4/21 Jetta AMPS 180 +1.25 155 +2.5 61 +3 64 - not bouncing

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jacspets

Member Since 2011
Yesterday Jetta 4/20

Happy Caturday LL,

Thanks to all who visited yesterday. It's great to "see" all of you. I thought I should report back that a weird confluence events pushed Jetta's vetty visit to Monday. So I have nothing to report on the Fructosamine battle. Jetta continues to be off with a mild to non-existent appetite requiring syringe feeding, soft poos, and the general blah's. Interestingly her numbers are OK though, as evidenced by a rare blue AMPS.

But here's the really odd part. She has stopped bouncing. Can cats (I know, I know ECID) just simply stop bouncing all together? This past Wednesday through a combination of Jetta not eating :roll: , DH not thinking :? , and DH completely ignoring my instructions :evil: , Jetta screamed down to a 21 :o . YES 21 How she even survivied that is, I think, pure luck. Anyway, it took DH several hours and almost 5 ounces of 18% to keep her stable. We both expected a red for the AMPS given the drop and the gravy, but she was so low with no one to monitor closely, he ended up skipping the AM shot. Then last night Jetta screeched down from 264 to 69 in 3 1/2 hours, sailed along in a little green ship all night, and I fully expected pink or red this morning. Nope. Blue. She has never never never not bounced. Ususally the mention of a number under 80 sent her through the roof. I know I should be happy, but I'm actually feeling that this is tied to whatever she has going on that's got her feeling off. Any insight?

As for a WHR since it's been a while, little civvie Raisin who you may remember was the feral baby I plucked from outside, is already 7 months old, cute as can be and is a total love bug. She is DH's best bud and he couldn't be happier. Civvie Olivia (formerly BLS- bratty little sister) is just over a year old now, and Civvie Ranger is same ol. I did end up switching to wet food for the most part. Olivia is totally off dry, and the other 2 are about 60 wet, 40% dry. Drooler Sage is loosing function of her back legs from an apparent spinal issue (she's 12 1/2) and she's blind in one eye. She's otherwise OK and still herds the cats. Our macaw Chicken was finally diagnosed with PDD or Macaw Wasting Disease so she continues to be special needs and will be for as long as we're able to keep her alive. My feral colony is also doing well. Momma kitty still lives on our lanai and has gotten friendlier since I trapped and spayed her. It's pretty neat, most days she comes up to the sliding glass doors and stares at Raisin. They've even met a few times through the screen outside and I'd almost swear they remember each other. Raisin chirps at her almost like "Hi mmom, I'm OK in here". Pretty cool. :-D

Well, I'm off to start the day and appreciate any bouncing insight anyone has. I'm really looking forward to visiting condos today once I get my chores under control :-D
 
Re: 4/21 Jetta AMPS 180 +1.25 155 weird- not bouncing

Hi - it is great to hear from you!

wow on the 21! But I am glad it all worked out. and yes, eventually they do stop bouncing - wonderful that Jetta has. What I would give for that! It could be related to whatever it is that has her a bit off - I just don't know... There is nothing better than a nice steady even curve, day in and day out. Congrats on that! Good luck with the Fructosamine test, and your vet. I personally agree - they are pointless for those of us that test.

Love the WHR - Well wishes for Chicken, and Sage. Very nice on Raisin, and the feral colony. I bet they do remember each other. :-D

Enjoy your day today!
 
Re: 4/21 Jetta AMPS 180 +1.25 155 +2.5 61 +3 64 - not bounci

Sometimes, cats just decide to stop bouncing. Their liver begins to recognize that the lower numbers are normal. However, since you're going to the vet and you've noticed symptoms, I'd discuss this thoroughly with your vet and get appropriate labs. There can be conditions that will lower BG.
 
Re: 4/21 Jetta AMPS 180 +1.25 155 +2.5 61 +3 64 - not bounci

i wonder too, i have read that a cat's pancreas can get "shocked" into working again from a hypo event. if she was in the 20's for a while, perhaps that did it. if so, that could also be part of the picture of the no-bouncing.

didn't look at jetta's ss this morning, but just speaking in generalities, cats who are going OTJ stop bouncing first, then all their numbers seem to flatten out. first the nadirs stretch out so it's many hours long, then the pmps lowers, then the amps - when all of it is more of a flat line, then you know what is coming. like i said, i'm not saying that jetta is doing that, but that's the general path that seems to happen. the end of the bouncing is the first step.

i agree with sienne, since she seems off otherwise, it's a good idea to have her looked at. hoping all of it is nothing important. you've got a veritable geriatric ward going at your place! it's good to have them as long as you can, though, isn't it? :YMHUG:
 
Re: 4/21 Jetta AMPS 180 +1.25 155 +2.5 61 +3 64 - not bounci

i couldn't resist - i did go look at her ss. so the reason you guys didn't shoot the 127 was because no one was going to be available later, is that right? hopefully the next time you get a number like that you're able to shoot it. you're definitely data-ready and as long as someone's going to monitor, there's no reason not to. just want to encourage you if you were hesitating cuz you thought it might be too low.
 
Re: 4/21 Jetta AMPS 180 +1.25 155 +2.5 61 +3 64 - not bounci

Hi Michele- thanks for stopping by. I do love the no bounce, but I just don't trust it.

Thanks Sienne- that sounds ominous. I hope I can get to the bottom of whatever's going on.

Hi Julie- Thanks for taking the time to look at our SS. Wouldn't that be something if DH cured her by almost killing her (I'm still a bit -OK maybe a lot- bitter about the other night but I am trying to use it as a learning experience). We didn't shoot the 127 because Jetta hadn't been eating on her own for over 24 hours. DH left for work at +13 and DM could sit with Jetta a bit but I was in Washington DC trying to beg, borrow, steal, or stowaway myself onto an earlier flight to get home. So, it just wasn't safe to shoot since DM can't Syringe feed and has never yet treated a hypo. If I was in the sky no one would have been able to help her by phone because DH has no phone access at work. I'd have definnitely shot it if I was home. And, yes, I feel like I'm running an Assisted living center for my pets most days. Handfeeding the bird 4 times a day, Jetta's care, and the drooler's care, plus my busier work schedule has been daunting. But they're worth it. Most days anyhow :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 4/21 Jetta AMPS 180 +1.25 155 +2.5 61 +3 64 - not bounci

that makes a lot of sense - your explanation of why you didn't shoot the 127.

fortunately, no harm was done in the 27 - it would be ironic if it actually was helpful. :lol:
 
Re: 4/21 Jetta AMPS 180 +1.25 155 +2.5 61 +3 64 - not bounci

I certainly wouldn't advocate anyone try it intentionally but I have heard of a kitty that was in remission for 3 years following a serious hypo.
 
Re: 4/21 Jetta AMPS 180 +1.25 155 +2.5 61 +3 64 - not bounci

How wonderful to see you!!! Wow....you have a lot going on in your life, don't you?? Jetta's numbers look good today.....scary on the 27! I almost fainted when Zoe gave me a 37 :shock: :roll: ....she handled it just fine and I was better after I had some chocolate! ;-)

Will be watching for an update after Jetta's vetty visit.....good luck!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top