4/2 Moe: AMPS=351;+2=390;+3=375; urine culture results/vet convo;+9=344

Spoke with the vet this afternoon. Moe’s urine culture was all clear, so still no immediate cause for his continuous and non responsive high glucose. Next options are either to do an ultrasound (~$450) to look for a tumor or other abdominal abnormality. Or do a (long overdue) dental. He’s got tartar build up and probably some resorption so extractions are likely. That will probably run close to $1000. Vet is also concerned about possible IBD.

She did suggest that I give the 3.0 units dosing a couple more days and if no improvement to switch to my other vial of insulin on Saturday morning. Start at 1.0 unit then increase to 2.0 for evening dose if he stays high during the day. Then 2.5, then 3.0 if his BG doesn’t come down.
 
Last edited:
As usual, I'm not 100% in agreement with the vet. ;) I would give the 3.0 units the full six cycles. You are slowly getting rid of those darker colours. Then I would not reduce, and give the new vial a try, without a reduction in dose. Is there any reason you can think of the current vial might be off? Does it look clear, no floaties, always been in the fridge? So often, it's not the vial, but rather the cat that's the issue. A dental needed can indeed make it harder to regulate.
 
As usual, I'm not 100% in agreement with the vet. ;) I would give the 3.0 units the full six cycles. You are slowly getting rid of those darker colours. Then I would not reduce, and give the new vial a try, without a reduction in dose. Is there any reason you can think of the current vial might be off? Does it look clear, no floaties, always been in the fridge? So often, it's not the vial, but rather the cat that's the issue. A dental needed can indeed make it harder to regulate.
My current vial looks fine to my naked eye, but she said she’s had some cases where the vial has lost efficacy.o_O She recommends reduction because if it’s the vial that’s bad we don’t want to put him into hypo with a suddenly powerful dose.
I’m leaning towards dental instead of ultrasound, because he’s needed it for two years (finances did not permit).
 
Back
Top