4/21 - Shakespeare - WAHT??!! I give up!

Status
Not open for further replies.

dmartini4

Member Since 2010
ok so as we know Shakes has been doing very poorly the last 4 months since the freestyle lite mess!
I have been going up and down and all over the place for months...to no avail...
the last 2 weeks I had to travel and work a lot and a lot of late night dinners so my husband
had to take care of Shakes...for some reason shakes fights my hubby like crazy so there is no testing involved..
(yes I know!)so I tell him to shoot 3.2 since I have been shoeting 3.5 and 3.6
so for the last 2 weeks I was unable to test like I normally do and worry every day like I normally do...
SO...here it is Friday 4/20..I took the day as I am exhausted...and we found a small lump on Shakes...
so off to the vet we go...She gave me steroid and antibiotic cream to try for a week as she thinks it could be allergies
, if not then we go from there...anyway...last night I took his BG and he was 271...WHAT..he hasnt seen a yellow preshot in months...I figure it is a coincidence and shoot 3.2 again, like my hubby has been doing..
figured he would be super high this morning...AMPS 317...WTH!! ok I will take it and I shot 3.2
ran my errands this morning came back and checked him at +5.5 = 99!!GREEN!!!!!!!! :mrgreen:
ok so I am thinking I was overshooting and keeping him in constant rebound for months?!?! :roll: ohmygod_smile
I will keep him at 3.2 now....OH and of course it could be because we were at the vet yesterday and she gave me a script for Levemir....I guess he was listening!! ohmygod_smile
 
Maybe Shakes has decided to behave himself, figures if he does good he doesn't get the prickies?

That's a cat for you, it figures that they're so damn difficult about everything else that they're just as difficult with dosing.

I'm assuming you're gonna hold off on the Lev for right now, hope those tests aren't a fluke-y cycle!
 
Goooooooo Shakes!!! :RAHCAT Good news. Maybe he just needed the reboot a bit. Glad to see the 3.2 working. THat always makes me feel better when my kitty is green. Hope it continues!

lori
 
I know it sounds crazy to most folks here, but I honestly saw as much as (and sometimes even more than) a 100 point drop in some of Grayson's preshots when we reduced his dose. Don't know the rhyme or reason - that's just the way it is. So, is it better to have a larger range during the cycle? or lower preshots? I don't know!

Shakes has had some really good-looking numbers - at varying doses - higher and lower. Maybe the point of the FD game is that there isn't a set place where he consistently stays and holds the dose. As someone pointed out (Dr. Lisa maybe?), there are other variables that we don't have the benefit of seeing - or controlling. So we test, and we adjust... Other than that? We look at alternatives.

Hang on - maybe he'll throw you some kind of a surprise. Or maybe you might want to try a re-boot before changing... The rules of this game aren't written - they keep changing. All we can do, is go with it the best we can, and make the best informed decisions that we can at the time. And if one thing doesn't work, try something else! Good luck!
 
.AMPS 317...WTH!! ok I will take it and I shot 3.2
ran my errands this morning came back and checked him at +5.5 = 99!!GREEN!!!!!!!!

OK, so what happens next? :-D

Carl
 
Really good news for Shakes!! I'm glad you are seeing better numbers. Sid heard me say something about a feeding tube and then started eating better so it seems maybe they do listen...!!! :-D
 
Wow Denise! That is really good information! Our vet just tried reducing with us too, but it didn’t work. (I’ll explain in another thread if I can ever get back here so I don’t jack yours)
Hope the good numbers continue and things even out for you. Come on Mr. Green! :mrgreen:
 
so last night he was about 388, I expected higher, so I shot the same..3.2
+4.5 he was 144 last night...wow moving again...what the hell is going on?
so I fell asleep and woke to a 415...ok so maybe he went a little too low last night
so since I dont know for sure I reduced a little more...about 3 units and had a flat day...
which very well could be because of last night...
So I am going to hold 3 units for awhile and see what happens...
Hope all is well out there!
 
:dizcat :dizcat :dizcat

GOOD LUCK! I agree with holding the 3 units and seeing what it produces!
 
So I am going to hold 3 units for awhile and see what happens...

Good plan! Nice to see Shakes showing you the moves.


Carl
 

Attachments

  • animated-smileys-dancing-021.gif
    animated-smileys-dancing-021.gif
    26.6 KB · Views: 564
  • dance.gif
    dance.gif
    9.4 KB · Views: 551
So I read the title, Denise, and thought, Darn! But it turns out to be good news! Wonder if it is the lower dose, or that the allergies were causing wonky numbers, or could possibly the cream has something in it? Regardless, lovely news for our Shakespeare.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top