4/22 George PMPS-273 4-44 4.25-51 5-55 5.5-62 6-62 6.25-75

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alaina and George

Member Since 2012
Good Morning All :-D
Yesterday's Condo- http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=93731

I don't want to get too excited but, we have had two consecutive preshots in the 200's (first time ever!!) Although, I've been getting woken up like clock work at 3AM each day by a hungry kitty. I always give a mini meal before I go to bed but it only seems to last about 4-5 hours and then George is crying right outside my door. Any tricks for how to help this insatiable kitty during the night time hours would be appreciated.

I ran out of AlphaTrak 2 strips so I'm on the ReliOn meter and it seems to be working well... Wish I didn't just spend $100 for new strips. Oh well, once the new one's are here and I use most of them, I'm going to switch back.

Hope everyone has a good day.

Yesterday's Evening Mini-Curve (Taken with Relion Meter)
PMPS- 221
+4- 154
+8.5- 72
+12- 216
 
Re: 4/22 George AMPS-216

I have the 2 slot auto feeder for night time. And it's set to open 4 hours after bed and then again 2-3 hours after that.
Otherwise, she eats it all before 1 am....
It took a while to learn but she checks it... sometimes even lays staring at it ... waiting for it to open.

Hope George is about to slide to the blues today.... maybe a paw dip or two in the green.
 
Re: 4/22 George AMPS-216

The bad news is that George is waking you up. The good news is that he knows to eat when his numbers drop. You might want to think about getting a timed feeder. That way, you can set the timer to open at +5. I use a 2-compartment feeder for during the day when I'm at work.
 
Re: 4/22 George AMPS-216 +6.5-321

I feel a bounce coming on...Hope I'm wrong!

Thanks for the advice on the self feeder!! I ordered it for night time...Hope it will provide relief and my other cat won't figure out how to get in it before it's time.
 
Re: 4/22 George AMPS-216 +6.5-321 PMPS-273 +4-44

Well we didn't bounce today but just now I checked with the Relion Meter and got a 44... So, I fed some food and I'm going to re-check in 15-20 minutes. Does this mean that we've earned a .25 reduction? It's 50 on the human meter, right? I can also check with the AlphaTrak...The strips just came in today. Please let me know... I'm a little freaked out but the low number. Thanks!
 
Re: 4/22 George PMPS-273 +4-44 Worried about a HYPO

For now, stick with the Relion. You want to feed some LC and maybe a teaspoon or two of HC gravy. You want to bump up the numbers so you are above the mid-50s. That will give you good room for George to "surf" in. Unless you see symptoms, this are low number -- not a hypo. You just need to be vigilant. You re-test after 20 - 30 min. and provide more food as you need to.

Here are the written instructions for handling low numbers.
 
Re: 4/22 George PMPS-273 +4-44 Worried about a HYPO

He doesn't really have any symptoms...Just was meowing and hungry like usual. I gave him a teaspoon or two of low carb food (I don't have high carb) and I'm going to retest. I do have some low carb dry food...I assume this is an option if needed?

Now he's just laying next to me cleaning himself. I'm going to get another test and post it now. Thanks for responding so fast :smile:
 
Re: 4/22 George PMPS-273 +4-44 Worried about a HYPO

Don't use dry. It takes forever to be metabolized.

You can add a drop or two of Karo syrup, honey, maple syrup, etc. to low carb. It will have the same effect.
 
Re: 4/22 George PMPS-273 +4-44 Worried about a HYPO

I would. It's better to have a margin of safety. You're going to need to be monitoring for a while until it's clear that George's numbers are above 50 and stable.

You may want to pick up some gravy-based food when you have a chance. Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers, marinated, roasted, etc. all work well. You're looking for foods that are above 15% carb.
 
Re: 4/22 George PMPS-273 +4-44 +4.25-51

I'd give him a couple more tsp of LC food...I wouldn't use the syrup in the 50s.. Could you retest in 30 please.
 
Re: 4/22 George PMPS-273 +4-44 +4.25-51

Alaina:

Marje and I differ. It's not a conflict. Just a difference of opinion. From my perspective, this is the first time you're handling lower numbers and it's late. If this were mid-day, it would be easier to try to steer the numbers with lower carb food. I'm making the assumption that you're tired.
 
Re: 4/22 George PMPS-273 +4-44 +4.25-51

I gave a little honey mixed with the food...You are making the correct assumption about me being tired...Chances are he will bounce tomorrow anyway and I would like to go to bed by midnight-ish because I have to work tomorrow. I'm going to re-check at 12:40. Does this mean we've earned a reduction? I will feel like it's worth it if you say yes :smile:
 
Re: 4/22 George PMPS-273 +4-44 +4.25-51

I can see Sienne's point, too. We often have members use HC to abort a cycle once a reduction is earned.

It's up to you. If you're tired and you want to abort the cycle, give HC. If not and you want him to surf, give LC.

There's no right or wrong.
 
Re: 4/22 George PMPS-273 +4-44 +4.25-51

You've earned the reduction!!

I'm signing out. Marje will hang out with you to make sure George is in safe numbers. She's on the west coast so it's still early there.
 
Re: 4/22 George PMPS-273 +4-44 +4.25-51

I wish it was day time so I could let him surf but I don't think I'll sleep well considering it's the first time. Things can change so quickly. Just last week I was thinking we needed an increase.

I gave a small drop of honey in a teaspoon or so of food. Maybe he'll still get a little wave action...
 
Re: 4/22 George PMPS-273 +4-44 +4.25-51

I will be around waiting for the test.

Remember that the karo wears off in a couple hours.
 
Re: 4/22 George PMPS-273 +4-44 +4.25-51 +5-55

Just took the test and it was a 55 so I gave a little more food and another drop of honey... Should I check in 20 minutes and then leave some food out? I think he will eat it instantly. Not that that is a bad thing... I have two cats so I need to make sure the other one doesn't eat the food.
 
Re: 4/22 George PMPS-273 +4-44 +4.25-51 +5-55

I'd check in 30. If he's on the rise,I'd feed him a little more and go to bed.
 
Re: 4/22 George PMPS-273 +4-44 +4.25-51 +5-55

That's 14 minutes from now... What's a good number? 60? I'll check at 12:10am. Thanks for riding this out with me.
 
Re: 4/22 George PMPS-273 +4-44 +4.25-51 +5-55

I actually prefer to see a rising number with no food influence especially if you've been giving honey or karo.

If you can post when you get the test, we can decide.

You're welcome.....happy to help.
 
Re: 4/22 George PMPS-273 +4-44 +4.25-51 +5-55

I was hoping to see more of a boost. Two questions

1. Can you leave down 1/2 can and he will eat it

2. Many chance you could get up and test a +6 or +7
 
Re: 4/22 George PMPS-273 +4-44 +4.25-51 +5-55 +5.5-62

I think he would definitely eat half a can... Are we talking Friskies (5.5oz) or Fancy Feast (3oz) size?

I could probably stay up another 30 minutes for a +6.
 
Re: 4/22 George PMPS-273 +4-44 +4.25-51 +5-55 +5.5-62

I think he would eat half of a 3 oz can yes... Bigger might be tough. Should I do a half of a 3 oz can and check at +6?
 
Re: 4/22 George PMPS-273 +4-44 +4.25-51 +5-55 +5.5-62

That's fine. He's close to mid cycle so it should be ok to leave him after +6 if he's up.
 
Re: 4/22 George PMPS-273 +4-44 +4.25-51 +5-55 +5.5-62 +6-62

And you've added honey to his food? He should be going up.

Here is what concerns me. You don't have a ton of data for him at lower numbers and I've often seen HC wear off and numbers come back down later in the cycle. Can you get up in an hour and check him?
 
Re: 4/22 George PMPS-273 +4-44 +4.25-51 +5-55 +5.5-62 +6-62

I didn't add honey this last time, just gave food... Maybe I checked too soon. Gonna check again in a few minutes and see where he is.
 
Re: 4/22 George PMPS-273 +4-44 +4.25-51 +5-55 +5.5-62 +6-62

He's also been clearing w bounce all day...sometimes they can just keep coming down. I do think his liver is going to panic and he will shoot back up. But no telling when.
 
Re: 4/22 George PMPS-273 +4-44 +4.25-51 +5-55 +5.5-62 +6-62

Good...he might take longer to respond to food. Will Buddy eat his food if you leave some out?

You should be able to go to bed. If you wake up, I'd test; and I'd try to get a +11 so you know where he's headed for AMPS.

sound like a plan?
 
Re: 4/22 George PMPS-273 4-44 4.25-51 5-55 5.5-62 6-62 6.25-

Sounds like a plan... I'm not sure that Buddy would eat it... I've been giving him some food too to avoid jealousy :mrgreen: What do you think? A half can?
 
Re: 4/22 George PMPS-273 4-44 4.25-51 5-55 5.5-62 6-62 6.25-

Sounds good.

Great job!

If he skyrockets by AMPS, you can shoot his current dose in the morning and reduce tomorrow night. We call that shooting through the bounce. But he should be above 300. Otherwise, take your reduction in the morning.

Any questions?
 
Re: 4/22 George PMPS-273 4-44 4.25-51 5-55 5.5-62 6-62 6.25-

Thanks sooooo much for your help. He is eating the food now. Do you think that's okay?
 
Re: 4/22 George PMPS-273 4-44 4.25-51 5-55 5.5-62 6-62 6.25-

Good. You're welcome!

You can always set an alarm and get up and check him in an hour or so. We just don't have any data on him to know. He should be ok...he's coming up and it's past midcycle. But neither of us know his patterns yet.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top