4/22 Jesse AMPS 418 - Honeymoon's Over +3 350, +6 338,+9 279

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi all,

After a year and a half OTJ, the honeymoon is over for Jesse :sad: . I'd been testing about once a month and all was normal. I'm going through some bad times, and I haven't been paying attention like I should be. HAD I been paying attention, I would have realized that Jesse pawing at my face for food at 3am was not normal!

But that is the past...April 16th starts the now and we will deal as best as we can.

On his first go-round, I started out by following my vet's advice which was to start him at 2u (he read HI). This time I started at 1u but have subsequently increased it to 2u (as of today). I'm home today (unpaid furlough day) so I should be able to get several readings. The problem I had in the past and continue to have now is that I am away from home for 10 hours a day. But no more whining - I will do what needs to be done.

Wish I could say that I'm glad to be back, but I AM glad that you all are here!
 
Re: 4/22 Jesse AMPS 418 - Honeymoon's Over

Hi, Carolyn & Jesse :YMHUG:
Welcome Back.. I know how you feel, Baby & I are back after 8 months OTJ. I hope Jesse's return is short & that there are no underlying infections, etc. that has him back on the juice. Have a great weekend!
 
Re: 4/22 Jesse AMPS 418 - Honeymoon's Over

Hi Carolyn and Jesse

Sorry to see you're back - I know the feeling, Zoe was OTJ for 2 years and after a bought of pancreatitis we are back on Lantus - you handled it before, you will be able to do it again. I agree with Nicole - are there any underlying infections (UTI) or dental problems that could have caused the higher numbers? Hope your stay is short!
 
Re: 4/22 Jesse AMPS 418 - Honeymoon's Over

I never know what to say when kitties are returning to the Falls...welcome back? I know you don't want to be here and yet there is no better place to be if he's fallen off the wagon. Paws crossed that this is just a blip and you can get him back OTJ soon.
 
Re: 4/22 Jesse AMPS 418 - Honeymoon's Over +3 350, +6 338

just a hi from me, i'm new since you were here . . . hopefully jesse will settle down quickly!
 
Re: 4/22 Jesse AMPS 418 - Honeymoon's Over +3 350, +6 338

Welcome Carolyn & Jesse! Jasmine was off the juice for 1 year and I just had to make the decision to put her back on Lantus 10 days ago. Remember, you are doing the right thing now that Jesse is back on insulin and you are in the right place. Thank Goodness for FDMB!!! Best of luck with Jesse.
 
Re: 4/22 Jesse AMPS 418 - Honeymoon's Over +3 350, +6 338,+9

Hi guys .. and welcome back? I hope this is a real quick stint on the juice again and then jesse is back at the falls!
 
Re: 4/22 Jesse AMPS 418 - Honeymoon's Over +3 350, +6 338,+9

Welcome back (sort of 'cause I wish you didn't have to make a return appearance.)

I can't open Jesse's SS. Could you change the permissions so that anyone with the link can open the SS?
 
Re: 4/22 Jesse AMPS 418 - Honeymoon's Over +3 350, +6 338,+9

Hi guys....glad that you came here when you had to go back on the juice....
Come on Jesse...we are rooting for you!
We have a whole club of kitties who have returned from the Falls....Rajas spent 8 glorious months of freedom there but returned in Sept....it's one of those things, isn't it? We are all happy for the time they spent away from insulin, but now, well,.... back into the routine! Hope he will get some nice numbers for you real soon!
 
Re: 4/22 Jesse AMPS 418 - Honeymoon's Over +3 350, +6 338,+9

Thanks for fixing the SS link!

If I may, a few comments. I would not keep increasing by 0.5u. If you go back to the protocol, your first dose needed to be held for 5 - 7 days for the shed to form. When you are seeing numbers below 300 for nadir, increases are 0.25u. I'd hate to see you increase past a good dose for Jesse.
 
Re: 4/22 Jesse AMPS 418 - Honeymoon's Over +3 350, +6 338,+9

Yeah, me too! I had it in my mind 3-6 cycles; but that's after the initial dose. My problem is that I can't remember what I read!
So...since I screwed up already, should I stay at 2u?
Thanks
 
Re: 4/22 Jesse AMPS 418 - Honeymoon's Over +3 350, +6 338,+9

I think you're OK to stick with the 2.0u. If Jesse's ideal weight is around 15 lbs (from your SS), you probably started a little light on the initial dose. Hold the dose for 6 cycles if you're getting nadirs over 200.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top