4/20 Peepee amps 132 pmps-92+2-83,+5-69

Status
Not open for further replies.

Doreen and PeePee

Member Since 2009
Sienne and Amy, thank you so much for the food tips.

Back to shooting .5u. I quess I slowed our momentum a bit by shooting light. I didn't know you get more aggressive when at cat comes out of remission.
I'm going to get syringes with half unit markings on them today so I can be more consistent. Are they all short needles and does that make any difference?.

Doreen
 
Re: 4/20 Peepee amps 132

Wow, Peepee's numbers are looking great! I also use the Monoject short needles with the half-unit markings. To be honest, I have no idea if there is a difference...we've always used the short needle! I would think, though, that since kitties are so small, the short needle probably the best choice for them.

Have a great evening!!!
 
Re: 4/20 Peepee amps 132

I use Monojects with a short needle and get them through ADW. (There's a button at the top of the board so that FDMB gets a rebate.) Gabby is a short haired cat so the needle length never made a difference. I think that some of the members here who have long hair cats like the longer needles better.
 
Re: 4/20 Peepee amps 132

Hi Doreen & Peepee,

The calipers really help with consistency, especially when you are shooting very small doses. The short needles work great, even with long-haired cats. I used to use Monojects, but got increasingly frustrated: it was impossible to gauge the correct dose because of alignment problems caused by the structure of the syringe itself. I switched to Terumos and although I found them tricky at first, I got used to them. The problem with the Monojects is that they have a "cone", and if the base of the needle doesn't come all the way down to the bottom of the cone, insulin can "hide" in the cone and make your dose larger than you intend. Since each syringe can be different, you never really know what dose you are giving. This is only a significant problem with small doses, and it looks like Peepee's dose is small. Here's a picture I drew of the Monoject syringe, pointing out the problem.
https://docs.google.com/document/d/18Sy-_ED9Vi_119OVGEF71zZ0PM6op2R_07oz578xaWU/edit

This is my first visit to your condo. Welcome back (but I'm sorry that you had to come back!)

Have a good evening,

Ella & Rusty
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top