4/23 getting higher numbers as I increase insulin?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Vasalisa

Member Since 2024
Should I be as worried as I am about these higher numbers?

Meat had been fairly steady in the yellow since I began testing and now as i am increasing her insulin she does have some lower numbers but also some numbers are higher than they have ever been.

Are the sudden purples [edit: pinks!] an indicator of something wrong? Or are they just a thing that can happen on the way to the correct dose/regulation?

I don't want to miss any clues since I haven't been able to get many PM readings.
 
Last edited:
We call those numbers pink, not purple.:)
What I would encourage you to do is try and get tests in during the pm cycles. At the moment you only know what is happening 1/2 the time.
Cats often drop lower at night and unless you are testing you will have no idea.
It is possible Meat is dropping lower at night and is then bouncing from the low numbers she is no longer used to.
Are you giving snacks during both the cycles as well as the 2 mail meals?
 
We call those numbers pink, not purple.:)
What I would encourage you to do is try and get tests in during the pm cycles. At the moment you only know what is happening 1/2 the time.
Cats often drop lower at night and unless you are testing you will have no idea.
It is possible Meat is dropping lower at night and is then bouncing from the low numbers she is no longer used to.
Are you giving snacks during both the cycles as well as the 2 mail meals?

Well, that's nice at least, I'd rather be pink lol

Yes, not being able to test at night is currently a huge problem.

I am caretaking for a friend at night and their situation is deteriorating to where I can't come back home to test. I'm working on a solution to this, but I'm extremely overwhelmed. I was sort of hoping to get really sick so I could stay home with Meat for a few pm cycles lol

I imagine you're right, the few times I have been able to test her numbers WERE lower at night. I bet they are much lower than I had thought

Meat grazes all day and night on her fancy feast classics in addition to the two main meals.

Thank you so much for your response!
 
I’m sorry you are having to care for an unwell friend. It must be tough.
Can you take Meat with you or would that not work out?
Are you at home for any hours of the pm cycles? Any tests would be helpful?
Keep in touch with us and let us know now things are going :bighug:
 
I’m sorry you are having to care for an unwell friend. It must be tough.
Can you take Meat with you or would that not work out?
Are you at home for any hours of the pm cycles? Any tests would be helpful?
Keep in touch with us and let us know now things are going :bighug:

Thank for your kind comment, it is difficult but I don't really like to mention it since it's non cat related and the emotions are just messy. Unfortunately my friend needed to be admitted last night, which I was anticipating but is still extremely hard. I did get some tests in but needed to rest also, tonight I am set on not wasting this chance and catching the nadir.

I used to take Meat with me before her diabetes but now with her neuropathy she doesn't like to travel and her symptomatic litter habits can create an issue not easily resolved there. Regardless of all that, this may be necessary in the future. I usually should be able to test her at +1 +2 and +10 +11 unless something comes up, but I assumed those wouldn't be as helpful so I've only done them occasionally. Makes sense I am wrong about this in absence of other readings. Thank you again, I really appreciate your help.
 
A +2 is always helpful. It can give you a heads up if the cycle might be active and Meat is thinking about dropping. If the +2 is lower than the Preshot it could be a red flag to get another test in. And a +10 is also helpful. If you happen to have a lower than normal preshot and you got a +10 before that, it will tell you if the Preshot is rising or just staying low. Dies that all make sense.
I hope your friend is feeling better.
 
That makes a lot of sense! Thank you for explaining it to me in detail, I feel like it actually got through my brain with the help of your paragraph!!

After reading your red flag comment and doing a re check on my SS I see all my recent pm + 2s are lower!!! I'm thinking even more strongly that you are right about her having an active cycle and going much lower in my blind hours and me seeing the bounce. Oh dear!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top