4/21 Spot good...Civvie's are sick, needs some input please

Status
Not open for further replies.

Deb & Spot

Member Since 2009
Hi guys, I know, LTNS/H, but believe it or not, I do check in with LL to see how everyone is doing!
Spot is doing well. He's pretty well regulated on f.5u with bg's ranging from 70-115 and he's a very happy cat...I've been trying to cut down on his food intake because he has become a nice rolly polly shaped kitty. The weather is getting a little nicer and he is enjoying going outside on his chair. I still have to get up during the night to give him his personal escort to his timed feeder minutes before it's scheduled to open, but I've learned that I can walk through the house with my eyes closed, find the feeder, give it a little twist for it to open, and then head on back to bed to fall back to sleep quickly, unless Spot decides he needs his after snack love and perches himself on my tummy, purring up a storm.

My problem now is my two civvies, Ralph and Ali. I have been decreasing Ralph's pred gradually and Sunday I decided it would be a good time to go from 1cc 2x day to 1cc once daily. He did good Monday morning, but by Monday evening, he was starting to walk a little slower and refused to eat his dinner. He did not eat his breakfast on Tuesday, but I gave him 1cc of pred. Tuesday evening he again refused to eat, so I went to the store and got a few jars of baby food - chicken/beef in broth - and some probiotics. I mixed the food w/the probiotic and syringed fed him, and also decided to go back to the 1cc 2x with the pred, so he got a dose of pred. He is showing very little, if any interest in food. He sniffs it, but walks away, so I've been syringe feeding him since Tuesday, 3x a day and he usually eats about 3-4 tablespoons at each meal. Yesterday he ate a few bites of his regular cat food when I offered it to him, but not enough to sustain him.

Now, Ali.....she didn't eat her breakfast yesterday, which is not very unusual for her. Then she didn't come out for her dinner, which is unusual. Her MO is to eat MAYBE a few bites of her breakfast during the day (she eats on the kitchen counter, but then her food goes ontop of the fridge), and will eat a good portion of her dinner and save the rest to graze on during the night. She was not herself last night...she didn't come out for dinner and she only ate a few temptations for her snack. She has a good appy for her nini snack, so I knew something was a little off kilter. Then she didn't come to me for her nini love. This morning she was meatloafing in the living room. I picked her up and realized that she must have had some runny poo, because her bottom smelled pretty bad. I gave her a wash up and then offered her some milk, which she stuck her nose up to. I then offered her some fancy feast, again, nose up. Nose up to the baby food also. So, I mixed up some babyfood and water for her and syringe fed her 2 tablespoons, along with some plain water.

I have to work tonight until 9, so I can't take them to the vet until tomorrow evening, after I get off of work at 2:30. Question for those of you who may have syringe fed for a few days until your kitties appitites come back....what type of suppliments can I add to their food to make sure they are getting the nutrients they need? Neither one is throwing up (yet), except for the little bit that Ralph threw up this morning. I am adding the probiotics to the babyfood and making sure they are getting water. Any other suggestions?

Oh, one more thing...can I please get some healing vines for my babies? Thanks!!
 
Re: 4/21 Spot good...Civvie's are sick, needs some input pl

No advice here but lots of healing vines for your babies. Hope they're okay. Keep us updated.
 
Re: 4/21 Spot good...Civvie's are sick, needs some input pl

Oh my dear friend HEALING VINES TO YOUR AILING BABIES THAT THEIR TUMMIES WILL BE WELL AGAIN!!
I dont know anything about pred., but my civvie also has become a problem eater...He will eat small amounts of real chicken or turkey which I feed him several times a day, but I need to stick pieces into the cat food to entice him to eat some...Never had to syringe feed him, but I have syringed Moonie(who also feels like a small football).
I know how frustrating it is when they dont eat pray for yours to feel better & be hungrier--
Love you all, Healing green vines to them-Hugs from us!
 
Re: 4/21 Spot good...Civvie's are sick, needs some input pl

Deb -

I'm glad Spot is doing well.

I don't think the probiotics will do much other than maybe help with Ali's runny poo. FortiFlora may spike an interest in food but that's about it. A probiotic won't hurt but it may not help, either. I suspect you reduced the pred too quickly with Ralph. It really requires very gradual weaning (at least in humans). When you were increasing the dose when Ralph first started pred, how quickly did you increase? I'd follow the same pattern to get him re-started unless the vet said to go right back to his previous 1cc BID.

I do think there are nutritional supplements (catsmilk) that might help until you can get them in for a vetty visit. What about kitten kibble?

I'm sending vines and good thoughts for Ralph and Ali!
 
Re: 4/21 Spot good...Civvie's are sick, needs some input pl

Healing thoughts and a garden of vines for Ali and Ralph. Hope they start to feel better quickly!
 
Re: 4/21 Spot good...Civvie's are sick, needs some input pl

Hi Deb,
Have missed your posts and am very sorry to see that Ralphie and Ali are under the weather. I can't advise, but I am sending healing vines and prayers for them. Get well soon, kitties! Rusty is cooking up a batch of chicken soup to take to Shadow today, so I'll ask him to triple the recipe so that he can bring some to Ralph and Ali, too. At least Spot is fine!!
Thinking of you,
:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 4/21 Spot good...Civvie's are sick, needs some input pl

(((Deb))) healing vines are being sent for Ralphie and Ali. I am going through this with Emily and I know that it is so upsetting to see them refusing food. As far as adding supplements to the syringed food, I don't think that you have to worry about essential nutrients over the course of a few days of inappetance. If they refused cat food longer term, then yes, you would have to add essential nutrients to the food. The important thing is to get them to eat anything they will take and keep down. As you have been doing, getting water into them is important. As Sienne mentioned, I have been offering Emily a boxed milk that is made for cats (Ultramilk), as real milk can cause diarrhea in kitties. I have also been getting her to nibble at some kitten kibble, which is tasty, high calorie, and comes in small pieces which are easy to eat. These are junky foods, but you just want them to get back in the habit of eating. Also, a change in diet may cause a bit of diarrhea, so be aware of that.

Ralphie obviously needs the higher dose of Pred. It may take a few days to kick back in. You may need to even give a "loading dose" to jumpstart him again (in consultation with your vet). When you do go in to the vet, ask about injections of Cerenia which is good for nausea. It has helped Emily a bit.

The vet may want to do some further testing if the kitties don't get back on track. Keep us posted on how they are doing.
 
Re: 4/21 Spot good...Civvie's are sick, needs some input pl

No advice here, but definite healing vines and positive thoughts your way!!
 
Re: 4/21 Spot good...Civvie's are sick, needs some input pl

(((Deb))) hope your kitties are feeling better....

as far as nutrients go....what Linda said....cats need to eat...anything...

with Rocket when he stopped eating a while back though not good for his diabetes i have used Clinicare....it's milk but for cats....it is ideal for his CRF.....vets sell the cans...

at Petsmart you can get milk for cats....i can't remember the brand name but do ask and they'll help you there....


praying for you and your kitties...i know what it's like to feel helpless when they stop eating and when they're sick....
 
Re: 4/21 Spot good...Civvie's are sick, needs some input pl

Sending HUGE feel better and eat better vines to Ralphie and Ali, and hugs to you. Please keep us updated,
because I worry about my friends.
 
Re: 4/21 Spot good...Civvie's are sick, needs some input pl

It's been a very trying day with my civvies, as some of you know the feeling first hand because you have gone through it yourselves. I'm glad my mom is home to keep an eye on them. She said they were out in the living room off and on, but would not eat the food when she offered. Ralph didn't want to sit on her lap, so there if definitely some issues he is dealing with. When I got home from work- I had two hours between one job and the other- was was able to syringe some food into both kitties, along with some water. About 20 minutes after eating, they both threw up. When I got home from the other job, I tried to feed them again, but Ralph threw up after eating one syringe full and Ali started to smack her lips and act like she was going to throw up after a half of syringe. They will not eat anything I offer...tuna, lunch meat, temptations, freeze dried salmon, nothing. The earliest I can get them into the vet is 5:30 tomorrow night. I have to work until 2:30, and they can't get us in until then. I will ask about the cerenia. I believe they gave that to Spot a few years ago when he was going through something.
Linda, I have been slowly weaning Ralph off of the Pred. I told you guys the wrong dose. He started to get 1cc 2x a day. I followed the dosing directions the vet gave me...1cc 2x a day, then 1cc a day then 1cc every other day...then 1/2 cc. He did good on the gradual dosing but then he got to the point where the dose was to low. Vet said to "play" around with the dose, so I reduced the dose to .2 cc 2x day, then .1 cc, 2x day, waiting for about 2 weeks in between reductions. He started the .1cc April 1. I thought that I'd try the .1cc 1x day on Sunday. Maybe that was to soon. So now I've been giving him .1cc 2x day when I feed him, but he's throwing that up. He looks to be motoring pretty good now. Monday/Tuesday he was walking like a little old man, he's not doing that now.
So, that's our update as of tonight. Oh, I also bought some kitten milk replacement supplement tonight when I was out and added that to the baby food. Didn't do them any good because they threw it up, but I will try again tomorrow.
Thanks everyone for the well wishes and vines, please keep them coming!
Now, time to check my FB account and hit the bed. Gotta get up a little bit early so I can feed the kitties! Niters!!!
 
Re: 4/21 Spot good...Civvie's are sick, needs some input pl

(((DEB))) All sorts of prayers, white light,snowflakes and positive vines on their way to you and your furbabies. Hope they turn around soon. HUGS
 
Re: 4/21 Spot good...Civvie's are sick, needs some input pl

Hi Deb - I wish I could help you, but just have not had to deal with ay of this. Know that we think of you, and send all the healing vines we have to send. Be well kitties!

And I am glad that Spot is well. I have missed hearing about him. Take care guys! hugs from Mannie and I.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top