Hey guys! So we recently managed to (finally...grr) get Leko's hyperthyroid into range with meds. We had to switch to a liquid methimazole that appears to affect his BG. I'm not sure he was ever really regulated before that, but now it's worse.
With vet's approval, we upped his lantus dose a bit (from .5u to something like .65 - the plunger on the fat side of the .5 line). He's been on that dose for about a week now. Did a curve today.
The dose increase doesn't appear to have made much of a difference to me. Curious what you guys think. Technically, the +4 105 on 4/11 would have indicated we shouldn't increase his dose. Today's nadir was +4 122.
The thing is, he's still having symptoms. Lots of drinking and peeing.
The methimazole is mixed into a liquid suspension. Ingredients are aspartame (5mg per dose), silica gel, and tuna-infused canola oil. The pharmacist says the amount of aspartame is small and "shouldn't" be a problem, but could be and he can mix without the aspartame.
With vet's approval, we upped his lantus dose a bit (from .5u to something like .65 - the plunger on the fat side of the .5 line). He's been on that dose for about a week now. Did a curve today.
The dose increase doesn't appear to have made much of a difference to me. Curious what you guys think. Technically, the +4 105 on 4/11 would have indicated we shouldn't increase his dose. Today's nadir was +4 122.
The thing is, he's still having symptoms. Lots of drinking and peeing.
The methimazole is mixed into a liquid suspension. Ingredients are aspartame (5mg per dose), silica gel, and tuna-infused canola oil. The pharmacist says the amount of aspartame is small and "shouldn't" be a problem, but could be and he can mix without the aspartame.