4/20 Asher

Status
Not open for further replies.

donnahc

Member Since 2011
Hi Kids!
Hope everyone is having a good day, didn’t get a chance to check or post today until now.

Well as I am sure you can all guess, Asher knew we were gonna make a change, and so this morning gave us some lower amps. But I thought it was high enough to increase so we went for it.

Here is today’s picture:

Had a snack overnight at 4am, tested 2 hours later
amps 216, shot 2.5 units
+6 225
pmps 214, shot 2.5

So we’re lower today overall which makes me less anxious, but we had no nadir to speak of...or that we know of.

I am going to test him overnight tonight. When might be a good time to do that, like the usual +6, +8?

I am fully aware it might take a few cycles to see if this dose will do anything. And if you think I need to go to 2.6, let me know that too. I want to keep some pressure on and not back off like we have in the past sometimes, but safely of course :mrgreen:
 
Sounds like you gave it under control!

I hope the 2.6 is the magic dose!
 
Well, I'm no expert and Asher likes to be unique, but I think your thought to hold this dose is good. He got very nice pre shot #'s today.
 
I don't think I would have increased on a lower PS, probably would have held the dose. Now you have a bit of an inverse curve.

Although you havn't had a pink in a while you also havn't had a blue in a while.

It will be interesting to see how this dose settles in. Fingers and paws crossed for a breakthrough.
 
Hmmm, I do like it better when there's a discernable nadir. I'm not sure this in really inverse, it's probably flat, but still... hmmmm. It's good he doesn't zoom too much and you aren't seeing high PSs, but it certainly makes the #s a puzzle, at least to me.

:dizcat
 
Damn, so I screwed up increasing then? I know it was only 2.4 to 2.5 but still, I wanna do the right thing :(

I don’t know that we have an inverse curve in that Asher snuck into his brother’s food about an hour to half hour before we tested him mid day, so if he want up a little mid day, I would guess it was the food. He didn’t eat much, a few bites until Tom caught him. We were trying to be careful with food and testing but you know how it goes some days with more than one cat.

Ok so I guess we stay here for now? I’ll get mid cycle numbers overnight and at least one mid day tomorrow.
 
When you increase by .1, it can NOT be interpreted as screwing up. :mrgreen: Besides, who can tell what Asher will do? Data gathering.....
 
Hi Sue, we are missing you already!!! :mrgreen: But we're workin' hard to fill your shoes bcatrun_gif

Hope you are having a nice vacation!
 
No you didn't screw up you just took a different route than I would have. It is all information gathering. Some things work for some kitties and some things don't.

That is the beauty of our PZI forum, everyone has a different approach and style and experience, we offer our opinions and you get to choose what you think will work for you and Asher.

And Joanna is right, it is more flat than inverse, it is a little tiny bit inverse and that could have been food.

So we're all good.
 
Yeah I guess. I know it’s not a huge increase.

I don’t know what is with these flat numbers all day. I am SO glad they are lower today, but even so it’s weird.

I wonder if the food is a factor here. He is a hoover usually, so total free feeding might not be a good idea.

He is 19 lbs and I think that’s plenty even tho he is a big dude generally. (he was 21 before diabetes) His brother lost the same amt of weight switching to wet food since Jan also, which I thought was interesting.

We are feeding 3/4 of a 3oz. can (per cat) for am and pm feedings and a snack or two mid day. We also do a snack at night if he asks for it, or if I get up to test.
I tried leaving some food out but he won’t go downstairs at night to eat wet food, and during the day he’ll eat his brother’s food or keep pesting for more if his dish is out.

Feeding twice a day with snacks seems to work best for us...unless maybe I need to do something else for better numbers?
 
When I really wanted Squamee to eat I kept a plate of her wet food in my bedroom at night---and also wherever else I thought she might be likely to eat! :mrgreen:
 
Well, everynight I bring to the bedroom cubes of frozen chicken in a little plastic container that thaw by the time he asks for food at 3 or 4am, or if I need them for test treats.
As for wet food upstairs, we never tried that.

We started doing the petsmart feeder during the day for snacks but I felt like he was eating too much (pushing his brother out of the way) and when we r home it seems easier to give food and police who eats what. If we have to be away mid day, certainly I’d use the feeder. He knows the noise and will eat from it.

I guess what I am curious about is if for his size and what insulin he is on, is 6-8oz of food good (not too much, not too little) in a 24 hour period.
My last vet told me he could have 10 oz per day of the canned prescription food.
 
Yeah, we’ll feed them anywhere, no doubt. Alby likes to eat alone since his brother mooches in on him, so in the mornings, I feed Alby on the kitchen table and Asher on the floor. It gives Alby peace for a little while anyway.

Don’t be too grossed out. We rarely eat at our own table. Tom and I usually eat in front of the fireplace or at our desks. It’s sad I know ;)
 
We gave Oliver (16 pound Maine Coon) 3 cans of Fancy Feast a daily while he was unregulated, then cut it down to 2.5 when regulated. But his activity level was low; Asher sounds more active. Feed as often but a little less each time?
 
Good morning...
Just a quick post before the start of the day.

Tested overnight and our +8 was 250.
Chicken treat after test at 2:30 am
This morning amps was 273.
Gave 2.5 units again.

I have to go help my Mom today but Tom will get a mid day number for us.

Have a great day everyone!
 
Feeding. Maisey is a ballerina - all legs and lean long body. She normally ran 10-11 lbs. went down to 8 and is now up to 9.2. She eats 1/2 can ff at 5:30 am and another half at 7:30 am/ splits cans with Pumpkin and a half for brother Vinney who will reluctantly eat some. I mix a bigger can of cowboy cookout with 1/2 can of water and freeze into 3 cupcake slots and each kitty gets one of these in a bowl when I leave the house at 8am. Each then gets 1/2 can ff at 5:30pm and before bed 9-10pm. With this Pumpkin is looking less Pumpkin shaped , Vinney is maintaining - he's a big boned boy - tall and long and 14-15 lb. Vinney likes the wet food more now that I dilute it for him.
 
You might check out Dr. Lisa's info on how much to feed. I think she used to say specific amounts per weight, but has changed that to letting them eat what they want, if I recall right.

What you said doesn't sound like a lot to me, but if he's that big and not losing weight, hard to believe it's not enough. I thought big cats needed more like 5oz 2x/day and small kitties 3oz 2x/day, but I'm pretty vague on stuff like that.

Years ago when I got sick of the "we'z huuuuuuungry!" meows in the wee hours I switched to freefeeding and have never looked back. Now I sleep through the night :). Funny they still meow some at "meal times" even with food in the bowl - guess it's some memory left-over (or hope for a different flavor maybe!)

YAY blue # in the SS, yippee!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top