4/20 Trixie PMPS 115 +1 125 +2 106 +3 102 +4 129

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amy&TrixieCat

Member Since 2011
Yesterday:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=41534

Yucky start today.

Is the difference between 1.0 and F1.0 enough to cause NDW?

I know we just increased her to the F1.0 last night, but should we go ahead to the 1.25 tonight, or now wait until at least 6 cycles have passed on the F1.0?

Trying to be patient, trying not to be frustrated and discouraged....

Have a great day, everyone!

And, as always, thanks for any advice or input.

Amy
 
Re: 4/20 Trixie AMPS 263 +2 312 - Dose Q again

Hi Amy,

I don't have an expert answer to your dosing question, just an opinion, and I just wanted to pop in and give you some support. Guinness and I are having the same issues with NDW and doses. I'm not a dosing expert, but from what I understand any new dose, a drop to an big increase can put a cat in NDW. I'm guessing a dosing adviser is going to tell you to hold the f1.0u and wait out the 6 cycles. It's a frustrating waiting game and 6 cycles can seem so long when the numbers are high. I'm having the same problem with Guinness. We increase the dose, nothing changes or just slight changes followed by higher numbers and we wait. I'm having a hard time giving up control of what is happening inside his body. I've done all I can at this point for him so it's up to him now and the diabetes (and whatever else is lurking in there). Try and stay focused (advice is aimed at myself too) on the big picture, giving his pancreas time to heal, so that if he is finally freed from the insulin, it will have a better chance of working without it.

Keep your chin up, you are doing all you can at this point. Your kitty loves you for it.
 
Re: 4/20 Trixie AMPS 263 +2 312 - Dose Q again

Thank you for the kind words, Linda. It helps tremedously. The frustration is kicking in this week because she was starting down a really nice path right before her dental last week; since then, things have gone haywire. And I knew they'd most likely go haywire after the dental...but it is discouraging to have had a great run and now have yucky numbers. But, if she had a great run once, it can happen again, right?

Thanks again for your support...patience is a virtue.

Amy
 
Re: 4/20 Trixie AMPS 263 +2 312 - Dose Q again

Trixie can definitely get back to better numbers. Simon is a good example of that. Whenever any changes are made like putting him on an antibiotic or having a dental, Simon's numbers increase for awhile but then come back down to more normal numbers. It is very frustrating to see the higher numbers and it is also hard to be patient. I am the queen of trying to rush things along. I don't really have advice on the dose but you probably want to stay where you are for a little bit, but someone will come along that has better advice about the dose.

Have a good day and keeping fingers and paws crossed that things turn around soon.
 
Re: 4/20 Trixie AMPS 263 +2 312 - Dose Q again

Amy, I'm sorry you didn't get a response in time for PMPS last night. An increase is an increase, whether it is a drop or 0.5u. I think you'll find your answers in the TR Protocol and post on NDW. Please ask further questions if necessary after you read them.

I hope Trixie settles into the new dose quickly. I know it's frustrating, hang in there!
 
Re: 4/20 Trixie AMPS 263 +2 312 - Dose Q again

Hi guys .. I'm sorry you are feeling so discouraged .. it happens to all of us .. And it is hard to just sit back and wait for something to happen, but that's all we can do .. Trixie is doing the best she can and so are you, and you are both doing great .. just hang in there ...
 
Re: 4/20 Trixie AMPS 263 +2 312 +4 250

Thanks guys. Will hold her at the F1.0 for at least the 6 full cycles...

Off to work (it's actually fun, so I can't call it TBP!)

Amy
 
Re: 4/20 Trixie AMPS 263 +2 312 +4 250 PMPS 115

Holy moly, this cat is keeping me guessing! This is definitely one of those days that I wish I were home to test more, just to know what happened during the afternoon.

We've shot a 110 before, when she was at F1.25. Got lots of strips and HC on hand, just in case. I guess I know what I'm doing tonight!

Amy
 
Re: 4/20 Trixie AMPS 263 +2 312 +4 250 PMPS 115 +1 125

PJ Party tonight!! I'm right there with ya, Amy!! :) Glad to see your patience rewarded with a lovely number tonight. I swear, dealing with FD has given me a great sense of personal growth... both in terms of learning to be patient, and in learning to accept that I have to be okay with being in a place where I cannot control everything. This is my zen smile ---> :-D . LOL

Looks like we may be in for a long one!! ~O) ~O) ~O)
 
Re: 4/20 Trixie AMPS 263 +2 312 +4 250 PMPS 115 +1 125 +2 10

Hey Christie- I'm glad for the company!! Yes, this whole FD thing is probably the biggest test of my patience ever...apparently I've still got a little growing to do in that department :lol: ! With everyone's support here, though, we're getting there.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top