
+6 226
+7 214
+8 196
+9 176
+10.5 123
+11.5 104
+13 99
+13.5 127

PMPS 126

+1 = 192

I'll keep updating as I can
 
Re: 4/23 Yemala PMPS 126

Renee --

It helps if you can keep the subject line of Yemala's condo updated with your current test info. If we're scanning to make sure no one is in trouble, especially if you've shot a low number, having the numbers visible means we don't have to keep opening your condo to see what's going on.
 
Re: 4/23 Yemala PMPS 126 +1 192

Nice.... a food spike perhaps. That will give you some room if she decides to come back down.
 
Re: 4/23 Yemala PMPS 126 +1 192 +2 204

AMPS =125
+1 206
+3 197
+3 172
+4 213
+5 201
+6 226
+7 214
+8 196
+9 176
+10.5 123
+11.5 104
+13 99
+13.5 127

PMPS 126

+1 = 192
+2 204
 
Re: 4/23 Yemala PMPS 126 +1 192 +2 204 +3 234

AMPS =125
+1 206
+3 197
+3 172
+4 213
+5 201
+6 226
+7 214
+8 196
+9 176
+10.5 123
+11.5 104
+13 99
+13.5 127

PMPS 126

+1 = 192
+2 204
+3 234
 
Re: 4/23 Yemala PMPS 126 +1 192 +2 204 +3 234

Hi Renee:

I hope you're not retyping all her values every time. We can get them as we run through your condo for earlier in the day or see them on your SS. Looks like she has decided to bounce tonight so yu should be able to get some rest!
 
Re: 4/23 Yemala PMPS 126 +1 192 +2 204 +3 234

No no. I cut and paste. It also allows me to keep a quick visual on her without having to run to the spreadsheet all the time.

Mala is resting. It would be nice if we could.

My question though - what will I shoot in the AM? Same dose, or reduced even further?

And just as importantly, when do we shoot tomorrow? Her typical breakfast is at 6, but we can wait. Opinions?
 
Re: 4/23 Yemala PMPS 126 +1 192 +2 204 +3 234

Either Mala is bouncing, or she is a late nadir kitty....it's too soon to say for sure. As you continue to shoot a consistent dose and collect data, the pattern will emerge. I agree that you can get some rest though!

I would stay with the same dose, she has not earned a reduction yet. You will want to shoot 12 hours from the time you shot tonight...but if you want to start moving the schedule back, you can shoot 15 minutes early on each shot, or 30 minutes early on one shot per day.

If you could try to get a +10 and/or +11 in the morning, that will help. Please post the tests and ask for help if you aren't sure what to do, ok?
 
Re: 4/23 Yemala PMPS 126 +1 192 +2 204 +3 234

All that sounds fine. I'll get up at 6 as usual, but take data before shooting. I will shoot around 8 AM CST, so this will give me time to play.

Thanks again for the advice. I'll post in the AM once I have numbers.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top