4/23 Dimitri AMPS 226 +3 73 +5 60 +6 83 PMPS 80

Status
Not open for further replies.

ChEMom

Member Since 2014
Yesterday's condo

Boy did Dimitri's sugar go HIGH yesterday evening. All because of the Kitty Crack. ohmygod_smile Today I'm feeding him the Weruva chicken, which
is the lowest carb food I have in the cupboard. That, and keeping him off the Crack should get his numbers back down.

Heading out to take middle son to the orthodontist to get a bracket off, then to the dentist for a filling, then back to the ortho. fun.not.
 
Re: 4/23 Dimitri AMPS 226

Hi Janet,
I don't think I have stopped by to welcome you and Dimitri yet. Cleo and I are another FL family. Dimitri looks so soft and beautiful handsome! Good job on getting all those tests in yesterday - I know how hard that is.
Have a great day (after the running around!) ;-)
 
Re: 4/23 Dimitri AMPS 226 +3 73

Thank you for the warm welcome Jane! We live up in Lake City for now, but hubby lost his job last Dec. and has finally gotten a permanent new job in East Texas.
So as soon as the house sells, we move!

It looks like Dimitri cleared the "Crack" from his system quickly! I'm going to check him in a couple hours to see how low he goes.
 
Re: 4/23 Dimitri AMPS 226 +3 73

Hi guys .. you know, I don't think I've been by your condo to welcome you either .. so welcome from us! Dimitri wasted no time today in coming down .. Nicely done! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 4/23 Dimitri AMPS 226 +3 73

Hi there ~O) :cool:

A lovely AM+3 ! :mrgreen:
The contraband did indeed clear his system in short order.
(No more shenanigans Dimitri - OK?)
 
Re: 4/23 Dimitri AMPS 226 +3 73 +5 60

Well, I just did a +5 check and was surprised by the lower number, so I gave him about 4 of his Whisker Lickins treats that I know are normally a no-no, but
I just don't want him going much lower. He has only eaten a small amount of the Weruva chicken today, so that's part of the problem. Maybe I'll go back to
the Friskies pate for lunch. Usually he loves the Weruva. I'll check him again in a hour to see if he's hit his nadir yet.
 
Re: 4/23 Dimitri AMPS 226 +3 73 +5 60 +6 83

He ate about 1/4 can of his usual Friskies pate and at +6 he is 83 :-D
 
Re: 4/23 Dimitri AMPS 226 +3 73 +5 60 +6 83

Woo Hoo!! Go Dimitri!!

Work that juice boy!! What a way to clear those icky carbs!

Hope he continues to surf those safe pretty green numbers!!
 
Re: 4/23 Dimitri AMPS 226 +3 73 +5 60 +6 83

Thanks Chris! His PMPS is also green! Love the green. Hope he keeps this going. :mrgreen:
 
Well don't be upset if he bounces! His liver has to relearn what "normal" numbers are, so he may still bounce high again

With that 80 preshot, you should probably get a +1 and +2...just to make sure he doesn't decide to do something silly.

Just FYI too...we don't use high carb treats like Whisker Lickin's when we want to slow the drop or bring them up. It takes too long to get into their system, and can take longer to clear

If he's over 50 (or it's early in the cycle and you're concerned) try a teaspoon of his regular low carb food and retest in about 20-30 minutes. A lot of time that little snack will get them up on their surfboard so they can surf those pretty, pancreas healing numbers

It will also help you to learn how sensitive he is to carbs so when you need to feed something to bring him up, you'll already have an idea of what best to try first....you'll learn all this wonderful information as you continue the sugardance!

Looking great in Green!!
 
wowser, dimitri! You go little buddy! what a great day for the little guy! he looks like my punkin, so i'm already extra-fond of Dimitri. :-D

anytime you shoot a number lower than you've shot before, always get a +1 and +2. You want to make sure you don't have any diving going on.

He may surf in the green numbers this evening. If you want to see an example of a cat that went flat and stayed flat, take a look at Davidson's condo and spreadsheet. He is on an OTJ trial right now and his spreadsheet is pretty sweet. People think that when you shoot a 300 and it drops 200 points, that means a dose will drop the cat 200 points. But with the dose just right, if you shoot an 80, it may stay flat greens for the entire cycle. It's one of the great things about Lantus and it's our goal. Holding the cat in normal non-diabetic cat blood sugar numbers allows the pancreas to heal and begin putting out its own insulin again.

I hope Dimitri keeps this up - he's looking fantastic right now.
 
Thanks Julie. I just now checked him, since it's 2 hours after his lowest PMPS ever, and he's still staying GREEN. I plan to get up in 3 hours to check his nadir.

I am so pleasantly surprised with how well he is holding his sugars today after yesterday's high numbers. I thought the "norm" was the cycle with the big valley. But I'll take a
nice flat line any day. I'll go read Davidson's chart.

Question: I have the food chart, but I was wondering if there is a chart showing which treats are o.k. and which are HC? Thanks.
 
i don't know about treats. i always boiled plain chicken breasts, diced them small (like 1/2" cubes) and used them for pokey treats. they should be 0 carbs. i'd do a couple at a time, dice them, freeze all but a tablespoon or so and keep that little bit in the fridge for the treats.

a lot of people give freeze dried meats. i haven't used them, but have heard people say they look for dog-size bags in the pet store. the main thing is you want just meat, no sugars. check the nutrition info on them for carb values. it's probably on the Whisker Lickin's as well. I hadn't heard they were high carb, but they might be. i'd look on the label.

edited to add - just checked D's ss - you're going to want to check again in an hour and watch to catch his nadir tonight. don't want him going too low! he may just surf flat, but you won't know without checking.
 
Here's a list of other Low carb treats you might want to look into.

I use the boiled chicken because I can buy it on sale, boil one piece and either freeze the rest or cook it for my own dinner! Then I chop the boiled piece into small pieces and keep a couple days worth in the refrigerator and put the rest in the freezer...take out to thaw as needed. (and China didn't like any of the freeze dried meats)

The "soft" Whiska Lickins: (depending on flavor, but they all have wheat and corn)
Animal liver flavor, wheat flour, corn gluten meal, water, chicken by-product meal, wheat gluten, animal fat preserved with mixed-tocopherols (form of Vitamin E), glycerin, gelatin, calcium sulfate, phosphoric acid, hydrogenated starch hydrolysate, salt, soy protein isolate, added color (Yellow 5, Red 40, Blue 2 and other color), sorbic acid (a preservative), citrus fiber, tetra sodium pyrophosphate, fish oil, calcium propionate (a preservative), dried cheese powder, ethoxyquin (a preservative).

The "crunchy"
Chicken meal, brewers rice, corn gluten meal, animal fat preserved with mixed-tocopherols (form of Vitamin E), animal liver flavor, corn starch, powdered cellulose, fish, soybean hulls, malt extract, phosphoric acid, natural and artificial flavors, calcium carbonate, dried yeast, salt, choline chloride, added color (Red, 40, Yellow 5, Blue 2 and other color), tuna meal, taurine, zinc sulfate, ferrous sulfate, Vitamin E supplement, niacin, manganese sulfate, citric acid, L-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (source of Vitamin C), Vitamin A supplement, calcium pantothenate, thiamine mononitrate, copper sulfate, riboflavin supplement, Vitamin B-12 supplement, pyridoxine hydrochloride, folic acid, Vitamin D-3 supplement, calcium iodate, BHA (a preservative), biotin, menadione sodium bisulfite complex (source of Vitamin K activity), BHT (a preservative), sodium selenite.
M-4971
 
Thanks for all the info. I tried the freeze dried chicken and he turned his nose up at them. I'll try the plain boiled chicken.

I plan to get up several times tonight to check his sugar too, or at least catch his nadir.
 
Well well well. . . . :cool:

Looks like. . .

Surfs Up !

[youtube]XZMjMi2Vz_A[/youtube]


A clearer picture of what Dimitris BGs are doing has emerged - thanks to your testing.
Looks like Dimitri is liking this dose :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top