4/2 Merlin AMPS 458

Status
Not open for further replies.

Merlin

Very Active Member
Good Morning. Yes, but now I feel like I am swimming again! Only thing, when I got up this morning, I found pee, poop and vomit in many little places. I think it is one of my other cats. She is acting a little funny and didn't want to eat this morning. She is digging on the floor so I put her in the litter box and she tries to pee but doesn't. I have transitioned all of the other cats (three) to low carb food so maybe she is reacting to that or maybe she has a urinary infection. Can't they all be healthy at one time (I have another cat that has abscesses)???

Anyway, high number this morning for Merlin but not as high as yesterday...yeah. I was pleased with the +7 number last night. Will test again at +3 today but until then, I am going to gym (after I clean up this mess) and take a break.

4/2 Recap:
Alpha Trak2
AMPS - 458; .6U
 
Has she ever had a problem with bladder stones? If she can't pee, you need to take her to the vet, it can be fatal in a couple days. I almost lost one to it several years ago. Seriously, it's dangerous.
 
Not a bad number for +3, right? Will test again at +6 and post.

Taylor is her name. Not sure but am fairly sure that she is the one that pee'd on my daughters bed (twice) early this morning. She does that when Alex is gone. I got her in a separate room with a litter box right now. She didn't eat this am but ate a couple of tablespoons of food just now. She also has runny poop. Will see in the next couple of hours if she pees, otherwise, she is off to the vet too.

I just got a voicemail from my daughter, Alex. Slugger, the cat with abscesses, went to the vet last Friday for a recheck and to get his blood drawn. We tested him for Valley Fever and it was positive. Valley Fever is not uncommon here in the valley (it is for cats though) and can be treated if caught early. He felt that Slugger was in really good condition when we caught it so hopefully, we won't have any complications. All our cats (four of them) are inside cats so I can't believe he caught this. The vet said that most cats are in really bad shape when they find out that they have Valley Fever. It is also rare for cats to get it, mostly humans and dogs get it.

4/2 Recap:
Alpha Trak2
AMPS - 458; .6U
+3 - 186
 
Wow, you have your hands full! Healing and positive vines headed your way for Taylor and Slugger. Keep us posted.

Merlin's +3 looks pretty good, but its a pretty steep drop again for a +3, so if you're able maybe a +4 or +5? If your hands are full with everyone else, you may want to give Merlin a little bit of extra of his LC food to smooth him out a bit.
 
4/2 Recap:
Alpha Trak2

AMPS - 458; .6U
+3 - 186 (ate a little after AM shot)
+5 - 136 (ate a little after +3 BG test)

Not bad so far. I am breathing so much better now. I think it would have taken me weeks to get down this low and it only took a day with all your expertise and advice. Probably shouldn't be so excited yet though as I know it can turn on a dime. Oh, and also I enjoy reading all your posts too. Looks complicated.

I may test at +6 just to see if it goes down a little more. If I don't, I will at +7 and +9 for sure. That should get us a good read, correct? Looks like the .6U is working.
 
Yep, looking good! I think the 0.6u is going to be a pretty good fit for the time being. :-D

Merlin might just be one of those lucky fellows that ultimately goes OTJ after a diet change and a good course of insulin. (ANTI-JINX!)
 
4/2 Recap:
Alpha Trak2
AMPS - 458; .6U
+3 - 186 (ate a little after AM shot)
+5 - 136 (ate a little after +3 BG test)
+7 - 231 (did not eat this interval...been sleeping)

Is this latest number expected?
 
If you want to take a pokie break, I think that's fine. He's not going down any further. You've got some good data here. :-D Hopefully he's not through the roof at PMPS time.
 
He is starting up which is normal, but a little bit faster than we might like. I think we figure this cycle is going to be a little off, since it started with a big bounce. Unless he is really high tonight (say in the 400s) i'd give the .6 another cycle to see how things look.

Think of this process as data gathering. You are getting numbers so you can look back and see which dose did what. It's hard not to get caught up in one cycle or with one number, but it'll take awhile for his body to adapt and for you to figure out his patterns.
 
Alright, I am gained for that "pokie" break! If he does hit 400's, then what do you suggest? .8? Yes I thought that 231 came up fast too. Yesterday and today was the first time, since I don't know when, that he came out to the living and sat out on the couch with me for several hours. Usually, he likes laying on his sleeping pad in Alex's bedroom near the door. Merlin also spent about 10 minutes cleaning himself while on the couch today. I have never seen him do that since he was diagnosed.

By the way, Taylor is doing better. I quarantined her into the laundry room and she eventually peed and pooped ok within a couple of hours. Must have just been a sour stomach or something. I guess I will have to closely watch her now too.

Tomorrow, I will have to leave the house for a couple of hours. First time in a long time. I am so glad that I am retired. I feel for those that cannot constantly monitor. That would really add to the stress.

So, I will post Merlin's PMPS tonight. Thanks!
 
Maybe .8 or maybe just try the .6 again. Let's see what the pmps looks like.

It's good to hear that he is acting like himself again. That is a very good sign. Pat yourself on the back, Mom. You are doing good! Glad your other kitty is feeling better too.
 
Re: 4/2 Merlin AMPS 458; PMPS 169

4/2 Recap:
Alpha Trak2
AMPS - 458; .6U
+3 - 186 (ate a little after AM shot)
+5 - 136 (ate a little after +3 BG test)
+7 - 231 (did not eat this interval...been sleeping)
PMPS - 169 (wow - what just happen? He ate two prior to this test.)

Wow, 169 is totally what I was not expecting? Any idea what just went on? Why would five hours before I would get a 231? I am thinking that I probably should re-test in one hour to see what the numbers are? He is hungry but I know that I shouldn't feed him until his next text. I know that it is late for you all but really appreciate your input. I thought I would throw out a couple of scenarios and my thoughts. Just want to see if I am close to your thoughts.

In 60 minutes perform another BG test:
* If less than 200 - no shot for the night
* if 300-400+ - .6 U
* I don't know if I would get a 200-300 range??? maybe .2 or .4? and then re-test in two hours? (I sure don't want to be up all night for fear of low numbers.)
 
That is interesting. I would retest in 30 minutes, see if it is rising. If 200, you can skip and sleep and deal with the larger number in the am. Or give a token dose, like .2 on your U 100s. He could jump up to the 300s but it seems unlikely. If so, then yes, .6. Go with your gut, what feels safest to you.

The change from +7 to 12 probably has to do with the bounced amps. Just a weird cycle, but better than 400 pmps.
 
Wow. That's wild, and awesome! That, to my eye, looks like a bounce clearing out and Merlin's pancreas bringing the glucose down on it's own.

You have a few options...since he went down, and as low as he is, I personally would not shoot that number as it stands. You could stall for 30 minutes without feeding, and see if he's rising. If he's rising slowly, or not clearly rising (if the number is pretty close to the same, or if it's within 20% of the last number), you have the option of continuing to stall for as long as you want, and as long as Merlin is not driving you crazy asking for food. ;-)

A lot of kitties on low doses of insulin or ones that are going OTJ basically "chase the numbers" or shoot when kitty's numbers go above a certain number. Otherwise, frankly, you might consider skipping for the night if a late shot is going to mess up your shooting schedule in the AM.

What are you thinking? I will be on for at least a few hours yet and can keep an eye on you two. :-D
 
4/2 Recap:
Alpha Trak2
AMPS - 458; .6U
+3 - 186 (ate a little after AM shot)
+5 - 136 (ate a little after +3 BG test)
+7 - 231 (did not eat this interval...been sleeping)
PMPS - 169 (wow - what just happen? He ate two hours prior to this test.)
30" - 397

I think I am going to test one more time. If I get this 300+ again, I will give him a .6U. This sure throws my confidence on the accuracy sometimes of the meter. I can't imagine that he jumped up that quick all in 30 minutes. Actually, this is a number that I was expecting for the PMPS anyway.
 
I would test again too. That is an interesting sequence of numbers....Wonder if the 169 wasn't a good test. It is a good idea to always retest if you get a number that isn't what you were expecting.
 
4/2 Recap:
Alpha Trak2
AMPS - 458; .6U
+3 - 186 (ate a little after AM shot)
+5 - 136 (ate a little after +3 BG test)
+7 - 231 (did not eat this interval...been sleeping)
PMPS - 169 (wow - what just happen? He ate two hours prior to this test.)
+.5 - 397
+1 - 396

Ok - looks like that 169 was a bad test. I am going to give him .6 tonight. I may try to get another test in a couple of hours otherwise, will see what tomorrow brings. Thanks again. Do you mind if I continue to post his daily tests until maybe I get comfortable?
 
We'd come looking for you if you didn't. :mrgreen: seriously, you and Merlin are part of our family now. We expect you to keep us up to date on Merlin's progress.
 
I second what Sue said! :-D We are like a little family. I keep tabs open on my browser of several ProZinc kitties to keep an eye on how things are going for them. If you don't have time to post every day, no sweat! Pop in and say hi when you can. Once you feel more confident in your knowledge of the various moving parts (food, testing, etc.), you'll find yourself popping in to help newbies on the Health forum with testing and food tips, or even just to post some reassurances and hugs. It's often times really helpful to new beans who are going through the emotional rollercoaster of a new diagnosis to hear from someone that it does get easier. :smile: I look forward to seeing what Merlin has planned for tomorrow!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top