4/20 Rupert PMPS 525,+2 444, sigh

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pip & Rupert

Member Since 2012
yesterdays red and pink day: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=69077

yesterdays icky numbers:

AMPS 432
+2 358.2
+6 257.4
PMPS 374.4
+3 313.2

So, big fat ungly red again this morning for AMPS, leading me to start thnking perhaps the f1.5 isn't quite enough... but wondering if maybe it's still bounce clearing.. and then blammo, yet again, another rather steep dive to the +2. 85pts an hour.. RUPERT! He looks great this morning. Had Wellness for breakfast, and then some EVO for snacks. he is BEBT, has reclaimed hiis primo spot on the couch (Oliver managed to scoop it last night and he was quite miffed!). Clear eyes, no lysine this morning (yet). All seems well in Rupie world and he seems unphased by the drop. Glad the insulin seem to be working.

Hubby is home today with a nasty cold so he'll be able to keep an eye on Emperor Swan Dive, although I'll be home for the usual +6 check.

Hope all is well in LL for everyone. Off out to feed the horsies now.
 
Re: 4/20 Rupert AMPS 468, +2 297,+3 192

+3 and 192. any doubts that the dose wasn't quite high enough are now gone! I'm off to work, hubby will test again. Feeding a bit of MC right now to slow him down a bit. Silly boy. Glad to see the blues though, hoping for a dip into the greens but in a less spectacular fashion please!!!
 
Re: 4/20 Rupert AMPS 468, +2 297,+3 192

Wow! What a dive there Rupert!! Yes looks like the dose is ok--
A bounce can take up to 72 hrs to clear, so put on the patience pants if you need...
Looked at Rupert's SS and looks like he does what Moonie does, gets green & then bounces for 2-3 days, then goes to nice number again..You will eventually find the right dose, he's getting better!
Good job, have a great day--Hugs & Lub from us! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 4/20 Rupert AMPS 468, +2 297,+3 192,+4 113

Thanx Roni! I am finally getting a handle on his patterns, I wish he wouldn't dive as much, but at least it's some action vs nothing at all which is good. What does confuse me a little is that I thought it was normal to have a bit of a food spike at about +2, but he never seems to do that, always seems to have a lower number at +2. I'm hoping this means that his pancreas is actually contributing to the process a little instead of his body relying entirely on the extra insulin to help him out. Not sure if that's logical thinking or not.

would be nice to get the bounces under control. He seems to clear them fairly fast though. Now, if he'd surf the rest of today in a nice blue zone maybe he won't overreact tomorrow/tonight. I have a suspicion I may be in for a long night (nice that it's a Friday and no work tomorrow though!).. and I'm totally happy with that. We are tentatively planning to go to a horse show May 9/10. would be gone for his PM shot and his AM shot the next day, but back that night. Am hoping his dose at that time with be a number that will be easily rounded down to something easy for the sitter to figure out! Then again, am I right in thinking that for those two shots I could actually pre load the syringes and leave them in the fridge ready to go? Thoughts/insights appreciated.
 
Re: 4/20 Rupert AMPS 468, +2 297,+3 192,+4 113

Nice recovery there Rupert! Obviously he is just checking out all floors to make sure everyone is accounted for. Those bounces are frustrating, but it looks like Rupert clears them like a champ.

Have a great evening Pip!
 
Re: 4/20 Rupert AMPS 468, +2 297,+3 192,+4 113,+6 52

well, as in true spectacular Rupert fashion we have hit the green floor again. and I mean HIT it, I'm surprised there isn't a serious dent.. and the landlord at the green lagoon is not gonna give his damage deposit back! Sigh. whilst I am ecstatic that Rupie hit the green, I wish it wasn't so dramatic. My 'trend' spreadsheet shows quite the massive dive. I think this one might be one of his MOST spectacular. Now, it remains to be seen how high he bounces from this one. Given that he got a 52.....which is sooooo close the 'magic' reducy number... do you think I should reduce tonight? guess I'll see where he ends up PMPS he's either going to surf along nicely for a little while... or (more likely) he's gonna head waaaay back up again. I think I'll be asking dosing advice this evening! He definitely seems to want a dose reduction every four days or so?!

wondering what number he'll throw at me this evening... are we taking bets again anyone?? hmmm. I'll go with .. a big fat high yellow.. let's pick 298... :lol:
 
Re: 4/20 Rupert AMP 468, +2 297,+3 192,+4 113,+6 52,+7 66 do

so. thoughts on dose for tonight???(not for another 4 hours) should I take a reduction? 9I know he only got to 52 but it's darned close especially given meter variance)

Right now he's on a f1.5 given that he didn't go dangerously low should I stay with that for one more cycle? should I do regular 1.5? should I go to 1.25??? Wondering if this constant dive/bouncing is him saying that he's just getting too much juice??? or should I hold the dose till he stops the diving? I'm pretty sure he'll go rocketing up after this last one so should I stick to F1.5 till it clears and then take the reduction??? (thinking out loud here).. but then if I hold thru the bounce and he dives yet again, he'll bounce again and we'll just keep going round and round (hey, that would be a roundabout instead of a roller coaster!).

Still all a bit confusing, he's doing this so fast that just when I figure I have an idea what's going on, he fools me again! If I didn't have any input from more experienced people I think I would go to a 1.25 and see if he can hold on with that. Scared to shave too much though and undo all the good work so far.

thoughts??????
 
Re: 4/20 Rupert AMP 468, +2 297,+3 192,+4 113,+6 52,+7 66 do

Pip says
Glad to see the blues though, hoping for a dip into the greens but in a less spectacular fashion please!!!

but Rupert isn't listening! Clearly he is looking forward to a fun weekend.
 
Re: 4/20 Rupert AMP 468, +2 297,+3 192,+4 113,+6 52,+7 66 do

I wouldn't reduce IMHO. The protocol states "under 50" for a newly diagnosed cat. Yes...with meter variance he "might" have been under 50 but he might also have been higher. You have the weekend coming up so I'd give him a chance
to really earn his reduction by going under 50. Plus....he's probably going to bounce.....maybe...who knows? ;-) ;-)
 
Re: 4/20 Rupert AMP 468, +2 297,+3 192,+4 113,+6 52,+7 6,+10

+10 and HOLY COW! :o :shock: bounced clear to the stratosphere. 462. Guess we'll hold the dose tonight as Majorie suggested. I know he's supposed to have a nice curve during a cycle.. but darn it all! this looks like a dirty great stalagtite on my graph!

should I be seriously thinking about looking into Lev if this keeps up? He didn't even get fed HC when he hit the low, just some 11% stuff (Wellness Chicken and Lobster). He's had nothing since +7. insane. Now I'm getting a little paranoid, because before when he had a super high number I would assume that he wasn't going to do anything too drastic at night, now I"m wondering just how hi and low he can get in one cycle. Then again, if he hasn't started diving by his +2 then he usually doesn't do anything too drastic so I tend to have a bit of a warning.. but these bounces back are nuts. I wonder how long this one will take to clear?

anyone else been thru this bouncy nightmare? any insights???

lolcat3.jpg
 
Re: 4/20 Rupert PMPS 525 (!)

ok ok Rupert, you win, you definitely are the king of the bouncers. Now give it up dude! holding the the f1.5 for tonight. good grief. He is looking a little haggard right now, still in the primo spot on the couch. Will be shooting and feeding in 10 mins.
 
Re: 4/20 Rupert PMPS 525 (!)

Ouch. Ouch, ouch, ouch. That is really hard to see. Rupert, bring that spaceship back to earth, nice and easy.
Liz
 
Re: 4/20 Rupert PMPS 525 (!)

These kids are crazy!
Dont blame Rupie too hard Pip. At least he got some nice blue & green & earned a reduction(maybe later) that he decided to have some celebration fun with Rosy. Rosy was in the yellow (only!) & bounced to the red floor last night! This drove her mumbean crazy & lost a night's sleep!
I dont know how other kitty's are so well behaved, ours are total nuts! :?
 
Re: 4/20 Rupert PMPS 525,+2 444

yes, we definitely have the rebels in the class of 2012 don't we?! So, at +2 he's at 444, still a nasty red, but at least it's not black and only a 40pt per hour drop vs the 80+ points earlier today. Looks like I'll get some sleep tonight, will check at +4 to make sure he's not doing circus tricks again, and go to sleep wondering what colour he'll explore tomorrow. wow.

again, I'm beginning to wonder if he might not be a candidate for switching to Lev. Guess we'll see how long this bounce takes to clear.
 
can anyone share any great success stories that started out with kitties as bouncy as Rupert is? just looking for a light at the end of the tunnel (even though we've only been at this for 3.5 months).. Wondering if he's showing ANY 'good' predictive signs in his spreadsheet or if it's suggesting he's just going to be like this forever??
 
Re: 4/20 Rupert AMPS 468, +2 297,+3 192,+4 113

Pip & Rupert said:
Am hoping his dose at that time with be a number that will be easily rounded down to something easy for the sitter to figure out! Then again, am I right in thinking that for those two shots I could actually pre load the syringes and leave them in the fridge ready to go? Thoughts/insights appreciated.

No you can't preload the syringes, I can't tell you why but the lantus stickies say so - also I think the actual lantus instructions say not to do that.

With the bounces I know most people try to avoid them being so nasty by stopping them dropping so fast with higher carb food but if I recall correctly you've been trying to do that without success. Have you tried using syrup instead?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top