4/23 Tarragon DOSAGE SUGGESTIONS AMPS 367

Status
Not open for further replies.

Melissa & Tarragon

Member Since 2011
I got to do a full curve today and was a little suprised at all the high numbers. Last week, the vet cut Tarragon from 1U to .5U after he was bouncing. It looks like .5 is not enough. Should I bump him up to .75? That is what I did for his evening shot, but wanted to double check with you guys. Any thoughts would be appreciated.
 
I think increasing Tarragon to 0.75u was very much in keeping with the protocol we use. Generally, we don't suggest dropping the dose as much as your vet recommended unless you are getting such low numbers that you can't safely shoot. You did the right thing not shooting with a 75 at PMPS -- you don't have enough data yet to shoot that low. I suspect that if you'd dropped to 0.75 u then, you'd have been fine. Be that as it may, hold the 0.75u dose for 6 cycles (3 days) unless you get a drop below 50.

Had you thought about sharing our dosing protocol with your vet?

Also, when you get a curve, you don't have to test every hour. It's fine to test every other hour.
 
I agree with what Sienne said. Just one more suggestion....can you please make sure you get at least a before bed test each PM cycle? Many kitties drop lower at night, and you could be missing some low numbers at night if you don't get a spot check.

Good luck with the dose increase!
 
Thank You for the input! I am going to talk to the vet Monday. She is the who referred me to this board, so that will help. I wanted to make sure I was interpreting it correctly. There is so much to learn with all this.
 
There's an overwhelming amount of info to learn. Keep asking questions!! Everyone who's here has been in the same situation of feeling swamped with information and panicked that you are not doing right by your kitty. We're all here to help each other.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top