4/22 Raja AMPS=103 ~ PMPS=73 ~+3=64

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pat+Raja+Shadow (GA)

Member Since 2009
AMPS=91 ~S1.0u Lev
+3=55
+7=78
+10=118
PMPS=98 ~F0.5u Lev (lowered dose due to inappetence)
+3=78
+7=79
AMPS=103 ~F0.50u Lev

Yesterday
Happy Friday! Well, Raja ate a few bites of breffis but didn't have anything during the night as far as food is concerned. I will take them to the new vet office today. This is one worrisome situation....
She had 4 Ps yesterday. Will let you know what happens....
 
Re: 4/22 Raja AMPS=103

Keeping fingers and paws crossed that all goes well with the new vet and the kitties.
Sending healing and appetite vines.
 
Re: 4/22 Raja AMPS=103

Yeh... something is going on if both kitties are not eating well. I hope you get some answers today- and some treatment too.

(((Hugs to you and the kitties!))))
 
Re: 4/22 Raja AMPS=103

Any chance the kitties picked up a bug at the vet's office when they had their dental? Somehow, I doubt that the vet kept them sequestered and if there was a sick kitty in the vicinity, could a virus been passed along?
 
Re: 4/22 Raja AMPS=103

I hope they are doing better soon. It does sound like they picked something up if they are booth off their food. Unless Raja isn't eating out of sympathy for Shadow? Hmmmm, no I guess not Raja.
 
Re: 4/22 Raja AMPS=103

Hi guys .. sorry to hear raja is eating less now too .. I know you must be worried out of your mind ... I will keep sending positive thoughts your way that the new vet can help clear this up ..
 
Re: 4/22 Raja AMPS=103

Sorry Raja is not feeling well either. I was hoping it was sympathy for Shadow, and her appetite would pick up today! We'll be thinking of you and waiting for an update. Vines and prayers.
 
Re: 4/22 Raja AMPS=103

Thank you all! :YMHUG:
Sienne...you voiced a big concern that I have. DH mentioned unsanitary utensils too...ugh...sooo many things that I will never know I guess. I am a big fan of dentals although I hate the entire process with all its stress. I know that it is important for them to undergo this procedure. And yet, what happens to them with all the stress and the procedure itself?
We never had a bad experience in the past with dentals and bad aftereffects....
Raja has not vomited and seemed super fine for all the days leading up to Wednesday....her eating was off that day and no kids...when it comes to food, Raja would not do this all in sympathy for her brother. :lol:
Good news is:
She has not vomited; he has stopped vomiting so far
Neither one is meatloafing
Neither one is hiding
Bad news is:
Neither one is eating the way they had been and today marks one week since the dentals.

Maybe this will have a good ending if it made me find a more expensive but hopefully, a better vet who does not use Convenia at all for anything and uses Lantus. I have an appointment at 11:30 so I will know more after that. It is a two minute drive from my house. Wonder if they will be surprised that we are there so soon! Just another experience that puts me in the category of a Bad Mama....doing this to them so soon after the other two visits to the other vet.....sigh.

I don't want this experience that we are having give anyone a second thought about having dentals. I mean, there are circumstances in each situation that can happen and normally, especially without extractions or complications, dentals go really well in the end. I know that I will be a bit more nervous next time around for sure, but I will be remembering this one time. The thing is: now they are both reacting to "something" so I doubt it is a previous condition other than the dental....will fill you in later. Thanks so much for all your support...
 
Re: 4/22 Raja AMPS=103

Any updates? How do you like the new vet? How do the kitties like the new vet?
And most importantly - did you get a good parking spot?

Are you home yet?

How about now? :twisted:
 
Re: 4/22 Raja AMPS=103 ~+6=56

Fingers and paws crossed that the visit with the new vet went well!! I hope that the kids get to feeling better soon... can't imagine the stress of having both of them exhibiting the same symptoms of not feeling well at the same time!

Keeping you in my thoughts and prayers, Pat!
 
Re: 4/22 Raja AMPS=103 ~+5=56

+2=62
+5=56

We parked right in front...LOL...waited a half an hour to see the vet tech first. She asked all about the history and was very understanding and sympathetic. Then we met the young nice vet...she was great! The whole experience was GREAT! I guess i was there for 2.5 hours total...but I was with the vet and the vet techs for 2 hours of that time. They were not rushing or anythhing....very relaxed and congenial.

Raja laid on the examining table after the vet left while we waited for the tech to come in with a shot of famotidine for her. She seemed very relaxed there after her initial hissy fit.. There was a nice soft flannel blanket on the table....the little room was very nice...we both felt good to be there.
LOL
But, most importantly, the vet was great with them both. She listened to their hearts and examined them thoroughly. (Raja is going into the carrier now as I type....well, I'll be....this is just too bizarre!!! Ok, she came out...just checking it out I guess...weird!!)
She didn't hear any heart murmur from Raja. She had no fever. She is missing numerous teeth....I was surprised at that...knew she had some, but her right side has none of the little teeth, upper and lower!)

The vet gave me two doses of Bupe for each of them which I will give them soon. Raja ate a few bites when we got home. Hope that they will both feel better soon. SO happy that I tried this new vet office. I had called the other office to speak with the tech who did the dentals on my two on Friday and she has not called me back yet.....
 
Re: 4/22 Raja AMPS=103 ~+6=56

Sending healing vines to Raja too. I'm glad to see that whatever is going on with her appetite has not overly affected her BG. Time for your two babies to feel better. I know you are resting easier since you saw this new vet.
 
Re: 4/22 Raja AMPS=103 ~ PMPS=73

AMPS=103 ~F0.5u Lev
+2=62
+5=56
+8=57
PMPS=73 ~F0.50u Lev

Gave them the Bupe at +8
By dinner time I had two kitties who were front-and-center for food. :o I gave them a little food with freeze dried chicken and they both ate some. More FD chicken on top did the trick for clean plates.
I will offer a little more when +1 rolls around...just want to make sure it will be fresh and maybe they will eat a little more.
I gave Raja the same dose as this morning since she did eat so well and she seems to be able to handle the small dose.....judging by her numbers.

Color me a Happy Bean!! Whew! I have my fingers and toes and legs crossed that they will continue to eat as well as they did for dinner.
BTW, the vet tech form the other place didn't call me. Color me Not Surprised.
Thinking I might give a call there in the morning...just for the halibut.

I am so happy....soo sooo happy....ok, maybe I am "cautiously" happy..... but it IS a step in the right direction!
 
Re: 4/22 Raja AMPS=103 ~ PMPS=73

Oh Pat, your last entry had me tearing up with happiness.
I'm sooooooo happy they are eating, however much it might be. :-D

Since Sienne mentioned it, I've been trying to recall the details of last Aug, when Checkers was hospitalized for 2 days, from an unknown bacterial infection, that I am positive he picked up in that very same clinic, only days before.
The vet admitted to me, months later, that he had been very worried, because Checkers was so bad.
 
Re: 4/22 Raja AMPS=103 ~ PMPS=73

(((Barb))) I alwasy worry about that very thing. The vet today and I talked about the ABs but will wait and see if this treatment works. If things don't improve, maybe we will do a course of ABs just in case...
Things are easily spread, aren't they?
 
+3=64
She ate a little, walked away....and then came back for more. Think I will top it off with FD chicken again....
So happy to see their little faces looking up, waiting for fuds!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top