4/23 Pumbaa AMPS/365 +3/289 +6/236 +9/421 PMPS/447 +3/396

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pumbaa

Member Since 2012
Good morning all! It was suggested that I get Pumbaa on tight regulation and start posting here, so I am.

I just increased Pumbaa to 1.5U this morning...hope that means we'll be seeing more blues than we have at 1.0U and 1.25U.

Pumbaa, and civilian Larry, had their dry food taken away on 4/3/12. I added a column in Pumbaa's spreadsheet for the foods they are given and when, as well as a column tracking his urine testing/ketones.

Any input is welcome!

Suze
 
Re: 4/23 Pumbaa AMPS/365

Hi guys and welcome to lantus land! Glad to hear all dry kibble is up and out of the house .. that hopefully will make a nice change in pumbaa's numbers too .. Good luck with the extra juic! Have a great day!
 
Re: 4/23 Pumbaa AMPS/365

Thank you!

We did the no kibble/high-protein/low-carbs diet for a week before the insulin was started, to see if that would bring his numbers down, but it didn't bring them down enough to where he didn't need the insulin to help him along. Still hoping to join so many of you in the OTJ club someday soon! :)
 
Re: 4/23 Pumbaa AMPS/365

Glad to see you found your way over. :mrgreen:

I hope the increase helps!

(I ended up not working today...so I thought I would stop in and say hi! :-D )
 
Re: 4/23 Pumbaa AMPS/365

Good morning, Carolyn!

I'm going to test at +3 and +6 and give Pumbaa's ears a break today...will be interesting to see the numbers.
 
Re: 4/23 Pumbaa AMPS/365 +3/289 +6/236 +9/421

Update: I'm not happy with the 421 reading at +9. He only went down to 236 at +6, so why would be be bouncing like this? I predict that he's going to be in the 500's again by his PMPS. Is this normal with an increase when they are filling the shed?
 
Re: 4/23 Pumbaa AMPS/365 +3/289 +6/236 +9/421

I just noticed something. Ever since I started Pumbaa and Larry on FF Classic, Pumbaa's numbers have gone higher. That is when he started getting 500 readings. Is there a correlation? FF Classic cans don't list any rice, potatoes, corn, corn starch etc. on their labels...but who knows what is in those "artificial and natural flavors".


I'm going to the pet food store and picking up some Merrick and Blue Wilderness.

<-- Just got back. Merrick is now off my list of suitable canned foods...Cowboy Cookout, Grandma's Pot Pie and Surf& Turf now have either sweet potatoes or potatoes. Pet Club didn't carry Blue Wilderness. Wellness brand varieties all had sweet potatoes or potatoes - but I think it was this brand that had lamb for dogs that had NO CARBS...so why do they put it in the cat food? I wound up getting EVO 95% Venison, 95% Duck and 95% Beef. I need to start making raw and transitioning my cats before I go broke.
 
Re: 4/23 Pumbaa AMPS/365 +3/289 +6/236 +9/421

Welcome to Lantus Land!! If you've not already done so, you may want to take some time to read the starred, sticky notes at the top of the Board.

If you've had a chance to look at Dr. Lisa's Pierson's site on feline nutrition, she notes that it's more helpful to go by the carb counts than some of the ingredients. Wellness (either chicken or turkey) are 4% carb. What that means is that the amount of potato is really minimal. I feed my guys Wellness and it's just fine. If you're considering switching to a raw diet, her website has a great deal of information on raw food including her recipe for a raw diet that has all of the necessary nutrients/supplements.

There is a phenomenon called New Dose Wonkiness (NDW). Basically, when you increase a dose, the expectation is that you will see numbers come down. Sometimes, numbers actually go up for a cycle or two.

I think you increased Pumbaa's dose on a bounce. I'd be careful doing this. Remember, it can take up to 72 hours for a bounce to clear.

Please let us know if you have questions. The people here are very generous with their time and information. I hope you'll post regularly and let us know how we can help.
 
Re: 4/23 Pumbaa AMPS/365 +3/289 +6/236 +9/421 PMPS/447

Welcome to LL Pumbaa and Suze,

Merricks also makes a BG (Before Grain) line of canned food. The BG 95% turkey has 1% carbs and I believe the other flavors are similar. We feed Rusty Wellness Turkey (4% carbs) as his main food and supplement it with BG turkey and By Nature 95% Turkey & Turkey Liver. Rusty's favorite food, however, is Fancy Feast Turkey & Giblets (which, I believe, is about 7% carbs in its present configuration). It tends to raise his glucose levels, so I usually feed it only as a treat, or I mix it in with the other foods. At present he is recovering from a mild case of pancreatitis, so I have been feeding more FF T&G to keep him eating. It's good to know what effect the various foods have on your cat and you can only do it by trial and error. Dr. Lisa Pierson http://www.catinfo.org has a great section on nutrition.

Good luck with getting Pumbaa's numbers down. Be patient! Patience is the name of the game!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 4/23 Pumbaa AMPS/365 +3/289 +6/236 +9/421

Hi Sienne & Gabby...and thank you for the welcome!

I didn't do a very good introduction in my initial post. I had been posting on Relaxed Lantus, but a couple of people suggested that I and Pumbaa might do well in the tight regulation protocol, so here I am. :) Anything to get my little Mr. Wiggle Butt down to good numbers, and hopefully OTJ one day!

I have read the sticky notes at the top of the Board...some more recently than others...and I've tried absorbing so much information in the last couple of weeks I need to remind myself to go back and re-read. Thank you for the reminder.

Actually, I found these boards when I was devouring the information on catinfo.org. My goal, eventually, is to get my cats on her raw food diet. But right now, time and the money (to purchase the TS-108 meat grinder) are two resources I am lacking due to all the vet and insulin expenses, and work time I have lost in the last few weeks due to FD research and life in general. I have a meat grinder attachment for my Kitchen-Aid mixer, but I don't want to burn out the mixer motor grinding the bones. I could debone the chicken thighs and only grind the meat, but the premix that Dr. Pierson recommended can only be shipped within Canada. I've been in touch with Natascha Wille, the supplier of the TCFeline premix, and she referred me to a company in Oregon, that is licensed to distribute down here, but they don't sell retail. That is as far as I got on the raw, as my cats were not transitioning well to the Instinct chicken medallions I've purchased for them.

Re: Wellness, etc. and the carb counts. I have a problem with all of those food charts simply because I don't trust the manufacturers to not have added more carb fillers in the very recent years to cut costs on their products, and most of those charts are very old to somewhat old. I wish I could go by the carb counts from those charts, but like I said, I just don't trust them, so I read the ingredients, instead. There is a post here documenting this need for people to read the ingredients, for the exact reasons I cited.

What I would like to see is a new board here, with updated information on carb counts from people who have recently called the manufacturers and verified this information, so that one person doesn't have to do all of the work, and we constantly get updated information. I would be willing to donate some of my time to this project as I feel it's very important since pet food manufacturers are exempt from listing exact content values as human food manufacturers are required to do.

Thank you for the link...I am looking forward to reading "new dose wonkiness"! *LOL* Maybe that, and with the help of others who have tried deciphering Pumbaa's numbers, I'll understand better.

You're right, I might have increased Pumbaa's dose on a bounce. But it was suggested by a few others here who had been following Pumbaa's testing, and it seemed to follow the tight regulation protocol since he had been at 1.25 for 12 cycles. Because I'm impatient, I'm already thinking that Lantus may not be the best insulin for my bouncy guy as that is all he has been doing is bouncing since 4/19. I'm confused. I just want him to stabilize a bit.

And thank you again, as I have been posting my newbie questions for a few weeks now, and have found that, exactly as you stated, the people on these boards are very, very, very generous with their time, input and support. I hope to be able to be in that position one day to offer the support once I figure things out. :)

Suze
 
Re: 4/23 Pumbaa AMPS/365 +3/289 +6/236 +9/421 PMPS/447

Thank you for the welcome and information, Ella & Rusty!

I looked at Merrick's Before Grain at the pet food store today, and there was something in the ingredients that I wasn't sure about. It was the yeast. I wanted to make sure that yeast didn't add carbs. Other than the yeast, the ingredients looked fine. My cats really enjoyed the EVO 95% venison tonight. Mom is going to be eating rice & beans, though, at these prices.

Yes, I found these boards via catinfo.org, and my goal one day (when I can afford the TS-108 meat grinder) is to get my cats on raw! I don't trust the pet food manufacturers and want my Pumbaa on the best food for his FD.

Do you have a link for those "patience pants" I'm supposed to be wearing? I was born without the patience gene. haha_smiley
 
Re: 4/23 Pumbaa AMPS/365 +3/289 +6/236 +9/421 PMPS/447

FWIW, Wellness posts their "as fed" values on their website. They are among a handful of manufacturers who do so. I tend to agree that the "guaranteed" values are misleading.

Just a thought regarding a raw diet... You can purchase a form of bone meal that is nutritionally adequate and not have to go to the trouble of grinding bones. When I was feeding my characters raw, I used my KitchenAid and the pre-mix you noted. I didn't want to buy an expensive grinder. Another possibility is to see if there's a butcher who could grind the chicken for you. I did find there was no difference in Gabby's numbers when I switched her from raw to Wellness.
 
Re: 4/23 Pumbaa AMPS/365 +3/289 +6/236 +9/421 PMPS/447

Hi Suze! I doubt any of us here have that patience at first but slowly slowly, we are taught to be patient when facing the DM. We all love our fur babies so much that a red bg will drives us crazy! But really go slow, give Pumbba the time to heal. He deserves the patience from you too!
I am in HK & we dont have that many LC canned food here. We've got expansive no grain which has vege inside. Ive tried to add in more home cooked for my cats; boiled chicken, boiled minced fish etc. Raw is not ideal to givreto our pets here because I dont trust the raw we get from the market here.
With your love & dedication, I am sure Pumbaa will improve soon.
 
Re: 4/23 Pumbaa AMPS/365 +3/289 +6/236 +9/421 PMPS/447

Sienne and Gabby said:
FWIW, Wellness posts their "as fed" values on their website. They are among a handful of manufacturers who do so. I tend to agree that the "guaranteed" values are misleading.

Thank you so much for letting me know that the Wellness is actually current values, and they post it on their website! I haven't had time to visit all of the food manufacturer's websites, so your sharing that info means a lot to me!
 
Re: 4/23 Pumbaa AMPS/365 +3/289 +6/236 +9/421 PMPS/447

Tortie58: I've survived 55 years without learning patience, but I'll tell you, dealing with Pumbaa's FD has taught me more about patience than I have learned in my entire life! Thank you, yes, I need to go slow and give Pumbaa time to heal. I just don't want him to experience organ damage with all of those +400 and +500 numbers he's been experiencing.

I've been so self-centered and so Pumbaa-centered in the last 3 weeks, it never occurred to me that people outside of the US (and Canada) would be having even a more difficult time finding good high-protein, low-carb canned cat foods for their pets. My heart goes out to you! No grain with veggies isn't bad, if those aren't high carb veggies like potatoes and sweet potatoes and peas and carrots.

Instead of boiling the chicken and fish for your cats (which removes a lot of the nutrients into the water), have you considered just baking them? I've been convection baking chicken for my drooler for years now, instead of boiling chicken for her. I use a FlavorWave Turbo countertop convection cooker, which makes meats very juicy while cooking them to perfection. And when I was cooking fish for Pumbaa, I would just wrap it in wax paper and steam it gently in the microwave until it was cooked, to try and retain the nutrients.

Thank you...from your mouth to god's ear about Pumbaa improving soon. I wish the same for your sugarkitty! (((HUGS)))
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top