4/2 Jackson AMPS 296 +3 343 +6 392 PMPS 462 +3 329 +5 272

Skye & Jackson

Member Since 2022
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-345-pmps-392-2-275-6-104-7-124-8-136.275946/

After an eventful night, the increase is cancelled… again. I did give 2.25 units last night, but I don’t think it would have affected the curve/drop that quickly. There’s no way it built up a depot in just a few hours. So I figure that had to still be the 2 units. Right?

No decrease either. Lowest test was 104 - although that may have been influenced by the carbs I fed him. But I don’t really have a way of knowing, and I wanted to try to prolong the blues as long as possible (so he wouldn’t drop more and then immediately spike). By AMPS he’s back up there though.

I’m exhausted. Only got like three hours sleep. Back to bed for me.
 
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-345-pmps-392-2-275-6-104-7-124-8-136.275946/

After an eventful night, the increase is cancelled… again. I did give 2.25 units last night, but I don’t think it would have affected the curve/drop that quickly. There’s no way it built up a depot in just a few hours. So I figure that had to still be the 2 units. Right?

No decrease either. Lowest test was 104 - although that may have been influenced by the carbs I fed him. But I don’t really have a way of knowing, and I wanted to try to prolong the blues as long as possible (so he wouldn’t drop more and then immediately spike). By AMPS he’s back up there though.

I’m exhausted. Only got like three hours sleep. Back to bed for me.

Good catch last night! Go Jackson!
 
After an eventful night, the increase is cancelled… again. I did give 2.25 units last night, but I don’t think it would have affected the curve/drop that quickly. There’s no way it built up a depot in just a few hours. So I figure that had to still be the 2 units. Right?
Hi Skye, that stretch of blues last night is great and I think Jackson showed you what the increase can do and gave a great and safe nadir.
The 2 units have kept him in the yellows and pinks.
With a history of DKA and your note about glucose toxicity, if it were my cat, I would take him back to 2.25 and hold it for a week unless he drops under 80 (which is your customized SLGS reduction of point.) You definitely test enough to keep him safe :).
 
I didn’t think an increase could take effect that fast. I was just worried about keeping him at 2.25 if last night was a response to just 2 units.

If last night really was a response to the 2.25 - despite that being the first dose I had given of that strength - then I will go back to that dose tonight.
 
If last night really was a response to the 2.25 - despite that being the first dose
He's been on 2 since 3/24 and only showed you a few blues. They were higher blues and far and few in-between.
Some cats show movement in the first cycle of an increase. I don't think the beautiful string of blues you saw (great job catching those and feeding the curve :)) was the 2units, rather a reaction to the slight increase to 2.25. Have you made any other changes, for example food?
Hi Elise @tiffmaxee and Bhooma @Bandit's Mom , what are your thoughts?
 
I agree with Angela. I think the increase was needed and that was a beautiful cycle last night. Max was so sensitive that I had to increase and decrease in 1/8 increments and used digital calipers so the dose was as accurate as possible. Some cats show an immediate response to an increase and then settle in while others take longer than average to respond. I would not have reduced. I also would have fed lc at +5 and if flat stopped testing last night at +6. You didn’t need mc.
 
Some cats show movement in the first cycle of an increase. I don't think the beautiful string of blues you saw (great job catching those and feeding the curve :)) was the 2units, rather a reaction to the slight increase to 2.25. Have you made any other changes, for example food?
Hi Elise @tiffmaxee and Bhooma @Bandit's Mom , what are your thoughts?
I agree. The numbers you saw would have been in response to the increase. Like Angela said, sometimes cats react to the increase in the very first cycle. I would keep him on 2.25U
 
I was out (wasn't worried about him dropping since he’d been so high) and didn’t actually catch anything happening until +5.5, at which point I went “gah!” seeing 60 on the Libre and opened the can… and only then remembered to get an actual blood test. I’ve never had a sensor be off quite as much as this one is in lower numbers, so I thought he was probably actually around 80… not 108. Now I know, I won’t panic so much heh…though I know 80 isn’t actually bad at all, it looked like he was still heading downward from the “60” reading and I just didn’t want him to keep dropping… I thought feeding might encourage the bounce to hold off a little while.

I really didn’t think a cat could respond to an increase on the first cycle! He never has before. I will go back to 2.25 tonight. I agree that 2 units definitely hasn’t been working, I just was wondering if it was starting to (since I didn’t think the increase would affect yet).
 
Last edited:
As for food changes, yes, this last week he’s been on a new bag of YA that has 5% carbs instead of the Zero - and it has seemed to balance him out some. He’s started getting actual curves instead of flat-high or spiky each day. Him leveling out a bit that way does give me some more confidence for increasing doses more, because we’re not seeing so much of the deep dive/high spike activity now. (I’ve been trying to get him a few low carbs in his canned food too, but most of the stuff he actually likes is 0 to 3%, so that’s a bit of a work in progress.) He does seem to be a cat whose body needs a few carbs to forestall at least some of the liver panic.
 
@Skye & Jackson I think you're doing a great job! We've all experienced the reach for higher carbs with lower green :facepalm:. I'm glad you're going to take him back up to 2.25. It will be nice to see if it will replicate a stretch of blues like last night.:cat:
 
Well, we’ll have to see… looks like he’s bouncing real high tonight so far, but we’ll see if and how far he comes down. Yesterday’s nice blues may have been a combo of the increase plus being ready to come off a bounce, too.
 
Back
Top