?? 4/22/ AMPS 342 +5.25 290 +9.5 241 PMPS291

Status
Not open for further replies.

DebG

Member Since 2016
I have a question I keep reading TR or the other one? I am not sure which works best with Prozinc and what I have been doing?
Could someone please look at Fritz SS?
I am slowly working him off Prednisolone I have him on 1ml pm only for a few days then every other pm for a week or less.
So if the numbers I see today are what's in the near future I need to start thinking about what happens when he's in the blues and greens as far as dosing.
I have studied a lot but would like experienced help and just not go blindly into the lower numbers.
 
I would monitor tonight. Giving 4 units at 291 should be okay but you haven't shot that low before.

TR (tight regulation) is a method used with the depot insulins, not ProZinc. You can dose more aggressively - when you have enough data - increasing by 0.5 every three cycles if the levels are high, as long as you monitor carefully. You've been giving 4 units for several cycles and might normally increase BUT easing off the prednisone can lower the levels. I'd urge you to be a little cautious.

Today's yellows are encouraging. Maybe backing off the steroid will bring down the levels more. As long as you test to be sure the midcycle numbers aren't too low and don't shoot under 200, he should be good. It's the monitoring that keeps him safe, and knowing what to do if he would drop low.
 
Ok! Thanks I wish I would have reached out before his PM shot tonight. So if he does drop below 100 should I post for help? I'm use to high numbers and a bit nervous for the lower numbers to happen.
So if tomorrow he's in the low 200's should I give 3.5 or lower units?
Hope things are looking up for you & DH :)
 
You don't need to worry unless he is in the 50s. Then give a little snack of his regular food and retest in 20 minutes. If he is coming up, you are good. If he continues to drop, give him a little bit of the gravy off higher carb food and retest in 20 minutes. You want 3 rising tests before you relax. Post on Health if you need help at night; there will be more eyes there.

Re the am shot. If he didn't drop too low tonight, 4 is likely okay. If it's a lower yellow for amps or he dropped into double digits, you might try 3.5.

Thanks. DH is improving, eating and off opiates and doing well with PT. All improvements.
 
Happy to hear he's improving!!! ;):cat: I'll keep an eye on him & his Bg's. I'm thrilled to see the yellows!
 
You don't need to worry unless he is in the 50s. Then give a little snack of his regular food and retest in 20 minutes. If he is coming up, you are good. If he continues to drop, give him a little bit of the gravy off higher carb food and retest in 20 minutes. You want 3 rising tests before you relax. Post on Health if you need help at night; there will be more eyes there.

Re the am shot. If he didn't drop too low tonight, 4 is likely okay. If it's a lower yellow for amps or he dropped into double digits, you might try 3.5.

Thanks. DH is improving, eating and off opiates and doing well with PT. All improvements.
Just to clarify 50 on human meter and 78 on Alphatrak2? I use the Alphatrak2
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top