4/22 Kitty AMBG 93! Gum Day 6

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kathy and Kitty

Very Active Member
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=12597

Day SIX already!

Doing well. He still doesn't like the menu, which is so frustrating, but I think he's eating enough.

WCR: Things I notice:
- He seems antsy sometimes. I wonder what he feels from the absence of external insulin.
- He also seems to eat less. Is that because he doesn't like the food, or because he needs less now?

Question:
- I'd like to move his evening test time up about half an hour, to +11.5 from AMBG, so that I can give him a snack and get to bed a little earlier. Any harm in that?

Have a great day, everyone!
 
Hi kathy! Great numbers kitty! I would have to say kitty is eating less because she needs less. Her body is regulated at this point so I would imagine she just eats what she needs and then knows to walk away. That is just my guess though! Keep up the awesome work you two!
 
Hooray for SIX!

My guess is no problem on the time, but wait for an expert. I've been wondering about that too, but haven't gotten that far.
 
Ann -- I just changed the wording of my question to clarify -- what I want to do is test at +11.5 from AM, not +12.

Oh, look at the bean, getting greedy!! :o
 
And I have another question too!

How important is it to feed those +2 snacks? Jill did say I should ask Kitty -- and Kitty said, Feed at +1, +2, +3, etc.

I had been in the habit of giving a +2 snack after every shot, even if I had to wake him to do it, but do I ever start letting him just come to me for food?
 
Hi Kathy...answering your post in Shadow's condo here so you will see it...
I have been using the Sophistacat Supreme from Petsmart lately. They seemed to stop liking the FF.
So, just today I am trying the regular larger 5.5oz can of Turkey & Giblets. It's supposed to have 0carbs (fat=62). I had given them the Sophistcat SupremeTurkey & Giblets in the smaller cans which has 5 (fat=55)
They seem to be enjoying the Sophistacat. I am going to try the 5.5oz can of Country Style next...1carb (fat=65) I was trying to get lower fat content for Raja.
I had gotten the Supreme Beef & the Supreme Beef & Chicken a couple of weeks ago but I am going to stop feeding the beef. I also got them Seafood Supreme which they get on Sundays. :razz:
I have also been mixing some raw in with the canned. I use the Feline Future powder and I like it very much. They seem to not mind it too so it's working out well.

They used to love the FF...ever since August. Suddenly, they just seemed to not care for it so much so i tried the PETSMART brand for a change. So far ~ so good. But who knows if they will get turned off to that too eventually. I saw By Nature and was wondering who it was who feeds that. Maybe I will ask in my condo...
 
WOOHOO for day 6! Almost half way there! I don't think changing the testing time is going to matter much...you aren't shooting insulin and you probably would have an idea of what she will look like a half hour later. Just my opinion tho...
 
Hi, Kathy and Kitty :thumbup
Day 6, eh? Well..... Happy Day 6!!! Kitty is killer here, just gliding thru the days..... looking good!! Food issues are soooooooo frustruating.. some days I want to shave my head & disappear.. shouting "FEED YOURSELF, THEN!!" :lol: :lol: But since Baby & Sadi own my world, I just pay rent - they get their way! Always!
 
Re: 4/22 Kitty AMBG 93, +6 90 - Gum Day 6

That's +6 by the clock, +3 from last food. Nice, whatever plus it is! :mrgreen:

Nicole & Baby said:
Food issues are soooooooo frustruating.. some days I want to shave my head & disappear.. shouting "FEED YOURSELF, THEN!!"

Nicole, that's hilarious!

These food issues make me crazy too. Pat, I tried the Sophisticat, but we got barf. It's possible I tried to switch Kitty too suddenly -- I wasn't mixing old and new foods at that point. Now, when I try to introduce something new, I'm following Jill's suggestion and mixing them, which seems to help.

It's also possible that I tried a beef Sophisticat; I should check. I'm not sure the 9 Lives will win a permanent thumbs-up, so I'll continue to look for options.

One thing I can''t use: Turkey. He just refuses it, regardless of manufacturer. I have some old-label Turkey in the house, and if someone wants it, I will ship it rather than return it.
 
Happy Day 6 Kathy and Kitty!!!!!!!!!!!

Kathy, i don't think the 30 minutes matters whatsoever. That's what this is a TRIAL..to see how he behaves off insulin. The preciseness of timing had to do with not wanting to alter the dose effect such that it acted as an increase or decrease. That's the beauty of no insulin...you don't have to be so rigid anymore.
I tested Hank NEAR his old times but that was out of habit. Now if I'm off a couple hours, its just different information at different times of day. if he is hungry, i feed him and work around that. We test later, that's all.
Today will be the first time I didn't test AM at all. It wasn't planned..but he ate when we first got up..then as the day went by...i ran out or he was sleeping. So I may get a random check later, or wait til tonight.
We're figuring it out as we go along, ..same as with the food. BTW, some foods Hank turned his nose up at earlier I've re-introduced and he is eating. So maybe try some things again on Kitty now that you figured out combining & transitioning more slowly may help. I am not as diligent as you in sticking with the low, low carbs. I am just trying to find things he likes under the 10% that also still work for his other issues and he will eat. That's enough. Maybe his numbers would be lower if I did, but mostly I just want him to eat regularly.

Kitty's having a great looking day. :mrgreen: Go Kitty Chew! :RAHCAT

betty
 
Betty -- Not testing at all!!! Wow. I haven't even imagined that. :shock:

I think if I change his food, I'll test. :mrgreen:
 
Yay, day 6 :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Sorry the menu is still giving you trouble. For Sophisticat are you using Supreme or the regular? The regular is nasty IMO and I quit buying anything but the Supreme there. Another new one you could try is the Whiska's square tubs, I don't know the numbers, but they are a patte even though they don't say it. It's Smokey's new I-ain't-gonna-eat-nothin-but-dat-stuff and she licked all three bowls completely clean when I gave it to them yesterday. I am feeding a lot more 8,9, and 10s these days where I stuck in the 5 and under range while on insulin and trial. It doesn't seem to affect her numbers, in fact the spot checks seem to be lower than trial.

I never enter a day with the intent to test. I had planned on a couple tests a week, fading to once or twice a month. All of my tests have been because she was acting like she did whenever I saw a rise in her numbers during trial, or she jumped up and sat next to her testing supplies and yelled until I tested her.

Keep up the great work and we'll get to have another party in a week :mrgreen:
 
Re: 4/22 Kitty AMBG 93, PMBG 84 Gum Day 6

Third day where the evening score was lower than the morning. Interesting -- but not a worry, since the AMBG was so great! :-D

Melanie, I was using the Sophisticat Supreme. Gee, maybe Betty who is so proactive getting nutritional values from the food manufacturers will be interested in getting numbers for the Whiskas tubs! (HINT HINT :lol: ) I stink at science, so I'm not going to try.

Now there are two of you OTJ'ers who say they feed as high as 8-10 carbs!! :o I've been so focused on lowest of low carb for so long. I wonder if I would even take a chance. Both Smokey and Hank were short-term diabetics. Kitty is an old-bie, so maybe I need to be extra cautious.

A nice day 6. We are pleased.
 
Hint Hint ...not for that one.

I have called to request nutrient lists for a few we've tried...but problem is I don't know how to convert the info. once i get it. I'd send to Janet if she would do the interpretations so we'd know they were accurate. If we each made a few calls we could get the info. to update the lists in no time. I still have several I'd like to get more current info. on. We pretty much stick to the premium/natural foods. These guys haven't eaten whiskas or FF...except Hank's one <50 number & HE LOVED the gravy.
Today was not a great food day at our house. He's been super finicky after a few days of eating well. I have 3 bowls of mostly uneaten food down there.
We missed our AM test..so as soon as we do tonight's I am going to try and coax him into eating something.

I stink at science, so I'm not going to try.
But you don't stink at talking or asking questions..and that's the only part I do. The formulas, not so much.

off to test and hopefully feed!
 
why wait?!

Ok...I'm hijacking your condo for a sec...SINCE WE DON"T HAVE ONE ANYMORE! :cry: to say..

I just tested and got Hankie's lowest BG since OTJ...yay! -67

he has been running in the high 80's-90's. So got excited. I then sprinkled chicken dust on his food, also for the first time, & have created a monster. he gobbled it down.

thanks for the short-term rental.

over and out

B&H
 
Betty, I am way too busy CHEWING GUM!!!!!!!! :lol:

You are welcome anytime. My lease might run out in 8 days, though. :mrgreen:

Here you are, talking about a record low, and Boomer showed up with a record high -- I think we've established that OTJ kitties can be healthy with a range of numbers!

That chicken dust is magic, isn't it? :-D

ETA: My introduction to chicken dust: When Jill taught me how to test, she so kindly brought a little baggie of treats, as encouragement for the testing. I had noooo idea how encouraging it would turn out to be!
 
Boomer had a record high AND a record low. He cut it in more than half for PM!!

hank's is no record..but low for US! (been 2 1/2+ weeks since his was that low)

Did you see BABY.she threw a 42 yesterday! ON NO INSULIN! and Max has been int eh 40's and the 50's.


He's always loved the chicken treats, but tonight was the first time out on dust. This could be dangerous.

Did you really have Jill as your testing trainer? Lucky you! We were just operating without a net. Was so grateful I finally stopped lurking and started posting here when we did.


BTW, Hank pulled a no go on the 95% evo beef today after liking it last time. Little s&*!. I am such an enabler. i just kept opening and warming and stirring and trying. Then...chicken dust on Wellness, and....Voila!


OK, keep Chewing Kitty! Chew Chew.

Thanks for letting us borrow...I'm sure we'll be back. But you're right..we'd better hurry cause you are about to be in the same boat!


:YMSIGH: betty
 
Kind of scary to see 40s with no insulin!

Betty, I've been repeating this since I heard it, so you may have seen it already, but try mixing the foods when you introduce the new one, if you aren't already -- to gradually adjust their taste buds. I've had better success with that than just feeding the new food alone.

I think I'm done with beef for Kitty.

I am very lucky, yes. :mrgreen:

ni Ni!
 
That beef will get ya every time... Mine have no problem with the old FF Beef and Liver, but anything else beef... well, the next time I get new carpet I am going to ask for beef colored. For our current carpet I actually laid out pieces of SD Hairball Light on the sample to test the color match :roll:

Kitty is doing fabulous. I understand the nerves of doing anything that might let them go back to being sick or letting down the guard enough to maybe miss something. I will forever feel the guilt of letting Smokey go as long as we did before we got her checked and then got aggressive in her treatment. I know how very lucky we are that she got off insulin quickly and her journey was relatively unevenful. I am always amazed when I see you guys with longer-term, more sensitive cats handling things so well as numbers go flying up, then way down, OIY! I always felt the sense of tiptoeing in your condo as you reduced the dose. I was a nervous reck with my stable-mable girl.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top