4/2 Joey AMPS 376 PMPS 106

Status
Not open for further replies.

Brytny&Joey

Member Since 2013
Hi there,
I've just switched Joey to Lantus from Caninsulin yesterday am, giving him 1 unit 2x day (10am and 10pm PST). He tested tonight at 106 (or 5.6 mmol/L), since I don't have inbetween numbers I've decided to skip this shot. Am I correct in this? I've read the guidelines that say below 150 to not shoot but I just wanted to make sure!! I'm worried Lantus acts so differently than the Caninsulin.

Thanks!!
 
Yes, you did correct to skip the shot this time. Later, when you have more data, you will be able to give insulin at these numbers, but not yet. I would still probably try to get a test at +2 if you can, to see which way he is headed.
 
Yes, although a +2 would have been good to give you the data for the next time. Because you skipped he probably will be high this morning so don't panic!
 
Yes as the others have said right now without the data on how he is going to handle that dose on a lower than normal preshot number you are correct to have skipped the shot. He will more than likely be high this morning, so unlike with canisulin you aren't going to base this morning's dose off his preshot number, you will want to give just his normal 1u.

Going forward, if you find yourself constantly having to skip a shot for a lower than normal preshot number you might want to reduce to .5u and work your way back up to that 1u if necessary. Just so you can be consistantly giving 2 shots a day and thus collecting data on how he handles each increase.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
MommaOfMuse said:
Yes as the others have said right now without the data on how he is going to handle that dose on a lower than normal preshot number you are correct to have skipped the shot. He will more than likely be high this morning, so unlike with canisulin you aren't going to base this morning's dose off his preshot number, you will want to give just his normal 1u.

Going forward, if you find yourself constantly having to skip a shot for a lower than normal preshot number you might want to reduce to .5u and work your way back up to that 1u if necessary. Just so you can be consistantly giving 2 shots a day and thus collecting data on how he handles each increase.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang


Hi Brytny,

What Mel says is exactly what happened to me when my cat first went on Lantus - my vet did an overnight curve and found the duration was so long that they changed me to shooting 1u once a day. Unfortunately that made her morning numbers a lot higher than I thought they should be, so the good folks here had me switch to .5 twice a day and that's keeping her BG more reasonable overall.
 
OK Good to know, thanks all for the info! I will try to have that +2 checked as often as we can. His numbers were high today, and he got his 1u with supper at 10pm (PST). Getting used to the tiny syringes and weird Lantus pen/vials, I think! :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top