4/23 Abby PMPS 257, +4 188

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kristin and Abby (GA)

Member Since 2010
Hi all! As Arnold would say, "I'm back!"

Today is Abby's 1st insulin shot in nearly 3 years. She'd been hanging with nice numbers until around about the time she was diagnosed hyper-T last year. Ever since then, even after I-131, her average BG was higher than was typical for her. I guess it was only a matter of time before we saw these #s again. So she got 1.0u this morn and I'll curve her throughout the day.

I hope everyone has a good day and I look forward to reading your stories.
 
Re: 4/23 Abby AMPS 232 - Day 1/Curve

Well, it's not too bad of a place to start for a curve. Remember, you'll need to hold this dose for 5 - 7 days for the shed to form.

Here's your link to your previous thread.
 
4/23 Abby AMPS 232, +6 242

Well I didn't think it was a furshot but the #s certainly are suggesting it. Dangit!

Thanks for the reminder about holding the dosage. My vet wants to start very conservatively and only give her a shot once every 24 hours. I know that's not the recommendation here though. If these #s hold I guess I'll give another 1u tonight and keep tabs on her overnight....since technically I might not have given her a shot already today anyway.
 
Re: 4/23 Abby AMPS 232, +6 242

I doubt this is a fur shot. Because some of the Lantus is going to fill the shed, you're not going to necessarily get much action the first few days. With Lantus, you trade the sharp drops that you see in shorter acting insulin for a gentler/flatter curve and duration. At this point, you also don't know where Abby's nadir is. Gabby can nadir at +3 or +4 and be back to her pre-shot number by +6. At this point, you're collecting data. If you can, during this first week, it's great to get a mini-curve (pre-shot, +3, +6, and +9) so you can get a sense of onset, nadir, and duration.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top