4/23 black kitty AMPS 172 please advise. Sudden blue numbers and skipping multiple shots.

Brandi Young

Member Since 2019
Hello,
My cat is 6.5 yrs old, diabetic for 2.5 yrs. Eating wet friskies twice a day with free feeding dry glycobalance. This has been his diet since shortly after diagnosis. We follow SLGS method.
Concern is we are skipping multiple shots recently due to his preshot being less than 200. This morning I gave him half unit or else it would have been second shot in a row to skip. I’m concerned he will develop ketones skipping shots frequently.
I must add that 200 is his safe number especially on days when he is dosed and then is alone all day. I have tried various smaller doses at less than 200 and he drops to low to be home alone in my opinion.
Thanks
Brandi
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1bxDzkZ0nU6RfTZBasvYJVkxmXXCLUL0D2Dx2II0c6yo/edit
 
Last edited:
With SLGS you can shoot any number over 90. The no shot number of 150 or 200 is for new members who do not have enough experience or data on how their cats respond to insulin. Over time, the no shot number is lowered to 90 with SLGS.

It looks like Black Kitty's insulin needs are reducing. You want to find a dose that you can safely shoot twice a day without skipping. Is it possible that he has stopped eating the Glycobalance (which is high carb) and that is why his numbers have improved?

Would it be possible for you to get some spot tests between shots to see how low he is going on a dose? If not every day, then at nights and over weekends? A drop below 90 earns a reduction per SLGS.

A small housekeeping note - could you please replace the link to his SS in your Signature to the latest one? Thanks! :-)
 
You have very few BG tests taken during the cycles. Lantus dosing is based on the nadir or lowest point in the cycles, not the preshot BGs.
I agree you need to try and get some more mid cycle tests in. A before bed test every night is a good habit to get into.
We need to see those midcycle tests to decide the dose.
Are you testing for ketones at all?
 
With SLGS you can shoot any number over 90. The no shot number of 150 or 200 is for new members who do not have enough experience or data on how their cats respond to insulin. Over time, the no shot number is lowered to 90 with SLGS.

It looks like Black Kitty's insulin needs are reducing. You want to find a dose that you can safely shoot twice a day without skipping. Is it possible that he has stopped eating the Glycobalance (which is high carb) and that is why his numbers have improved?

Would it be possible for you to get some spot tests between shots to see how low he is going on a dose? If not every day, then at nights and over weekends? A drop below 90 earns a reduction per SLGS.

A small housekeeping note - could you please replace the link to his SS in your Signature to the latest one? Thanks! :)
I do need to get more numbers. I work this weekend and will do better at that on my days off.
There has been more dry food left in the bowls morning and night but I’m not sure why. He is eating the wet food I feed with his shots just fine. I have not checked ketones. I will work on getting a meter for that. That is my worry though. If I did not give .5 unit this morning he would have had 2 shots in a row skipped!
Thank you for your reply.
 
You have very few BG tests taken during the cycles. Lantus dosing is based on the nadir or lowest point in the cycles, not the preshot BGs.
I agree you need to try and get some more mid cycle tests in. A before bed test every night is a good habit to get into.
We need to see those midcycle tests to decide the dose.
Are you testing for ketones at all?
I will work at getting more mid cycle numbers. I will also work on getting a ketone meter.
 
Back
Top