4/22/22 Kaia changing Insulin. I'm scared..

Status
Not open for further replies.

JBat75

Member Since 2022
Ok, I finally got the vet to change Kaia Insulin to Lantus. We had tried something different. She suggested we lower her dosage from 2.75 to 2 or 2.25 units. She was hoping Kaia would level out a bit more instead of the major highs. It didn't work. So were going to change Insulin. I'm so worried as she will be really high as we change her over. What if something happens? The vet told me to expect a UTI as she will have a lot of sugar in her urine. Were going to start her with 1 unit of Lantus for 5 days and go from there. Any advise, I'm SO SCARED!!
Also, what needles do I need for Lantus. I'm using U-40 now for ProZinc
I am looking at Coastlinebuzz.com for Insulin. But its still $200 a vial. Where to purchase?
 
Last edited:
No no no please do not reset to 1U, that risks ketones and another episode of DKA. When we change insulin, the dose is usually nearly the same. When you have the insulin and are ready to start, you'll want to post for dose advice over on the Lantus forum.

Are you in the US? You need U100 syringes, 0.3cc, with half unit markings. I prefer the 5/8inch needle because less likely to go through the other side when giving a shot, others like the 1/2 inch needle.

This is ADWs site filtered for what I mentioned above - https://www.adwdiabetes.com/categor...t-by-field=BESTMATCH,page=1,ppp=20,op=fs,ps=|

I bought these (they sell cases as well) but some batches get annoying bubbles - https://www.countrysidepet.com/coll...te-31-gauge-3-10cc-u-100-syringes-pack-of-100

UltiCare also makes some - https://www.chewy.com/ulticare-insu..._x3lj1v6CH-DauvH5j7DR-TrWl9PU6hQaAq-oEALw_wcB

There's a lot out there, just have to search and price compare. We can always verify you're looking at the right thing before you buy

If you are in the US - a lot of people here have bought from Mark's Marine Pharmacy in Vancouver, as it's cheaper than buying here in the US. That said they're currently experiencing delays with Lantus itself, but last I knew they are still shipping basaglar (a biosimilar to Lantus - not generic just biosimilar). Temperature is also a concern, especially if you live more in the south. Now, there are new generics available in the US. You may come across Semglee, but that was replaced with "insulin glargine". Many people are finding it cheaper at their local pharmacies than Lantus would be if you ordered from Mark's+plus shipping).

I would get the pens, the vials often go bad before you use them all up. You can use syringes to withdraw from the pens, we can show you how. Do not get the pen needles that go with the pens, they're useless for us.
 
I suggest you look on the lantus forum at the stickies at the top. It’s important to follow tge dosing method. Since you feed some dry food that is SLGS. Reductions are taken if the bg is under 90. I think your vet was not wise to lower the dose. It just got your cat used to higher numbers. The initial dose of lantus is usually held a week. It’s a depot insulin so builds up over time.
Many buy insulin from Mark’s Marine in Canada but right now it takes a couple weeks to get to you. The generics are cheaper. Check the supply closet to see if anyone has a pen to sell. I like pens better than vials as they can be used to the last drop if stored carefully in the fridge. My vials lasted about 6 months and I threw out half as the potency was gone.
You need u100 syringes.
On 3/5 your cat’s bg fell to 74 and you should have reduced the dose. Kaia then bounced from the bg that was lower than she’s been. That led to higher numbers. She hasn’t seen a bg lower than 90 since then. Then his bg came down to blue and he bounced again so you saw high numbers. With SLGS you will evaluate the dose every 7 days.
It’s not true that all cats that aren’t controlled develop a uti.
You would start lantus on 2.75.
 
I will tag @Diane Tyler's Mom as she knows about Lantus biosimilar insulins availability in the US. The biosimilar insulins such as Semglee are cheaper than Lantus.
Make sure you have the correct insulin syringes. U100 3/10 30 or 31 gauge 6 or 8 mm insulin syringes with 1/2 unit markings.
I disagree with the vet that your kitty will get a UTI with changing insulins.
I would also definitely not reduce the dose to 1 unit when swapping over to Lantus….especially with DKA in the history.
When you get the insulin, post and ask again about the dose, but it will be similar to what you are giving.
Don’t be scared, lots of us swap over to a more suitable insulin without incident.
 
Thank you all so much!! This is so overwhelming and scary!! So much info with the new insulin...Should I increase her to 3 units until I receive the new insulin? Or attemp 3 units for awhile 1st. I'm so afraid to start over, especially since it takes time to build up in her system. The vet scared me with her comment that cats with diabetes rarely make it to 5 years. Kaia will be 5 years in October.
 
Thank you all so much!! This is so overwhelming and scary!! So much info with the new insulin...Should I increase her to 3 units until I receive the new insulin? Or attemp 3 units for awhile 1st. I'm so afraid to start over, especially since it takes time to build up in her system. The vet scared me with her comment that cats with diabetes rarely make it to 5 years. Kaia will be 5 years in October.
With the dry in the picture, you'd need to hold the dose for a week then consider an increase . The trouble is I'm not sure how low she may be going at night or the fee cycles.you don't test during the day, she seems to be bouncing a little bit.
 
With the dry in the picture, you'd need to hold the dose for a week then consider an increase . The trouble is I'm not sure how low she may be going at night or the fee cycles.you don't test during the day, she seems to be bouncing a little bit.
With the dry? I don't understand.
I check her at around +4 during the day when I have a break from work. Do I need to test her more often? She not too easy to test.

Not to mention she's ALWAYS hungry!!
 
The vet scared me with her comment that cats with diabetes rarely make it to 5 years
That is simply untrue. Diabetes rarely kills a cat…unless it’s from a hypo, and if you are testing that shouldn’t happen.
Most cats die from other diseases such as cancer, CRD etc.
Don’t be scared about swapping to another insulin. You don’t want to start over again with the insulin doses but carry on with approximately the same dose that you had with the other insulin….we can help you with that. Lantus takes a few days for the depot to fill and the full effect of the dose to be felt and it likes consistent dosing….not chopping and changing the dose.
We can help you with all of that.
If you can get a test in during the pm cycles that will help us see what is happening during the pm cycles. Even a before bed test is good.

Kaia will be 5 years in October.
You have in your signature that she is 13 years??
 
With the dry? I don't understand.
I check her at around +4 during the day when I have a break from work. Do I need to test her more often? She not too easy to test.

Not to mention she's ALWAYS hungry!!

dry as in dry food. Always hungry tells you she is an unregulated diabetic kitty. Yes, you should test at least 4 times a day imo, more data is always better.

@Bron and Sheba (GA) dx was 5 years ago. Vet is telling her the standard bullexcrement of diabetic cats don't live more than 4-5 years from dx.

@JBat75 this is simply untrue. It might be an avg lifespan but every cat is different and there are many cats who live with diabetes for a long time and have very happy and healthy lives -- if regulated. What is regulation you ask?

Good question. I'm glad you asked.

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/what-is-regulation.214777/
 
Last edited:
I will tag @Diane Tyler's Mom as she knows about Lantus biosimilar insulins availability in the US. The biosimilar insulins such as Semglee are cheaper than Lantus.
Make sure you have the correct insulin syringes. U100 3/10 30 or 31 gauge 6 or 8 mm insulin syringes with 1/2 unit markings.
I disagree with the vet that your kitty will get a UTI with changing insulins.
I would also definitely not reduce the dose to 1 unit when swapping over to Lantus….especially with DKA in the history.
When you get the insulin, post and ask again about the dose, but it will be similar to what you are giving.
Don’t be scared, lots of us swap over to a more suitable insulin without incident.
Try this discount card for basaglar put your zip code in , it looks like the price are for one pen, call them and find out
https://choicedrugcard.com/pet-prescription-discount-card/
I would also call around to see who has the best price for the pens, call your grocery store pharmacy to also see how much it is
Lantus will probably be more expensive so see if they have basaglar or gargline
 
That is simply untrue. Diabetes rarely kills a cat…unless it’s from a hypo, and if you are testing that shouldn’t happen.
Most cats die from other diseases such as cancer, CRD etc.
Don’t be scared about swapping to another insulin. You don’t want to start over again with the insulin doses but carry on with approximately the same dose that you had with the other insulin….we can help you with that. Lantus takes a few days for the depot to fill and the full effect of the dose to be felt and it likes consistent dosing….not chopping and changing the dose.
We can help you with all of that.
If you can get a test in during the pm cycles that will help us see what is happening during the pm cycles. Even a before bed test is good.


You have in your signature that she is 13 years??
I mean 5 years since diagnosis. She is 13 years old. Sorry for confusion
 
dry as in dry food. Always hungry tells you she is an unregulated diabetic kitty. Yes, you should test at least 4 times a day imo, more data is always better.

@Bron and Sheba (GA) dx was 5 years ago. Vet is telling her the standard bullexcrement of diabetic cats don't live more than 4-5 years from dx.

@JBat75 this is simply untrue. It might be an avg lifespan but every cat is different and there are many cats who live with diabetes for a long time and have very happy and healthy lives -- if regulated. What is regulation you ask?

Good question. I'm glad you asked.

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/what-is-regulation.214777/
Thank you!! I can't tell you how much I appreciate it!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top