4/22 Champ AMPS 299, PMPS 327, +3 223, +6 191

Status
Not open for further replies.

Patty & Champ

Member Since 2011
Yesterday

Yay!!! Started in the yellow today. I felt so bad for the guy because I got up at 4:30 and he had to wait until 6 to get any food. He sure knows how to pester people when he wants something :lol: But, for the first time, I stood strong and didn't give him anything because I wanted to make sure I had an accurate reading this morning. Plus I know when I went to bed at midnight I left out 1 oz. of Wellness for him to eat overnight and the plate was licked clean this morning. And as anyone who has seen his figure knows, he is NOT starving!! :lol: :lol:

My poor daughter is still extremely sick, first the flu, then ear infections, and now nausea and major coughing fits. I think she's just run herself into the ground with school, work, and her sorority stuff. She never has time to just sit and rest. So now I get to take care of both my sick babies.

I hope everyone has a terrific Friday with lots of good numbers and happy, playful furbabies. :-D
 
Re: 4/22 Champ AMPS 299

Hi guys .. great job on the yellow this morning champ, and way to stay strong on the food :lol: Sorry to hear your daughter is sick but at least she is in good hands, right? Try and have a great weekend!
 
Re: 4/22 Champ AMPS 299

Nice yellow AMPS, Champ! Sorry that your daughter is still so sick, Patty. That's the flu aftermath all right! Rest and chicken soup for her!

Have a good day and stay healthy. Your family (fur and bean) needs you!!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 4/22 Champ AMPS 299

Yes! on the yellow AMPS! I know it's hard but it's really great to see a clean number like that. Up at 4:30? OMG, do you do that every day? :o
 
Re: 4/22 Champ AMPS 299

I used to get up between 5-6 a.m. every day, but because my morning routine no longer consists of just throwing some dry and wet food in a dish for Champ, I have to get up earlier. :cry: Unfortunately, I also no longer take naps because I've become so focused and worried about Champ. It's all catching up with me, though, so I'm going to catch up on my work this weekend, leaving time for God on Sunday, and then start a better routine next week. If I didn't let myself get so distracted during the day with Champ, I'd be able to get more work done and, thus, wouldn't have to get up so early. I just need to get FOCUSED again. :lol: :lol:

I'm starting a new routine with the kitters, too. No longer will he be getting so much chicken with his pokes. He'll get a couple small cubes as a thank you for being a good boy with the pokes and that's it. I'm going to divide up 3.5 oz of Wellness from AMPS until +4, 0.5 oz of chicken at the +6 poke, and then nothing until PMPS. I want to see if this helps him keep his afternoon numbers lower. They always skyrocket.

QUESTION: Is it possible that Lantus doesn't stay in the system of some cats for a full 12 hours? Champ seems to nadir by +3 or so and then starts to climb quickly, especially from +8 until PMPS.
 
Re: 4/22 Champ AMPS 299

So sorry to hear that your daughter is ill. But a very promising start to the day for Champ. This forum should be re-name "Forum for the Hopeless Optimists" . We all qualify. Have a good day, Patty. I think I'll try to do a little garden work this afternoon. Still cool and cloudy but I need to get out and do some real work. I just love it.
 
Re: 4/22 Champ AMPS 299, +3 226

Champ has a good +3...let's see how his +6 is next!! I only gave him 0.5 oz of Wellness and a couple small cubes of chicken at +3 so now he has to wait until +6 for his snack. He's going to make my life a living hell, guaranteed!!

My daughter just got up so she can get ready for work and says she feels 100 percent better!! All she needed was her mommy's magic touch....and 10 hours of uninterrupted sleep!! She still sounds terrible (that cough!!), but as long as she feels better, that's all that matters. :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 4/22 Champ AMPS 299, +3 226

patty, i read somewhere (hear how authoritative this is) that you can have an overlap with lantus - ie, you could be seeing a longer-than-12-hour cycle and what you're seeing as a +3 nadir could be overlap from previous cycles. I think I read that as i was poking around on the Think Tank section. With humans Lantus lasts for 24ish hours, but cats metabolize faster. But i've also seen several people talk about nadirs at +3, so ?

if i understand correctly, the bigger swings are also characteristic of our cats who are not regulated yet. more regulated cats have flatter curves, so you don't see the bigger swings around shot times. So as champ's overall numbers come down his curve will also flatten.

champ will get used to longer intervals between his second breakfast and dinner. punkin stopped complaining before long - i think some of it is that they have a contract with you, and when you change the Feed Me At These Times contract they complain, but as long as you stick to a new Feed Me contract, they'll be ok with the new one.

of course, you know i'm new too . . . so take it fwiw.

i'm sure someone who knows more will be along at some point to answer the question.
 
Re: 4/22 Champ AMPS 299, +3 226

HAHAHA julie...the Feed Me Contract. I love the way you put that. I'm hoping you're right. He's always eaten wet food, but he also always used to have a bowl of dry food to nosh on throughout the day and night. You know what gets me? Before the diabetes started, he used to eat 2/3 of a can of wet food per day (Friskies shreds or whatever else had gravy) and 1/2 cup of dry. That's it. And he never ate all of either one. I was constantly throwing away the wet food because he only wanted to lick the gravy off it and he just ate a few pieces of dry every once in a while throughout the day. AND he stayed at 21 pounds eating like this. He just couldn't lose weight. When the diabetes started, he was eating a couple cans of wet a day and about a cup of dry a day, and losing weight. I think he just got used to eat all the time. Now I have to retrain him into eating much smaller amounts of food and being satisfied. When I finally get him regulated, I'm sure he won't be nearly as hungry. Let's hope, anyway!! :lol: :lol:

About the overlap, I would think if he had insulin still working in him prior to his next shot, he wouldn't have such escalating numbers up to that shot; meaning, his +8 through +11 wouldn't be so high if the insulin was still working in him. I don't know. To be honest, if it weren't for Sienne and others telling me what to do, poor Champers would probably be in the ICU somewhere. :roll:
 
Re: 4/22 Champ AMPS 299, +3 226

honestly, i think what you're seeing as swings is just how the lantus works. it doesn't seem odd to me at all. I doubt it means the lantus isn't working. levemir does have a later nadir - like +10, i believe. i don't know if it matters or not.

take a look at champ on 4/17, 19, & 21 - all of those his lowest number is at +6ish. it looks like he might be kinda flat between +3 and +6 on some of them. you also gotta remember that the meter has a 20% variance rate - so at a number around 240ish, the variance might be 48ish points.

yesterday punkin went amps 275, +6 136 and pmps 254 - a swing of 140ish either direction. i think that the flatter the curve get the more you can say the lantus is being effective in controlling the cat's swings and ultimately, if you look at cat's ss who are OTJ, they got pretty flat near the end. I see people posting numbers over the course of the day that only vary by maybe 30-40 points before they go OTJ.
 
Re: 4/22 Champ AMPS 299, +3 226, +230

I'm definitely going to have to start studying other SS's so I can get a better idea on what to expect, or not expect.

Champ so far today has been doing excellent. I'm not going to hold my breath, though, so we shall see what +9 looks like. I just gave him about 1 oz of parboiled chicken so we'll see if that was a good idea or not.
 
Re: 4/22 Champ AMPS 299, +3 226, +230

Hi Patty: Julie is correct in her info. After the nadir, the numbers can be expected to rise. I think the amount of rise may have to do with how regulated they are and if the dose is sufficient. I believe if you have a kitty that is not bouncing but is experiencing high, flat numbers after six cycles, that would tell you a dosecrease is needed. But keep in mind the unpredictability of the cat. There are so many times I look at Gracie's SS and say "WHY did she do THAT?". No one can answer...it's just what she did. I've had her race down in beautiful green numbers to about +5 and then pop up. Why...who knows? With the NDW she's been experiencing on her new dose...she climbed last night from a PMPS of 300 to +4 of 330 at which time I couldn't decide whether to take a massive amount of drugs, drink a massive amount of tequila, or just go to bed :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: so I went to bed (esp since I don't do drugs and rarely drink). We've been at this six months and I still have not given in to the "it's a dance, I just follow where he/she leads". I'm so stubborn :oops: :oops: :roll:

Example of a typical curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.

Hang in there.....he's doing better..really he is.
 
Re: 4/22 Champ AMPS 299, +3 226, +230, +9 307

Marje, you're so very right. Champ is doing better. He's just now hitting a low pink number at +9. Of course, now is when he normally really starts to rise. I'm only 1/4 Italian, but I have the Italian mother attitude with food, "Oh baby, you're not well, let me feed you. Here, eat this." I've been doing that with Champ and, since Champ loves food and will NEVER say no to it, he eats what I give him. Today I've been so good about keeping to only meals and one snack for each 12-hour period and I think Champ's numbers are proving this may have been the problem. Of course, knowing Champ, since I just opened my mouth and said that, he's going to prove me wrong and only get pinks and reds for a while just to freak me out. :lol: :lol:

I think I'll take a little jaunt over to Gracie's condo and see how she's been doing. :-D
 
Re: 4/22 Champ AMPS 299

Patty & Champ said:
QUESTION: Is it possible that Lantus doesn't stay in the system of some cats for a full 12 hours? Champ seems to nadir by +3 or so and then starts to climb quickly, especially from +8 until PMPS.

This little video is about Levemir, but both the L's act similarly. So it might help understand the 'how' it is working in your cat. Keep in mind cats metabolize about 50% faster ...

It sounds like Champ is opposite of my Attie. I have to feed multiple small meals to keep Attie from plunging too early in the cycle. We now feed at shot time (.75-1), +2 (.5), +3(.5), +4(.5) and potentially a +9(.5). You'll notice I take a lot of +9 readings to "check" where I am at going into the evening shot. Attie only gets 2-4 total ounces of RAW food a day. In between is sprinkled with no carb or low carb treats for the pokies. We do like a product called Pure Bites and recently we've been liking Wild Cravings by EVO. They do not seem to spike Attie up.

I think the insulin stays in the system, there just isn't quite enough of it yet. The dynamic action of the insulin just appears reduced.
 
Re: 4/22 Champ AMPS 299, +3 226, +230, +9 307

I was giving Champ Pure Bites, too (from the dog aisle) and he LOVED them. In fact, he INHALED them. He ate them so quickly that I would have to keep giving him more in order to make him stay still for his pokes and shot. It got kind of expensive cuz we were going through a 6 oz. bag in about 1 week. That's when I decided to give him raw/parboiled chicken breast. I figured the Pure Bites were 100% chicken breast and so was the chicken breast I was giving him so one shouldn't affect his BGs any more than the other. But the Pure Bites figure out to like $3.50 a pound (or more) and I can buy fresh chicken breast for $1.99 or cheaper on sale. Champ's numbers are better today and I'm hoping it's because I'm not giving him as much Wellness throughout the day like I was (2 oz with AMPS, 1 oz. at +2 or +3, another oz. about +6) because he was always so hungry. Now its 2 oz. Wellness with AMPS, 1 oz. at +3, couple pieces of chicken breast with poke at +3 and +9, and 1 oz. of chicken breast at +6. I'm hoping this helps him lose weight and helps keep his late afternoon/early evening numbers down.
 
Re: 4/22 Champ AMPS 299, +3 226, +230, +9 307

Hi Patty,

Just popping in to say "hi" to you and Champ. Looks like you had a nice yellow day and a lot of interesting discussion going on in your condo. Hope all goes well tomorrow and you stay in that lovely Easter color, yellow for a while!
 
Re: ? FOR SIENNE-4/22 Champ AMPS 299, +3 226, +9 307, PMPS 3

Sienne - or any other dosing expert...I want to know if I'm interpreting Champ's #'s correctly. As I see it, he was bouncing yesterday, corrected today, and since tonight was his 7th cycle at 1.75, I increase to 2u in the morning. Am I correct?? I sure hope I'm getting the hang of this. ;-)
 
Re: ? FOR SIENNE-4/22 Champ AMPS 299, +3 226, +9 307, PMPS 3

I think you've got it!! I think it's time to increase.

I'm not sure yesterday was a bounce. I think you could probably argue it both ways. In any event, Champs numbers are fine for you to increase.
 
Re: ? FOR SIENNE-4/22 Champ AMPS 299, +3 226, +9 307, PMPS 3

YAY :RAHCAT I think I getting the hang of this nightmare!! :lol: :lol:
 
Re: ? FOR SIENNE-4/22 Champ AMPS 299, +3 226, +9 307, PMPS 3

good job! i 've learned so much from reading other people's stuff - it's almost like stalking. dun dun dun. ;-)

ps, you can edit your subject line now that you've got an answer!
 
Re: ? FOR SIENNE-4/22 Champ AMPS 299, +3 226, +9 307, PMPS 3

Oops!! Thanks Julie. I need a babysitter :lol: :lol: I've become a full blown stalker too!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top