4/23 punkin +18/290 +20/312 pmps 315 +3.5/278

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 4/23 punkin +9/279 +13/309 +16/283

Julie: glad to see you didn't shoot since you were past +14 and you didn't know what he'd hold down. I'm happy he's doing so well...his numbers are pretty good considering everything, don't you think? And like Sienne said, since you didn't shoot this morning and his numbers are up, he'll probably be very safe for you to go to the wonderful concert tonight!! GO DS!! Healing vines for Punkin.
 
Re: 4/23 punkin +9/279 +13/309 +16/283 +18/290

+18 290 - his numbers really are kinda surprising me, in a good way. i'm so glad he's not up higher.

another quarter-size dollop of food and a couple Tablespoons of water. good appetite. perhaps we've turned a corner on this one.

the dental was 3/29.

the son is fire-spinning, no concert. he used to play tenor sax and we've watched him in a lotta concerts, but hasn't gotten involved in music in college. on the bright side, the eyelashes that he burned off are finally growing back. it takes a long time for them to grow. i try to not freak every time i see him on fire because it doesn't do any good at all. it does tweak the mommy instinct in me.
 
Re: 4/23 punkin +9/279 +13/309 +16/283 +18/290

haven't done one before, but i have everything ready. sure - i'll try. he has long furry-haired thighs and he squats low, so there's no "catching" him in the act. but i have a box full of lentils. will watch him and report back.
 
Re: 4/23 punkin +9/279 +13/309 +16/283 +18/290

Oh my goodness, Julie! What a day for you and punkin!! Glad you guys went to the vet and have a plan in place to get punkin feeling better soon! I hope you enjoy your evening with your son!!
 
Re: 4/23 punkin +9/279 +13/309 +16/283 +18/290

Thanks Christie! some days are like that, even in australia. i'm feeling better now that there's no pukus showing up!

sienne, punkin says "thank you very much but i don't need to pee." still watching and waiting.

he did have a normal bowel movement this morning - of course while we were in the car on the way home from the vet. i now travel with a litter box in the car. Full service mobile!
 
Re: 4/23 punkin +9/279 +13/309 +16/283 +18/290 +20/312

no pee here. silly kitter.

he's 315 at pmps - has held all the food, and the urine!, and i'm gonna shoot a 1/2 dose again 3.5 units and give him a little less than 1/2 the normal amount of food. we'll be back in just over 3 hours and i'll give him his AB and more food then.

thanks everyone, for all the help and good wishes today! now I'm praying the son doesn't catch on fire!
 
Re: 4/23 punkin +16/283 +18/290 +20/312 pmps 315 1/2 dose sh

Glad to hear he's holding the food. Now give up the pee, Punkin!

Enjoy your evening! We're doing the "Don't catch on fire, Julie's son!" dance over here!!
 
Re: 4/23 punkin +16/283 +18/290 +20/312 pmps 315 1/2 dose sh

If Punkin is back eating normally and not barfing, I'd give serious consideration to going back to your full dose tomorrow. My reason for asking for a ketone test is that not enough insulin, an infection, and not eating is a recipe for ketones. I really would like to see Punkin's numbers back down and you're giving him his usual dose since it's going to take a few days to get the shed filled.

Sorry -- I don't mean to give you another thing to be concerned about but I'd rather have you vigilent for signs of ketosis and catch it before it's a problem than have Punkin in full blown DKA.
 
Re: 4/23 punkin +16/283 +18/290 +20/312 pmps 315 1/2 dose sh

Hi Julie, So glad to hear that Punkin is doing better. You've been fighting quite a battle with your little guy. And if your son didn't catch fire, your evening was a pleasant one, I trust! Sleep well.
 
Re: 4/23 punkin +16/283 +18/290 +20/312 pmps 315 1/2 dose sh

Julie,
Hope he's holding his food down and has a good night tonight, so you can.
 
+3.5 = 278

just now seeing your post, sienne - thanks. not sure if i can catch him in the act still tonight, but i appreciate the heads-up on the ketones. i'm glad you said that about the dose because i was wondering what i was supposed to do coming back out of this - go right back to the regular dose or work up to it or ?

tucking the pill pieces in the balls of fancy feast - wish i'd known that before. ohmygosh it works great. no oogies on the carpet when i got home, so he seems past the worst of the nausea. i gave him another 1/4 can of FF.

i'm exhausted tonight and longing for bed, so i may set an alarm and see what he is at +6. don't think i can stay up for it.

happily, my son didn't catch fire tonight. someone else's son did! but only briefly and he got it out. it was very cool. tomorrow i may post a pic in the loose lips thread.
 
I'm so glad that Punkin is keeping food down, and you have a pilling solution! I hope the clindamycin works well for him. I agree about the ketone test...an ounce of prevention.....

I'm glad your son didn't catch on fire....so the evening was a success! :-D
 
forgot to mention earlier that the vet also said it looked like the clavamox hadn't helped at all - the redness had increased. he said no abscess, no pus, just a swollen tissue mess - it doesn't help that the upper teeth are hitting the spot that's inflamed. so it was really good we didn't continue with the clavamox and have something different instead.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top