4/20 Shadow AMPS=240 ~ PMPS=403

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pat+Raja+Shadow (GA)

Member Since 2009
AMPS=62 ~3.0u Lev
+1=58
+2=56
+3=53
+4=53
+5=61
+7=68
+8=55
+9=48
+9.50=38
+10=40
+10.5=46
PMBG=60 No Shot
+1.5=94
+3=119
+7=154
AMPS=240 ~2.50u Lev (BCS dose)

Yesterday
Morning! I syringed some baby food for Shadow last night at about 11pm since he didn't seem to want to eat again (thank you Sienne for the Gerber tip!). By 3am when snack time rolled around, he ate some of his LC food on his own and likewise ate some LC breffis this morning. So twice in a row, he ate on his own and kept the food down! I decided to give him a BCS dose of 2.5u instead of the 3.0u that he had been on previously. Just in case he vomits or balks at solid food again today and his numbers start dropping. I didn't want to force him low with the 3.0u after yesterday's drama. I hope that was okay to do....

Thanks for the support yesterday...I felt like such a baby...but when he wasn't eating very well and his weekend was such a stressful time with the highs the day of the dental and the vomiting and coughing he was doing, well, I started wondering what was going on with him and all sorts of complications came to mind. I hope this is the beginning of his settling down and that he will be feeling better as the day passes. He seemed much better today, staying with me in the bathroom at first and then purring as I tested him. He did try to get away when the shot time rolled around, but now he is enjoying the cool air coming in from the screen door. Feel better Shadow boy!
Hope you are all having a great day ...it's Wednesday! Nice! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 4/20 Shadow AMPS=240

So Happy he is better!!! Guess he was just needing some TLC & attention in the eating area!
That works for us, as Moonie likes to be fussed over & hand fed sometimes...civvie too!
Guess the low numbers, & him not feeling great kept him from eating well, but I think you are passed that now! PLUS A Dose Crease!!!!Whoo Hooo!!
I never tried the baby food, but let me know which Gerber food is good, as we never know here in lantus land-Right??
Big Hugs from Us!! Feel good Shadow BOY!!! WE Lubs you!!xoxoxox
 
Re: 4/20 Shadow AMPS=240

Happy to hear Shadow is doing a little better. What a day you had with the low numbers. I'm glad the Gerber food helped and Shadow was able to eat some of it. Simon didn't want anything to do with the baby food when I gave it to him. Maybe I didn't give the flavor he wanted. Hoping your day is a good one and things get back to usual with Shadow. Congrats on the dose decrease.
 
Re: 4/20 Shadow AMPS=240

I'm so relieved that Shadow decided to eat a little bit of food on his own. That is surely a sign that he is feeling better.
And I'm with ya' on the reduced dose for today. He's had enough dramatic lows in the past 48 hours.

(((Hugs for Shadow and you!)))
 
Re: 4/20 Shadow AMPS=240

Hi guys .. boy, that sure was a nice run of numbers yesterday! I wish shadow would have ate better for you but at least now he seems to be eating on his own and that is a start, right? I know you were worried yesterday, but like Roni said, he probably just wanted extra TLC from his momma! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 4/20 Shadow AMPS=240

Great News! So good to hear that Shadow ate on his own twice. Come on Shadow, keep it up. :? Uhh, no I didn't mean THAT! Please! Keep it down!
 
AMPS=240 ~2.50u Lev bcs dose
+3=338
+7=397
PMPS=403 ~3.0u Lev

He vomited again at +8 and then vomited the baby food I syringed at dinner time. He ate crushed Temptations though. Just now, I syringed Friskies Mixed Grill in a few syringes with lots of water .....and gave him Omega 3 oil since he was hacking as if he had a hairball.
A hairball. what if this is what this is all about?

What if it isn't?
I was so happy to see him eat this morning and during the day a bit...not his usual amount, but he did eat on his own...
I gave him a 1/4 Pepcid in a greenie allergy pill pocket. It was after that that he vomited the baby food up.
I may just bring him to the vet again tomorrow to have blood drawn and to find out if they can shed any light on what might have happened with the dental. Or, if they can come up with something that will help him.
I hate to stress him out like that, but after all, they should be in a position to give me some ideas about what to do....
(loosing faith though folks......)
Back to seeing if I can do anything for him.....guess it will be long night....
 
Oh sorry Shadow is vomiting and not feeling well. I'd take him to the Vet if this keeps up and if he doesn't seem to be getting over whatever is happening. Good thoughts and vines for you and Shadow. Keep us updated when you can, Pat.
 
So sorry he isnt feeling well again..Take him to the vet but tell them you are staying with him, that you dont want to leave him there--I think that will upset him even more--Get an appt & have the vet see you & Shadow at a certain time & have them examine him while you are there--Like a Normal vet does!!
I dont like them keeping him all day for nothing!
Maybe he will feel better--See if he will eat again on his own--
Maybe the syringe feeding is irritating his throat..

Combo of bcs dose & temptataions & HC made his number rise..Hope he improves--
Hugs from us!
 
Pat --

The vet should be able to give you an anti-nauseant (e.g., Cerenia, ondansetron/Zofran). These are bigger guns than Pepsid and may help to break the vomiting cycle. I really think you need to get Shadow in to the vet to help figure out what's going on. I know you must be worried.
 
Thank you guys....have been reading about how some cats take awhile to get back into their normal selves after dentals. this has never happened to us before though.
He refused the boiled chicken....
I gave him some fluid from the cat food and that came back up shortly.....
sigh
One good thing is that he is not hiding....and not meatloafing.
He does look very sad though......
And BTW, Raja is not eating her normal amount now either!
So, I will start by bringing him to that same vet tomorrow and see if they can give me the cerenia to help him stop vomiting. I have been reading about lots of cats who seem to like the dry after dentals and they go off the canned foods....
And, I read that resting their stomachs is a good idea too....although it didn't sound that way to me at first.
maybe i will just stick with the Gerber baby food (also recommended in the things i have been reading) and see what they have to suggest for me tomorrow. I see no reason for him to have to stay there though....I hope that is not a suggestion...
Maybe there is irritation down his throat and esophagus ...an infection could be brewing too....let's see what they say tomorrow. Many thanks to you all for you help....and concern.... hugs to you all! :YMHUG:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top