Jen&Eddie
Very Active Member
Good morning! Chilly below freezing here today, but the sun is shining!
AMPS = 192 (+14)(1.8u)
+2 = 284
+6 = 255
+9.5 = 296
PMPS = 246 (+10.5)(2u)
+2 = 333
+4 = 250
Eddie had one of his famous long slow cycles last night. Looks like those bouncy hormones finally cleared out!
So to recap briefly, Eddie's nadir (maybe?) happened at +9 (2:00 AM @-) ), when he was at 69. It's possible he went lower, but mama bean went to bed. I figured DH would be up in three hours to check on him at 5:00 AM at +12. He did come to bed and woke me up about a half hour later, and then another half hour later, demanding pets, and being nippy. I briefly considered testing him again, but didn't. In hindsight, I wonder if I may have caught him dipping below 50, and earning a reduction for this scale. I also vaguely remember (or did I dream it?) that I heard someone puking, and it may have been Eddie.
Then, DH overslept. Which he never does. I can't believe the cats weren't all jumping on the bed to wake us up for breakfast! Eddie's AMPS test this morning didn't happen until +14, so he got a good surf in there between +9 and +14. Shot 1.8u at 192. Breakfast wasn't split this AM since our schedule was screwed up. At +2 he's up to 284, so maybe a little bounce in there, or maybe a big food spike. Either way, he's not dropping. Phew!
I'm hoping that as he "earns" reductions, his cycles will be less dramatic?
I have a new "theory" on Eddie's long duration cycles.
After watching his patterns the last couple days, I think sometimes, the long duration cycles that Eddie has is when he's clearing a bounce. If he clears out the "insulin resistant" hormones later in the cycle, onset is later, and nadir is later. If the zinc crystals have been doing what they are supposed to do, and gradually dissolving to release insulin, there's active, but unused circulating insulin that has not yet been metabolized. If the hormones that block the insulin receptors start to wear out, it allows all that active insulin that's been building up to go to work, which might cause a big drop later in the cycle, or cause the cycle to be extended. Or, maybe duration and absorption are completely random.
So, I'm wondering if I should assume there was a dip below 50 in last night's cycle to "earn" Eddie a reduction on pre-shots in this range? Or, do I see what happens with the same dose on another cycle, and hope to catch the dip?
AMPS = 192 (+14)(1.8u)
+2 = 284
+6 = 255
+9.5 = 296
PMPS = 246 (+10.5)(2u)
+2 = 333
+4 = 250
Eddie had one of his famous long slow cycles last night. Looks like those bouncy hormones finally cleared out!
So to recap briefly, Eddie's nadir (maybe?) happened at +9 (2:00 AM @-) ), when he was at 69. It's possible he went lower, but mama bean went to bed. I figured DH would be up in three hours to check on him at 5:00 AM at +12. He did come to bed and woke me up about a half hour later, and then another half hour later, demanding pets, and being nippy. I briefly considered testing him again, but didn't. In hindsight, I wonder if I may have caught him dipping below 50, and earning a reduction for this scale. I also vaguely remember (or did I dream it?) that I heard someone puking, and it may have been Eddie.
Then, DH overslept. Which he never does. I can't believe the cats weren't all jumping on the bed to wake us up for breakfast! Eddie's AMPS test this morning didn't happen until +14, so he got a good surf in there between +9 and +14. Shot 1.8u at 192. Breakfast wasn't split this AM since our schedule was screwed up. At +2 he's up to 284, so maybe a little bounce in there, or maybe a big food spike. Either way, he's not dropping. Phew!
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:There's the Eddie we expect to see. So how can we flatten out this pattern of a low cycle, a higher flat (or two) and a low again?
I'm hoping that as he "earns" reductions, his cycles will be less dramatic?
I have a new "theory" on Eddie's long duration cycles.


So, I'm wondering if I should assume there was a dip below 50 in last night's cycle to "earn" Eddie a reduction on pre-shots in this range? Or, do I see what happens with the same dose on another cycle, and hope to catch the dip?