4/20 Zeke - AMPS 141 - Dosecrease; PMPS 118

Status
Not open for further replies.

MrZ

Member Since 2013
*** Edited to reflect the correct post for today.


Good afternoon LL and

Zeke's previous condo http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-11-zeke-amps-110-2-25-105-3-72.117060/

Well looks like Mr Zeke was trending upwards so I fattened his dose a bit last night. Didn't really seem to make any difference to his PS number this morning however. Seven days on 0.1u and doing really well and then on day eight, preshots started getting yucky. So back up we go again.

We’re still feeding him only 4%. Had been giving him some salmon treats but gosh now I think I’m gonna eliminate them. They shouldn’t be affecting his BGs but that’s about the only thing that has changed in the last week.

I’m curious. If it takes the insulin about three hours to kick in, why is it that sometimes Zeke’s BGs drop by +1? What’s very ironic is that often times we find that when Zeke has a lower PS number his BG rises at +1 but when his starting point is higher it tends to drop by +1. We’re feeding him exactly the same meal in either case.

Last weekend we tried a snack but it appeared that the snack made his PSBG rise. Since he was making such nice progress earlier this week, my thought had been that I would try the snack again this weekend. Unfortunately, Friday morning the yucky numbers started and I decided to wait to see if he’s numbers would settle back down before adding a snack to the mix. Unfortunately they did not. Hopefully, this fat 0.1u will get him back on track.

When I saw Zeke PS this morning, I had actually thought that perhaps I should go back up to 0.25u but with the 47 this morning I guess I just have to throw on the patience pants and see what Zeke can do with this dose. I know dosing decisions are based on nadirs but Zeke's nadirs are fine, it's the rising preshots that are my cause for concern and so for now are dictating my next move. Paws and fingers crossed this was the right move right now.

Here's a recap of what’s been going on with Zeke. Any advice greatly appreciated.

Today so far :
AMPS / 141; +1.25 / 110; +2 / 70; +3 / 47; +3.5 / 60

April 19:
AMPS / 124; +1.25 / 109; +2.25 / 86; +3 / 86; +4 / 68; +4.75 / 77

PMPS / 140; +1.25 / 112; +2 / 84; +3 / 56; +3.5 / 63; +5.5 / 73

April 18:

AMPS (25 minutes late) / 124; +1.25 / 115; +2.25 / 61; +3.25 / 55; +4 / 63

PMPS / 144; +1.25 / 114; +2 / 87; +3 / 65; +4 / 70; +6 / 81

April 17:
AMPS / 102; +1.25 / 120; +2 / 107; +3 / 81; +4 / 78; +6 / 82

PMPS / 110; +1.25 / 134; +2 / 119; +4 / 65; +5.25 / 90

April 16:
AMPS / 126; +1.25 / 108; +2 / 107; +3 / 84; +4.25 / 89; +7 / 96

PMPS / 97; +1.25 / 110; +2.25 / 88; +3 / 59; +4 / 63; +5 / 53; +6.25 / 77

April 15:
AMPS / 102; +1.25 / 110; +2.25 / 78; +3.5 / 65 ; +4.5 / 59; +6.25 / 60

PMPS / 90; +1.25 / 102; +2 / 112; +3 / 88; +4.25 / 74; +5.5 / 88

April 14:
AMPS / 104; +1.25 / 101; +2.25 / 61; +2.75 / 51 ; +3.75 / 56; +6.5 / 53; +7 / 77

PMPS / 112; +1.25 / 116; +2 / 98; +4.25 / 88; +5.75 / 87
 

Attachments

  • Happy Easter MB#3.jpg
    Happy Easter MB#3.jpg
    70.8 KB · Views: 207
Last edited:
Re: 4/20 Zeke AMPS 141. Trending up, dosecrease :-(

Hey Laura,

Good luck with the dosecrease. I especially feel for you since you're dealing with micro-dosing (which is putting it mildly). Do you use calipers to help you with that, or do you count drops? However you do it....you have my utmost respect! We struggled mightily with micro-dosing, despite all of the wonderful advice we received here. :YMSIGH:

Come on, Zeke, work that extra bit of juice!
 
Re: 4/20 Zeke AMPS 141. Trending up, dosecrease :-(

Good luck with the tiny increase!

I'm not sure I would have even tried! He's still getting really good nadir's and his pre-shots are well below renal threshold....sometimes they just throw us some wonky numbers now and then! Maybe he has a bit of "spring fever"!

Don't be surprised if you get a bounce later today too. Dropping from 141 to 70 in 2 hours (and then down to 47 in 3) is a pretty quick drop!

I see you are wondering about the +3 and +3.5 (47/60) Don't forget the 20% meter variance! Those numbers are basically the same number plus or minus 20%

In answer to your question though, yes, it's possible that the encounter with the cat outside would raise the number too!

Since he dropped below 50, are you going to go back down to the .1 dose?

Whatever you decide, Mr. Z is looking pretty darn good to me!!

Happy Easter!!
 
Re: 4/20 Zeke AMPS 141. Trending up, dosecrease :-(

Thanks Chris and Shelly for visiting.


Chris & China said:
Since he dropped below 50, are you going to go back down to the .1 dose?

I'm gonna hold the dose. I use the 3 drops below 50 approach for Zeke. He's been under renal threshold for some time so that's not the motivating factor.

Shelly & Jersey said:
Do you use calipers to help you with that, or do you count drops?

DH refuses to use the calipers and he does most if not all the week day shots so we just eye ball it. Frankly, I've tried the calipers and I find the difference between these really small doses to be impossible to distinguish (my eyes are shot). That may be why Zeke's numbers started deteriorating, cause we weren't being as consistent as we needed. We're doing the best we can.
 
Re: 4/20 Zeke - AMPS 141; Dosecrease (Updated Post)

Laura

I wouldn't have increased the dose. Remember, only a slight consideration is given to PSs when dosing. ;-)

Many things can affect a PS including a change in barometric pressure :lol: I laugh but actually I'm not kidding. I would love for you to focus on the nadirs and not fixate on the PSs. For some reason, perhaps he's not getting duration, maybe he's still bouncing a bit time to time, who knows? But please do not worry about the PSs as long as he is getting green nadirs. And remember as far as the green nadirs go, 50 is the same as 98 to Zeke's body. Normal is normal.

It's one thing to see the PSs varying; it's another if you start to see his nadirs trending up into blue. That is when I'd increase the dose. Otherwise, I'd let the 0.1u ride and let the cumulative nature of lantus work for you. I did see on the SS in the remarks that you wondered if shooting 24 minutes late matters to the PS. Nope. It won't. In fact, I never worry if I shoot 30 mins late or early and I might shoot 30 mins late one cycle and 30 mins early the next. You really aren't going to see a lot of effect if you are doing it occasionally.

He's looking great. Have faith :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

2008-02-21-2054-25.jpg
 
Re: 4/20 Zeke - AMPS 141; Dosecrease (Updated Post)

Marje and Gracie said:
I would love for you to focus on the nadirs and not fixate on the PSs. For some reason, perhaps he's not getting duration, maybe he's still bouncing a bit time to time, who knows? But please do not worry about the PSs as long as he is getting green nadirs. And remember as far as the green nadirs go, 50 is the same as 98 to Zeke's body. Normal is normal.

Thanks Marje. I know that's what I should do but it's very difficult for me to see him lose any ground (from my perspective). I was hoping he could continue with numbers under 120 so that I would feel more comfortable introducing a +9 snack to see if it can help his numbers any. I would love to see a nice mid-green flat curve; that's what I'm hoping for with this dosecrease. My guess is he's maybe getting an extra drop. The patience pants were starting to cut off my circulation so I just had to losen them a bit.
 
The patience pants were starting to cut off my circulation so I just had to losen them a bit.

well I certainly know that feeling since I am the queen of impatience. I wouldn't worry about the +9 snack right now. When he's green for all but his PSs, then lets try it again.

You could always switch to levemir because quite often the PS IS the nadir so then you can raise for a high PS. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: totally kidding!!!!
 
Marje and Gracie said:
Feel free to publicly chastise me if I'm wrong :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

OMG!!! Never!!!

Really it was just a teeny tiny increase. Holding my breath to see what happens.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top