PatrickMC
Member Since 2019
Looking for some help in understanding our recently diagnosed Manny's numbers. He was diagnosed on 3/13 as diabetic based on blood panel glucose of 400 and fructosamine of 569. He did have an ear infection at the time which may have affected the numbers. He had dropped lots of weight, from 20lb to ~13lb. Since beginning treatment he has put back on a little weight and appears to be a healthy 14-15lb Maine Coon.
We are testing with the Accu-Chek Guide meter.
Manny's Spreadsheet: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1LyN2pnViewl7Ub7Yx5nBpUQl3JG0zTSaoL4TVhIscdU/edit?usp=sharing
I spent tons of time reading through posts and documentation multiple times trying to absorb as much as possible. While doing this we also switched him off dry food completely after struggling to find wet he would eat; Merrick Turkey Pate ended up being the winner he has yet to get sick of.
Based on reading the TR protocol and discussing with our vet we started him on 1U of Lantus on 4/8 with immediate drastic improvement. His BG bounced around a bit for 12 days and then stabilized under 100. You will see starting with the PM of 4/17 his pre-shot number being under 100 causing me to cautiously reduce his dose some.
The last 2 nights we have not given a PM shot due to low pre-shot numbers and inability to properly monitor him at night.
Is he just responding extremely well to treatment? Everything seems like its going -too- well. I considered skipping his dose this morning but I'm afraid to cause his numbers to rocket back up.
Any ideas or advice in interpreting this would be greatly appreciated! I hope I have not forgotten any important details, I never got around to an introduction thread.
We are testing with the Accu-Chek Guide meter.
Manny's Spreadsheet: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1LyN2pnViewl7Ub7Yx5nBpUQl3JG0zTSaoL4TVhIscdU/edit?usp=sharing
I spent tons of time reading through posts and documentation multiple times trying to absorb as much as possible. While doing this we also switched him off dry food completely after struggling to find wet he would eat; Merrick Turkey Pate ended up being the winner he has yet to get sick of.
Based on reading the TR protocol and discussing with our vet we started him on 1U of Lantus on 4/8 with immediate drastic improvement. His BG bounced around a bit for 12 days and then stabilized under 100. You will see starting with the PM of 4/17 his pre-shot number being under 100 causing me to cautiously reduce his dose some.
The last 2 nights we have not given a PM shot due to low pre-shot numbers and inability to properly monitor him at night.
Is he just responding extremely well to treatment? Everything seems like its going -too- well. I considered skipping his dose this morning but I'm afraid to cause his numbers to rocket back up.
Any ideas or advice in interpreting this would be greatly appreciated! I hope I have not forgotten any important details, I never got around to an introduction thread.