4/23 Mooch AMPS 54, +6 68, +9 114, PMPS 241, +3 107, +6 299

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lisa & Mary

Active Member
Mooch ate about 50g of the Trader Joe's food overnight and got no kibble last night. I gave him some of the fish flavoured Trader Joe's this morning and he ate maybe an ounce or two which is pretty good for him. I gave him a few kibbles as well since his blood sugar was fairly low. Based on the last few days readings I think Mooch needs a dosage decrease as long as he's eating wet/little dry and I decreased his dose this morning.

As I've been reducing Mooch to smaller and smaller doses the "extra" insulin beyond the zero marking has become more significant. I reduced Mooch's dose this morning and it is now so the top of the plunger is sitting on the zero line - where the arrow is pointing in the 1st pic below. I think there is about 1/3 of a unit in this extra space beyond the zero line that I tested by comparing volumes - see the second picture below and notes.

So my question is about how I should record the doses in Mooch's spreadsheet? Should I show teh current dose (zero line) as 1/3 unit and adjust the earlier doses to account for the extra? Or should I do something different?

Mooch sends smooches to everyone!

markings-2.jpg


Bottom right droplet is 1 unit (between unit markings on syringe). Top right droplet is from the 1 unit mark to emptying the syringe and you can see its bigger.
Middle droplet is from the zero unit mark to empting the syringe. Left droplet is ~1/3 of a unit (between unit markings on syringe). The droplets are the same size.
volume-1.jpg
 
Re: 4/23 AMPS 54 QUESTION ON SMALL DOSES

When we get to these small doses the variance on the lines is infuriating. I've given up. I draw to the nearest half or full unit line. Then I count out the drops to the end, making sure they are consistent. Usually I get 7 drops from the half unit mark, but not always. I will redraw until I find where I do get the 7 drops. Then a final draw to that spot and count out the number I need to remove to get to Tess's dose.

What you call it is up to you, just be consistent in the droplet size and your terminology. For example I note it on the SS as ".25u / 4 drops". It isn't always at .25u, but it keeps a constant frame of reference. I don't know what I will call any future reductions ("sk.25u / 3 drops" or should it be ".125u / 3 drops" ?) What you call it isn't the point, an even dose is.
 
Re: 4/23 AMPS 54, +3.5 49 QUESTION ON SMALL DOSES

OK thanks, I'll show the current dose as 0.33 unit and go back and adjust the previous doses so the spreadsheet is consistent.

Despite the few kibbles at breakfast and the reduced dose Mooch had pretty low blood glucose of 49 at noon. I've given him some more kibbles to provide extra carbs. I used my other cats' Hills TD dental kibbles.
 
Re: 4/23 AMPS 54, +3.5 49, +6 68 QUESTION ON SMALL DOSES

I haven't snooped in a few days...great #'s for Mooch!

Not easy getting such a little amount of insulin in the syringe, but you seem like a pro!!!
 
Re: 4/23 AMPS 54, +3.5 49, +6 68 QUESTION ON SMALL DOSES

Moch is the perfect patient, except for not liking wet food. Even with that he is cute as when I give him just the wet and no kibble he keeps checking out my pockets. In the first few days when I was doing his blood tests I would put a couple of kibbles in my pocket to give him as a treat after the test and he thinks I keep a stash of kibble in my pocket.

I'm wondering if he's starting to go into remission as his glucose levels have been so low today despite giving him quite a bit of carbs via the high carb kibble (approx half a cup). I'll see what his readings are before his PM shot is due and if they are still low I'll feed him some more wet food and skip/delay the shot to see what happens.

Mooch sends smoochies to everyone!
 
Re: 4/23 Mooch AMPS 54, +3.5 49, +6 68, +9 114, PMPS 241

So I probably jinxed Mooch by talking about possible remission right before his blood sugars started to rise :oops:

The good news is that he ate quite a bit of the Trader Joes fish flavour food and kept nibbling at it through the day. He ate 86g (~3oz) in total which is more than he's ever eaten for wet food before. I gave him his new 0.33 dose again and will test his glucose level before I go to bed and give him some kibbles if needed.

Mooch sends smooches to everyone!
 
Re: 4/23 Mooch AMPS 54, +3.5 49, +6 68, +9 114, PMPS 241, +3

Have you tried Mooch on higher carb wet food for when you want to bump him up a little? He might like it better than the LC stuff and eat it quite easily. Sounds like he's getting used to eating the LC stuff anyway - good boy Smoochy Moochy
 
Re: 4/23 Mooch AMPS 54, +3.5 49, +6 68, +9 114, PMPS 241, +3

I've tried all kinds of wet food and he doesn't really love any of it so its a bit of a lottery how much/if he'll eat it and he tends to nibble. In the past I've used small amounts of the EVO kibble to make sure he's eating enough and its not much higher carb than the wet food and the bonus is that for small amounts he'll wolf it down all in one go so I don't have to keep checking. Yesterday his sugar levels were pretty low/falling and I used a higher carb dry food. Unfortunately for Mooch I overdid it and/or he bounced and he went to 299 at PM +6 and 501 in his AMPS this morning :sad:

Fingers crossed that he stays liking the Trader Joes food as it'll be much easier to balance the insulin if he's eating something consistently.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top