Re: 4/23 Pumbaa AMPS/365 +3/289 +6/236 +9/421
Hi Sienne & Gabby...and thank you for the welcome!
I didn't do a very good introduction in my initial post. I had been posting on Relaxed Lantus, but a couple of people suggested that I and Pumbaa might do well in the tight regulation protocol, so here I am.

Anything to get my little Mr. Wiggle Butt down to good numbers, and hopefully OTJ one day!
I have read the sticky notes at the top of the Board...some more recently than others...and I've tried absorbing so much information in the last couple of weeks I need to remind myself to go back and re-read. Thank you for the reminder.
Actually, I found these boards when I was devouring the information on catinfo.org. My goal, eventually, is to get my cats on her raw food diet. But right now, time and the money (to purchase the TS-108 meat grinder) are two resources I am lacking due to all the vet and insulin expenses, and work time I have lost in the last few weeks due to FD research and life in general. I have a meat grinder attachment for my Kitchen-Aid mixer, but I don't want to burn out the mixer motor grinding the bones. I could debone the chicken thighs and only grind the meat, but the premix that Dr. Pierson recommended can only be shipped within Canada. I've been in touch with Natascha Wille, the supplier of the TCFeline premix, and she referred me to
a company in Oregon, that is licensed to distribute down here, but they don't sell retail. That is as far as I got on the raw, as my cats were not transitioning well to the Instinct chicken medallions I've purchased for them.
Re: Wellness, etc. and the carb counts. I have a problem with all of those food charts simply because I don't trust the manufacturers to not have added more carb fillers in the very recent years to cut costs on their products, and most of those charts are very old to somewhat old. I wish I could go by the carb counts from those charts, but like I said, I just don't trust them, so I read the ingredients, instead. There is a
post here documenting this need for people to read the ingredients, for the exact reasons I cited.
What I would like to see is a new board here, with updated information on carb counts from people who have recently called the manufacturers and verified this information, so that one person doesn't have to do all of the work, and we constantly get updated information. I would be willing to donate some of my time to this project as I feel it's very important since pet food manufacturers are exempt from listing exact content values as human food manufacturers are required to do.
Thank you for the link...I am looking forward to reading "new dose wonkiness"! *LOL* Maybe that, and with the help of others who have tried deciphering Pumbaa's numbers, I'll understand better.
You're right, I might have increased Pumbaa's dose on a bounce. But it was suggested by a few others here who had been following Pumbaa's testing, and it seemed to follow the tight regulation protocol since he had been at 1.25 for 12 cycles. Because I'm impatient, I'm already thinking that Lantus may not be the best insulin for my bouncy guy as that is all he has been doing is bouncing since 4/19. I'm confused. I just want him to stabilize a bit.
And thank you again, as I have been posting my newbie questions for a few weeks now, and have found that, exactly as you stated, the people on these boards are very, very, very generous with their time, input and support. I hope to be able to be in that position one day to offer the support once I figure things out.
Suze