4/22 Skooter AMPS 137 +3.5 69 +14.5 96 +16.25 86

Status
Not open for further replies.

MollynSkooter

Member Since 2014
Condo o' Yesterday 04/21

As usual, Skooter is doing great! He even brought me a "present" this morning in the form of a mouse in his mouth. Thank GOD I caught him before he came up on the bed. He had a good grip on it and it took a bit to get him to drop it, but eventually he did.

I went to the doctor today, had bloodwork done, which all came back normal. The white blood count was slightly elevated ta 11.5 (high end is 11). He said I have to try and wait out the crystals or whatever to go back where they belong. If it hasn't gone away by Monday, then I have to see a vertigo specialist who will apparently do physical therapy on my inner ear (not exactly sure how that works, but). He had me get some meclizine, which made me miss Skooter's PM shot time, hence a +14.5 instead of a PMPS. Thank goodness Skoots does well with missed shots, though with a +14.5, I would have loved to see what he could have done with his dose. Oh well....it is what it is.....

I am hoping this goes away soon....I have not been able to snuggle with my new nephew. I just don't trust when I will or will not have a vertigo incident and I don't want to feel like I am spinning out of control when I am holding him. Back to bed for this kid....I will take another pill in about an hour or so, and then I am sure I will be out cold. At first I thought that this really wasn't anti-nausea as much as a "we are gonna make you sleep so you don't FEEL the nausea" medication....but I have noticed, now that I am awake, that I do not feel sick to my stomach, so yay! I just don't know what to do for when I am at work tomorrow....BOO....

I may see if I can work from home on Friday depending on the vertigo, we shall see...
 
I'm glad Skooter is doing so well even with a skipped shot. I sure hope the vertigo goes away. I wonder what physical therapy will consist of should you need it. They didn't offer it to my friend and I won't even tell you how long hers lasted.
 
When I had a bout with vertigo, my doctor said the same thing....she wanted to send me to PT (my insurance wouldn't cover it though)

What they do is basically have you change positions a lot so your inner ear gets "used" to it. My doctor gave me a page of exercises to do at home...things like putting my head down between my knees and then bringing it up fast.

Don't know if it was the "exercises" that finally helped or the vertigo just gave up, but it did go away after awhile.

Skooter...you take good care of your mamabean!! Good thing he handles his skips so well so I'm sure he'll be fine!
 
((Molly)) Scooter is doing really well even with the skipped shot!!

I did not see your post yesterday- I am sorry you are having this happen-been there done that twice! Do you feel like the room is spinning?

I had Benign paroxysmal positional vertigo, or BPPV 10 years ago. I spent 4 weeks in PT- at first they did the Eply maneuver on me- it didn't do much for me unfortunately. (it's painless, just a series of head movements) I also worked on strengthening my back and neck (car accident) My vertigo prevented me from driving for awhile because I couldn't turn my head to change lanes, that was the trigger for me. Eventually it just went away, the loose crystals resolve themselves, it didn't take that long either! My 2nd occurance was due to migraine headaches. It's called Migraine Associated Vertigo. I saw a neurologist for a few weeks. I had to get a lot of tests done but once she figured out it was migraine associated it was just a matter or preventing or treating the migraines. I seldom get them now. I had to give up chocolate and coffee, those were the worst triggers, seasonal allergies can trigger it, along with climate change. I hope you work from home during this time and hope the PT helps. Hugs and vines being sent!
 
Thank goodness for the depot, eh? He is coming down even a bit fromthat.

Thanks @Tiger and Ruth for the kind words.....

Up to this point, I have never had allergies. I have had migraines before, but this was never a symptom of that. I am thinking the doctor is thinking it is the positional vertigo thingie because he was talking about having to let the loose crystals resolve themselves. I am not sure what the Eply maneuver is, but I am thinking it is the thing a couple of people sent me via FB. It is where you kneel down then raise your head up, wait for the spinning to stop, then tuck under and put your head on the floor and so on. Driving (knock on wood) actually hasn't been effected, and I hope it continues like that. Just tyring slow movements, like the doctor recommended and the medicine that makes me sleep lol.

I think the hardest part is after I have been laying down for a while, I feel fine and forget I am having this issue, then I get up, probably too fast, and BOOM there is the reminder of it lol
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top