4/22 Esse AMPS 271 PMPS 285

Last Thread

Finally, two obviously shootable numbers in a row. The half-unit line is TOUGH, though--it feels like nothing, hard to know if we're really getting it in him. He has a tendency to startle/jerk a little when he feels the needle. Time (and test results) will tell, I guess.

We found a sweet spot in his ear and got a nice big blood drop this morning, so I also tried the new ketone meter we got. 1.4 doesn't seem like a great number, but in looking at some old threads linked here, it's maybe not cause for panic if he's not symptomatic? He's still drinking and peeing a good bit, but not more than has been normal for him in the last few months, and otherwise his appetite, energy levels, etc. are normal. I want to retest that as well when I get the chance. Maybe caused by skipping so many doses in the last few days?
 
Good to hear you are managing better with the ear pricks. It really does get easier with practice.

I hear you on the half and quarter unit dose measurements - they are tricky! You've likely read the sticky note at the top of this group: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...info-proper-handling-drawing-fine-dosing.151/

We all have some techniques and tricks to make it easier for ourselves. I use a small desktop magnifier with a light to help me see properly. I also use an insulin ruler template to check I have the top of the plunger at the right place. Here is the link for the ruler, but please note it is for BD brand syringes only: https://www.diabetes-katzen.net/insulinruler.pdf

A lot of members use calipers to get the dose correct. More info here: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dosing-with-calipers-updated-w-videos.79851/

Here is a clever set-up using smartphones to illuminate and magnify for accuracy:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-3-108-6-61-9-79-pmps-99.270807/#post-3017060

If you use the search function you will find a lot of previous conversations about getting these minute doses right. If you browse a bit you might pick up some more tips that will help you.

Flinching and jerking away from the needle is also something a lot of us have dealt with. You can try different areas, some cats are more sensitive on their flanks or their shoulders. What works for me is injecting into the scruff as my cat starts eating. He is so focused on his food he doesn't even notice. I always leave the syringe in for a couple secs too, just to make sure all the insulin goes in.

Good luck - hopefully you will soon get Esse on a regular dose and increase testing so you have some info on how low he is going mid-cycle.
 
Last edited:
Yes, we've been trying to dose him as soon as he has a couple mouthfuls of food but I think we're still working on getting quick enough for him not to realize what's happening... Those other tips are great though. I like the idea of not rushing to pull the syringe back out to make sure it's all in, that could very well be part of our problem.

I really feel so motivated to get more numbers on the spreadsheet--I'm very data-minded--but his tolerance for poking and prodding is still so low. But still--baby steps! And I'm sure the better we get at doing it, the better he'll be about taking it.
 
Back
Top