4/2 Mousetrap, AMPS 391, PMPS 72

Mousiesmum

Member Since 2021
Can someone tell me what is happening here?

I am not following either of the protocols on the group here. Too hard for my little brain. Mousie seems to be not needing a shot in the evenings. Not sure if this will keep up.

She has had a UTI, E Coli confirmed. Is on antibiotics and Meloxicam. Not sure if either of those would cause BG dips??

She is on 2 units in the morning and supposed to be one in the evening, but I am not shooting if her BG is under 140.

I also don't want to mess around with less than one unit, and want to keep using the pen. For various reasons.... So don't want to be berated for my slack dosing protocols please....
 
Any kind of infection, inflammation, pain etc can cause the BG numbers to spike. If those are resolved, the BG numbers can come down.

Lantus is a depot insulin and likes consistency. It works best when the same dose is given morning and evening. Why not try 1U twice a day?

At some point however, she will need less than 1U and more than zero. I'm not sure how you will handle that without syringes.


Link to your previous post:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/17-3-mousie-amps-17-4-increase-do-you-think.244786/
 
No.... her levels are down of an evening. This is what I was asking about. She was on one unit twice a day, and the vet recommended changing to two in the morning and one at night as her levels were not dropping sufficiently.
 
If I went down to one in the morning, her BG wouldn't be as good during the day I am assuming... I haven't been testing her during the day for the last few days as I wanted to leave her alone a bit. She has had enough with all of the vet visits, and pokes and jabs and drugs.
 
FWIW I had a question the other day about whether a cat (mine) could potentially need 2 different doses of Lantus, one in AM and the other in PM. That logic doesn't exist with Lantus.
Because it is a depot insulin and not fast-acting, when you shoot different amounts, each shot stays in the body for like 6 cycles and makes things even more wonky because it isn't a steady amount in the bloodstream, it keeps getting varied. Lantus isn't an insulin that goes out of the body in 12 hours, so when you introduce different doses of the hormone, you confuse the body.

You will get more consistency between AM and PM when you shoot the same doses. And, over time and with more data, you will see this. My concern with your low PMPS numbers is what is happening to cause that (and from what I can see it's only a few times so far) - I don't think you have enough pattern yet to be able to determine how he got the low PMPS numbers....was he low earlier/is he sliding/is he going low and it is not getting caught and this is actually his number on the way back up, etc. In fact the high AMPS and low PMP could even be b/c there wasn't a consistent amount of insulin given. If you look at your chart (from how I am reading it at least), you seemed to have more consistency with numbers when you shot the same AM and PM, from what I can tell.

Bhooma will have the right guidance for you.

Here is my post and answers I got for my cat: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/3-31-pearl-pmps-121-2-146-4-5-105.245507/#post-2770153

I hope this makes sense and is helpful.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top