4/20 Cain PMPS 420; +2 408; +6 373

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jennifer&Cain(GA)

Member Since 2013
Yesterday's thread

Hello!

It's been a rough morning. Cough kept me up and I got a little sleep, but we had to run errands to get more cat food, more cough medicine for me. Shot ended up being 40 mins late. Would have been closer to ontime but Cain wouldn't let me test even with his face in the food bowl stuffing his face. Finally got enough blood for the meter. How this cat has such cold ears all the time I don't know. He doesn't let me warm them much either until I'm scratching them.

AMPS is 232. He didn't have food for quite a while cause I ran out early this morning. Misjudged how little they would eat of the cans I had left. Apparently some flavors are no longer wanted as much.

Edit: Woops forgot the link to yesterday's thread
 
Re: 4/20 Cain AMPS 232; +2 344

+2 is 344. (I think it's +2. I'm a little off today. >_<)

I poked myself. ohmygod_smile On the plus side, I got to find out what my blood sugar level is. I tested it after Cain's was tested. :) He was all sleepy while I tested him so I hope it wasn't stress increased.
 
Re: 4/20 Cain AMPS 232; +2 344

+6.22 is 371.

Sleepy Cain is the best time to test. His ears are all warm already.

Is it a bad thing to drop the meter? I've done it like three times already. I think it was three. Should I recalibrate it or something after each drop?
 
Re: 4/20 Cain AMPS 232; +2 344; +7.? 371

Hi Jennifer, well, I've dropped the meter a couple of times too. Oops. :roll: The manufacturer provides control solution to verify correct operation. We ordered ours at ADW. That is nice when they have warm ears. :-D
Liz
 
Re: 4/20 Cain AMPS 232; +2 344; +6.22 371

Ah cool. I'll have to order some soon. Particularly if I drop it again. :)

I figured the time out wrong for the last test so I fixed it.
 
Re: 4/20 Cain AMPS 232; +2 344; +6.22 371

hehe It's Jennifer. :) Though Linda is my mom's name. That's a good guess. :D

Should I considering changing the dose soon? Or maybe I'm messing up on injecting or something. I'm picking the side of the stomach.
 
Re: 4/20 Cain AMPS 232; +2 344; +6.22 371

ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile I'm so sorry, Jennifer!

From the Tight Regulation protocol:
Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles).

Also...note that it says "consecutive". When we give w fur shot, skip, stall, etc, then the cycle count starts over again because the depot drains. You can see his numbers went up after the fur shot. Tonight will be the sixth consecutive shot. If he doesn't come down, I'd increase his dose to 1.25u tomorrow.

Are you testing his urine for ketones?
 
Re: 4/20 Cain AMPS 232; +2 344; +6.22 371

No worries. :)

I'm trying to test for ketones. He's been a ninja today with the litter box. Fighting off a bad cold isn't helping.
 
Re: 4/20 Cain AMPS 232; +2 344; +6.22 371

I saw you are sick...very sorry! I hope you feel better soon. It's no fun dealing with all this when you don't fell well.
 
Re: 4/20 Cain AMPS 232; +2 344; +6.22 371

I forgot to get the +9. >_< Can't wait till this cold is over with.

I'm planning to shoot close to my normal time today. Since I was late today (by 40mins), I just move it back thirty minutes?
 
Re: 4/20 Cain AMPS 232; +2 344; +6.22 371; PMPS 420

PMPS is 420.

I got two numbers again so I averaged them. Numbers were 454 & 387. Same blood droplet, mostly, and just about ten to fifteen seconds apart. I gave 1 unit of insulin thirty minutes earlier than than the time I did this morning, so it's closer to the usual time I've been shooting lately.

How do you know if the two numbers are in 20% of each other? Even though I took a lot of math in college, it's not my strong point. Is there a formula for figuring this out? I should probably google this.

And Cain did not want to test at all. He wanted to eat. I tried a new position that was suggested that I rested him between my legs facing me, but I wasn't trying to squeeze him. So I'm wondering, since he can be like this in the morning sometimes too, can I feed him then test then shoot? If I test right after he eats? Would it skew it any? He's a bit more amicable after he's stuffed his face after waiting to eat for so long.

I'll get another test before bed tonight.
 
Re: 4/20 Cain AMPS 232; +2 344; +6.22 371; PMPS 420; +2 408

PM +2 is 408.

I'll be up another thirty minutes or so drinking some mint tea with honey. :) Trying to get these coughs down so I can sleep.
 
Re: 4/20 Cain AMPS 232; +2 344; +6.22 371; PMPS 420; +2 408

If he was 454 at PMPS and now he's 408, he may be coming down from his bounce, albeit slowly. Can you get a mid-cycle test in tonight? Maybe, set your alarm for a +6? Sorry, if you don't feel well, I hope you over your cold soon.
 
Re: 4/20 Cain AMPS 232; +2 344; +6.22 371; PMPS 420; +2 408

Thanks for all the well wishes for getting rid of this cold. :) Now if this cold will listen.

Yeah I can set an alarm for +6. I should set my cellphone too. Cain will probably wake me up around that time looking for food anyways.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top