4/22 Trixie +1 63 +1.5 61 +2 67 +2.5 71 +3 68 +3.75 69

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amy&TrixieCat

Member Since 2011
Yesterday:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=41663

Bounce!!! Hello Patience, we meet again!

Man, it is like Ground Hog's Day around here! For the past several days, Trixie has had very icky starts to the day, followed by lovely evenings. It will be interesting to see if tonight is like that last two. Hubby is off work today, so he'll be able to get in a few more daytime tests, which will add in a few more pieces to the ever-moving puzzle.

This moring is her 6th cycle on this dose, and she finishes up her clindamycin tomorrow morning.

The questions:
1. If she clears this bounce during the day today, should we consider raising her back up to the 1.25 this evening?

2. If we do increase her, should we go with 1.25 or F1.25, which is what she was on pre-dental?

She did have such a lovely cycle last night that I'm unsure as to whether or not she needs more juice. However, the 1.25 she was on before the dental seems like it settled her bounciness back then...or was that just an illusion?

Thanks for any and all input!

Happy Friday, everyone!

Amy

ETA - I had the wrong +2 in the subject line. She ws at 339, not 220 at +2
 
Re: 4/22 Trixie AMPS 309 +2 339 - Once again, dose thoughts?

I would post at +10 or so and repeat your question. It's too early in the cycle to be able to predict how things will go.
 
Re: 4/22 Trixie AMPS 309 +2 339 - Once again, dose thoughts?

Ok, will post the +10 (around 3:45 EST), as well as in-between pokes as well.
 
Re: 4/22 Trixie AMPS 309 +2 339 +10 145 Dose and Trend thoug

I have more data on today:

AMPS 309
+2 339
+4 289
+6 240
+8 182
+10 144


Even though were missing chunks from the past couple days, this seems to be her general trend as of late...starting off with a bounce that clears during the day, giving us a nice PMPS.

This morning was her 6th cycle on this dose, and she finishes up her clindamycin tomorrow morning.

The questions:
1. Does this trend mean anything, other than her just being a cat and behaving accordingly?

2. If she clears this bounce during the day today, should we consider raising her back up to the 1.25 this evening?

3. If we do increase her, should we go with 1.25 or F1.25, which is what she was on pre-dental?

4. Would increasing have any sort of effect on the bouncing, or would she most likely bounce regardless?


I'm fine with holding her at this dose if it's the right thing for her. I don't want to rush her along, but I don't want to slow her progress down, either - I just want to be sure we're making the right decisions for her.

As always, thanks for your input.

Amy
 
Re: 4/22 Trixie AMPS 309 +2 339 +10 145 Dose and Trend thoug

Amy: I'm no expert on dosing BUT I do know about sliding out of bounces and this looks like what Trixie is doing. She may drop even more still before PMPS and so I would continue to check her and see what she does. I know it's no fun to pokey her if it's not necessary but you could get some good info by doing a +11. So, here's the thing Libby told me. You have to be careful if they are dropping at the end of the cycle as they are coming out of a bounce. If she continues to drop, you need to exert caution on shooting a dropping number; it's not so critical if it is a high dropping number and I looked at your SS and saw you've shot a sort of dropping number (it was close to your +10/+11). But, FWIW and IMHO, I wouldn't increase her dose on a dropping number while clearing a bounce. And if she continues to drop but not a lot more, then just be careful and be sure you stay on top of monitoring her after you shoot. ECID but sometimes they can continue to drop after you shoot and then you get onset and they drop more. (You can check out Gracie's SS...I've shot low dropping numbers before to keep her on track but I know she will keep dropping and that I have to get her up before onset). I do not advise this for newbies to do....shooting dropping numbers can be dangerous even if you think you know your cat.
 
Re: 4/22 Trixie AMPS 309 +2 339 +10 145 Dose and Trend thoug

Thanks, Marjorie. It will be interesting to see her +11, since we've been missing these numbers for the past 2 days when it at least appears that she's done the same thing.

My gut matches what you said: to not increase at this time. I just want to be completely sure we're doing things right by her. With the way things have been running the past few days, close monitoring post evening shot is definitely a given! Yeah, not the funnest way to spend an evening, but we gotta do what we gotta do.

We've got just over an hour till her evening shot....
 
Re: 4/22 Trixie AMPS 309 +2 339 +10 145 +11 123 SHOULD WE ST

+11 - 123

She's still dropping, so new question:

Should we stall???

I'll post 11.5 when the time comes. Technically, shot time is 5:45 EST.
 
Re: 4/22 Trixie AMPS 309 +2 339 +10 145 +11 123 SHOULD WE ST

based upon what marjorie is telling you, yes. and don't feed while you're stalling. i made that mistake. leave your post the same, though, for someone else's opinion.
 
Re: 4/22 Trixie AMPS 309 +2 339 +10 145 +11 123 +11.5 105 ST

+11.5 105

Still dropping...definitely stalling. It's gonna be a long night again, isn't it?
 
Re: 4/22 Trixie AMPS 309 +2 339 +10 145 +11 123 +11.5 105 ST

is ur shot time at +12 (5:45pm) ?
if yes, test the +12 and post
no food yet til your in the clear k?
 
Re: 4/22 Trixie AMPS 309 +2 339 +10 145 +11 123 +11.5 105 ST

Yup, our shot time is 5:45. Will post a +12.

Holding off on food...
 
Re: 4/22 Trixie +10 145 +11 123 +11.5 105 +12 87!!!

mite be the bounce clearing...u going to stall bit more?

will it mess your AMPS in the morning schedule?
you have supplies for tonight?

no food yet.
and don't panic. :razz:
 
Re: 4/22 Trixie +10 145 +11 123 +11.5 105 +12 87!!!

Yeah, I was going to stall a bit longer...I've never shot below 110, so shooting an 87 makes me really nervous.

I do have supplies on hand.

I can stall for a bit. Messing up the morning isn't too much of an issue. The two things that are challenging are having 6 starving cats wondering where their food is, and what I'm going to do about the timing for Easter dinner if we have to stall for too long...

Not panicking yet...

I'll post a +12.5.
 
Re: 4/22 Trixie +10 145 +11 123 +11.5 105 +12 87!!!

see you in 30...

and no, I wouldn't reduce the dose yet. She hasn't earned a reduction. She just happens to be clearing her bounces in less than a cycle, which sometimes means the bounces are clearing right at shot time.
 
Re: 4/22 Trixie +11 123 +11.5 105 +12 87 +12.5 91 SHOOT?

+12.5 - 91

Should I feed-n-shoot, or stall a bit longer?

Thanks - you guys are lifesavers!!
 
Re: 4/22 Trixie +11 123 +11.5 105 +12 87 +12.5 91 SHOOT?

Im saying shoot and feed the hungry kitties
you got a rise there, a wee one, but its there....get a +1 too after.

if you are not completely comfy, you can keep stalling, but if it were me, I'd shoot
take the plunge Amy! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 4/22 Trixie +11 123 +11.5 105 +12 87 +12.5 91 SHOOT?

I'm feeling pretty comfy, so I'll go for it. It's gonna be a pokey evening - poor little pincushion girl!

As always, thanks for all your guidance.

Amy
 
Re: 4/22 Trixie +11 123 +11.5 105 +12 87 +12.5 91

great job guys! You got a lot of good advice here so I will just say you are doing wonderful .. now surf trixie!!!
 
Re: 4/22 Trixie PMPS 91 +1 63 +1.5 61

Nice hootin' and sorry I missed all the fun.Glad she came up a bit at PMPS and now you know what she does when you shoot a clearing bounce. Smart on the monitoring...good job Amy.
 
Re: 4/22 Trixie PMPS 91 +1 63 +1.5 61 +2 67 - ON TRACK?

Thanks, Marjorie!

Surfin' the 60s...wouldn't object if she settled in the 80s. This bean is tuckered already!

L'il more LC-n-Gravy on board...am I following the right path? Should I cut back on the fuds, or keep things going in this pattern for now?
 
Re: 4/22 Trixie PMPS 91 +1 63 +1.5 61 +2 67 - on the right p

I think this is fine. I'd keep testing every 30 min. for now. A little bit of gravy seems to be keeping Trixie in a comfortable surf in the 60s.
 
Re: 4/22 Trixie PMPS 91 +1 63 +1.5 61 +2 67

Thanks, Sienne.

Got 30 minute pokey tests scheduled for as far as the eye can see :lol: ! Yes, a wild-n-crazy Friday night indeed!
 
Re: 4/22 Trixie PMPS 91 +1 63 +1.5 61 +2 67 +2.5 71 +3 68

Beautiful surf!!! You have to be careful about feeding at the end of a cycle and until you really know Trixie well, you should not feed past +10 because it could give you false security at PMPS. I know Laurie has had to feed Tinkles around +10 and I do it with Gracie when she's dropping on me; sometimes it works, sometimes it does not. I just know I have to be super vigilant on nights like tonight no matter what she does.
 
Yeah, I knew the general rule of thumb was to not feed after the nadir, so I've been holding off any fuds after +6. These past few nights of sliding out of the bounce towards PMPS, though, are new territory for us...and they're starting to wear me out! Since you commented about feeding Gracie's +10, I was wondering if - under certain circumstances (like Trix tonight), if that was one way to go.

Of course, like you and Gracie, I was hoping for better numbers...sometimes you gotta be careful what you wish for :lol: ! No, this is a good thing...just gotta figure out how to work sleep an R&R into the mix...
 
Sleep??? You sleep??? :lol: :lol:

You know....it's like Jill has told me many times, you'll never know until you try it. I think if Trixie habitually sides into PMPS like Gracie and you know she is not going to come up for her shot, then it's worth a try to give her some food at +10. It won't hurt anything; it will either bump her up or it won't. But if you try that, be sure and get a +11 so you know where she's headed. I fed Gracie at +10 tonight and even added karo and it didn't raise her but she didn't drop more which is good. You are right, normally you don't want to feed past nadir but I think if you want to give this a try when she's dropping like today, go for it!! You are doing splendid with her tonight.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top