MauiGuppy
Member Since 2011
Hi all,
This is my first post to the Lantus group so I hope I'm doing this right!
I'll put this in a separate doc this weekend but for now, quick background: Junior was diagnosed in Feb and began on 2U of Lantus on 2/21. It wasn't until 3/17 that we increased it to 3U. Vet said to test him once a week and we'd adjust Junior's insulin accordingly.
Monday night I gave Junior a fur shot and posted a question on the main forum. Julia & Bandit were kind enough to provide some add'l thoughts: at 5u his dosage seemed too high, suspected his high numbers was b/c he was on canned food (he was), recommended daily home testing (now being done). Here's the original thread.
Yesterday I switched him to canned (Wellness Lobster & Chicken), his BG dropped 190 points and Julia cautioned about the possibility of hypo b/c he had been on dry. So last I gave him some dry (Evo Chicken & Turkey) but I don't plan on giving him any more for now. Junior had 1/4 canned and 2u this morning. We'll see how this goes.
My general request is if someone could help me keep an eye on his numbers for the next few shots. I don't know if these changes are too drastic and that we'll wind up in the ER again. Would appreciate any advice or insights on what to look for or the right amount of change.
Thanks in advance! Great group here!
Bonnie
This is my first post to the Lantus group so I hope I'm doing this right!
I'll put this in a separate doc this weekend but for now, quick background: Junior was diagnosed in Feb and began on 2U of Lantus on 2/21. It wasn't until 3/17 that we increased it to 3U. Vet said to test him once a week and we'd adjust Junior's insulin accordingly.
Monday night I gave Junior a fur shot and posted a question on the main forum. Julia & Bandit were kind enough to provide some add'l thoughts: at 5u his dosage seemed too high, suspected his high numbers was b/c he was on canned food (he was), recommended daily home testing (now being done). Here's the original thread.
Yesterday I switched him to canned (Wellness Lobster & Chicken), his BG dropped 190 points and Julia cautioned about the possibility of hypo b/c he had been on dry. So last I gave him some dry (Evo Chicken & Turkey) but I don't plan on giving him any more for now. Junior had 1/4 canned and 2u this morning. We'll see how this goes.
My general request is if someone could help me keep an eye on his numbers for the next few shots. I don't know if these changes are too drastic and that we'll wind up in the ER again. Would appreciate any advice or insights on what to look for or the right amount of change.
Thanks in advance! Great group here!
Bonnie