4/20 Tyler AMBG 89 +1 82 PMPS 346 +4.5 80

Status
Not open for further replies.

Brian & Tyler

Member Since 2014
Yesterday's Condo

Ive never had an AMPS this low, shooting on low numbers says to "stall" please advise I am EXHAUSTED! Haven't been able to sleep, running on 2 hours of sleep right now, I don't know if I can stay awake!

Testing for BG took 3 times, his ears seem to not been wanting to bleed lately. He has a UTI, he isn't eating like his normal self last 24 hours... should I shoot?
 
Re: 4/20 Tyler AMPS 89!!! Do I shoot?

Normally, we would recommend that you stall without feeding and test 30 minutes after the first test. Can you do that? Have you fed yet?
 
Re: 4/20 Tyler AMPS 89!!! Do I shoot?

i fed, but he didn't eat much. It's soooo early, I read the shooting on low numbers, but may have missed that part about feeding. I've yet to deal with a green preshot number
 
Re: 4/20 Tyler AMPS 89!!! Do I shoot?

You say you are exhausted, but does that mean you are going to sleep?
If you're going to be out of it, or fall into a deep sleep, then maybe it is best just to skip this one.

Even if you gave a BCS (one time reduced dose), you would still need to test at least the +1 and +2 afterwards, because he still has the depot of the 1.25 units that his body is working off of.
 
Re: 4/20 Tyler AMPS 89!!! Do I shoot?

If i can't sleep, I wont' sleep, no way to I want to jeopardize his already crappy health. I could see myself very easily laying down and going back to sleep, but I won't. Dealing with Tyler urinating all over my couch due to UTI, I have had more stress added to my already stressful situation, so sleep has been hard to come by. His ears aren't bleeding that well right now and I have been having to stick him 2-4 times to get enough blood for a test.
 
Re: 4/20 Tyler AMPS 89!!! Do I shoot?

I often have to poke more than once. I usually try to poke the second time right next to the first poke and then do the milking (very gently rubbing in an upward direction) on the other side of the ear to encourage the blood to come out.

Uh, I'm supposed to go to work today, and need to leave soon.

Are you going to do another test and see if you're going to shoot or not?

If he has come up a bit, it may be from the food he just ate. How flexible is your shot schedule? If you shoot one hour late this morning, then his next shot will be 12 hours after the one this morning, if you shoot. You can slowly adjust his shot time back to regular schedule in 15 minute increments.
 
Re: 4/20 Tyler AMPS 89 +1 82 Do I shoot?

Thanks for your help, he ate a tad, seriously, not much at all, and went down.
 
Re: 4/20 Tyler AMPS 89 +1 82 Do I shoot?

Are you saying you tested again, and his numbers went down? What is the test number? It's not on your ss.

I actually have the flexibility today to go in one hour later, so can stay with you for another hour.
 
Re: 4/20 Tyler AMPS 89 +1 82 Do I shoot?

Ah, I see in your Subject Line now.

How flexible is your shot schedule? Can you test again in an hour, and if you shoot at +14, would that work into your life shooting 2 hours late tonight and tomorrow until you slowly get it adjusted back to normal?

I know I sound like I'm encouraging you to not shoot, but if you're exhausted, you've never shot a green, and he's not eating much, then maybe you should skip the shot this time. There will be other greens to shoot when he is feeling better and you are more rested. It's your choice. If you shoot (whether full dose or BCS), put on the coffee, and keep posting and editing your Subject Line so that others who will come on later can help you.
 
Re: 4/20 Tyler AMPS 89 +1 82 Do I shoot?

no. I have to work tonight. I just tried to give Tyler his AB pill... oh probably like 9 times before I had to accept that the effing pill is not going down. I guess he will have a giant sky high +2 with no shooting done. I am not going to shoot.

Thanks for your help, have a good day at work.
 
4/20 Tyler AMBG 89 +13 82 did not and will not shoot in AM

Good job on taking the 911 off. Since you did not shoot, then change your first Subject Line to be AMBG 89 and +13 82. AMPS means you gave the insulin.

Since you did not shoot, you can adjust your shot time if you want to. Meaning you don't have to wait until +24. If you normally shoot at 5 and 5 and you would like to change your shot schedule to 4:30 and 4:30 or 4 and 4, you can do that now.

I still would talk to your vet about the BID of Baytril.

J.D. is getting his one 22.7mg at night and probiotics in the morning. When I first found out that J.D. had been prescribed Baytril, I was all worried about it and then found out that 22.7mg a day, was okay.
 
Re: 4/20 Tyler AMPS 89 +1 82 did not and will not shoot in

Hi Brian,

Don't worry about the skipped shot. We skipped a few shots, too, when Jersey was low. It's scary shooting that low - especially when our kitties don't want to eat. Tyler's numbers might be higher later today, but he'll get back on track quickly. (When we skipped the PM shot on 4/2, Jersey was high the next morning but back to green by the end of that cycle!)

Shelly
 
Re: 4/20 Tyler AMPS 89 +1 82 did not and will not shoot in

I suspect what you're seeing is the result of the AB doing it's job. When a kitty has an infection, it is a stress on their system. As a result, BG numbers go up. When you treat the infection, the numbers can drop -- sometimes by a good amount and they can drop quickly.

Right now, shooting green numbers may seem like a frightening prospect. You'll be able to confidently shoot those numbers as you go forward. For now, you've shot in the mid-100s. Think about what the next lowest number you would comfortably shoot would be. Many of us will shoot anything above 50 provided we can monitor.
 
Re: 4/20 Tyler AMBG 89 +1 82 did not shoot this AM

Brian, I agree with you skipping the shot today! It sounds like you're totally stressed out, exhausted and running on less than fumes, so take the opportunity to GET SOME SLEEP!!

Tyler will be ok with skipping the shot, and will get back on track soon enough. It's just as important for you to take care of YOU as it is for you to do what you can for him.

You can change your schedule tonight if you want to too (as Dyana said)...of course you don't have to if you don't want to!

Next time you run out to Petco or Petsmart (or ?) pick up a Pill Gun. Sometimes they can make a world of difference in getting the pill down!

With China, I grab her by the scruff with my left hand, put the (already loaded) pill gun into her mouth and push the plunger (get it as far back in the throat as possible)..then I blow on her nose (it makes them swallow) or you can "chase" the pill down with a little water too

It takes a little practice, but once you've got it down, it'll be a lot easier for both of you.

You can also try putting the pill in cheese, or coating it in butter. Butter makes it slide down a little easier.

I hope you can get some rest today. Tyler will recover, but he needs his best bud (YOU) to take care of yourself too!

Edited to add..Brian..are you warming Tyler's ear before you try poking it? It can make a world of difference!! You can put a little rice or oatmeal into a small sock (like a tablespoon) and microwave it or a pill bottle with warm water in it will work too (as well as giving you something hard to poke against). Just test the temp on your wrist like you would a baby bottle to make sure it's not too hot first. If you're not warming the ear, doing it will make it much easier to get blood!
 
Re: 4/20 Tyler AMBG 89 +1 82 did not shoot this AM

Good idea to skip. You need to get some sleep too. You can't help Tyler if you are so burned out you can't think straight and it won't help your studies either.

If you decide to go w/ a pill gun you should always chase it w/ some water! Have you tried the pill pockets yet? Or some treat that he loves that is soft and can be wrapped around the pill?
 
Re: 4/20 Tyler AMBG 89 +1 82 did not shoot this AM

Ann's idea is a good one but I'll add to it. If you use a pill gun, give water FIRST, then the pill, then more water. Do you think he would eat pill pockets? They got rid of the FD friendly ones but I have given Gracie little pieces of the chicken ones and it didn't raise her BG.

Try to get some rest. His BG will come back down. It sounds like you both need a break and it's ok to take one.

2008-02-21-2054-25.jpg
 
Re: 4/20 Tyler AMBG 89 +1 82 did not shoot this AM

Another pill trick is to put the pill in an empty gel capsule. I give Max some Gerber's baby food (meat only, no onion or garlic) on a plate after his gel cap. He laps it right up. I hate chasing with water and only do that if he won't eat the baby food. I used to use a pill gun too. I would not get one that has a place for water as I am afraid he could aspirate. If I give water as a chaser I use a syringe. I hope you were able to get some much needed sleep.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top