4/2 Autumn Amps-110,+3-257,+6-229,+9-272,pmps-290

Status
Not open for further replies.

MommaOfMuse

Member Since 2010
Okay I broke down and gave her a fat zero just to hopefully help keep her from bouncing to the moon and back today...hopefully I'm not going to live to regret it, but if she is trying this hard to go OTJ I want to keep her on track and ease her off the insulin and give her pancreas as much support along the way as I can. Afterall I can sleep plenty when I'm dead.. :lol:

Plus I don't know how much of yesterday and last night was the lower dose coupled with her shed draining and how much was the new dose alone. She may still need that .25u once her shed drains out but after watching her nosedive to 37 off .25u last night, as gutsy as I am about shooting low to stay low, I just couldn't do a full dose this am. So opted for a Big Chicken Shot and a date with my pillow soon.

Em to answer your question about the 9-lives over Friskies, it goes back to that whole ECID some are very very sensitive to carbs, others not so much. Maxwell for example the rice in Friskies doesn't seem to bother him a bit and never did...he went OTJ eating between 6-9% carbs. Musette would fly all the way to the moon on the same carb range even if she just licked someone else's crumbs so I fed her the lowest carb range I could find in FF. Now with Autumn if this is what is going on with a simple switch to a lower carbed food then she is more like Musette than she is Maxwell. And it maybe that Autumn just can't handle any grain in any form without going higher, but might also be fine on something in the same carb range as Friskies as long as it is grain free. I had a civie like that the slightest hint of grains set him into an itching fit where he would rip his face apart, but the same flavors of food that didn't have any grain in it he was fine. He was able to handle the rice in Friskies but no other grains.

But I also have to consider that Autumn has gone through a lot of phyiscal changes as well...She just lost 8 teeth that were either broken off at the roots or just plain bad, she has gotten rid of 8 bbs for a shotgun (scatter shot) out of her face/chest and shoulder. And she has had a couple infections cleared up...all of which could have been contributing to her high BGs...And then again just like once she started getting healthy again her body was able to start rejecting those BBs it could be that her pancreas just decided to wake up in the last few days...Just don't know why she is suddenly deciding that she wants less and less juice. So all I can do is follow her lead, we may keep going down in dose until there is no down left to go...I may have to go back up again if she doesn't hold these reductions, or we may be about to call it quits on the juice altogether.

Maxwell went from 485, to riding in the 200s for the two weeks he was in foster care waiting for transport to nothing within a few days of getting home to us..ECID

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 4/2 Autumn Amps-110

Hope she stays put for you - I know you can use the rest. Thanks for the info about the food....I will have to take a look at the SS and see whether there's any difference on the days I've been serving the Special Diet Whitefish and Turkey (4-5) vs the others which are a bit higher. But I hadn't thought about the grain component....so its probably worth a try going with a week or so with of grainfree and seeing if that makes any difference.

Thanks so much for your explanation on this - I know you must be exhausted. Autumn has had a rough life for sure, but she's ended up in kitty heaven, I'd say. Hope you get some well deserved rest today.
 
Re: 4/2 Autumn Amps-110

One more hour until her +3 test and then hopefully a date with my pillow.. :lol: I past exhausted about 2am this morning...now I'm on to zombie, but I'm still Da Momma and the other babies think I should be up and moving. Well all put the drooler he wants to go back to bed too, since he stayed awake with me last night as well.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 4/2 Autumn Amps-110,+3-257

Suspecting that is finally her bounce after two low cycles between Sunday morning and last night, or it could still be all the Friskies Tasty Treasures she comsumed last night, either way she is high enough for mom to go talk to her pillow until the Overlords awaken her to serve their lunch.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 4/2 Autumn Amps-110,+3-257

MommaOfMuse said:
Suspecting that is finally her bounce after two low cycles between Sunday morning and last night, or it could still be all the Friskies Tasty Treasures she comsumed last night, either way she is high enough for mom to go talk to her pillow until the Overlords awaken her to serve their lunch.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang

Happy napping.....I guess thats why they call them cat naps - since its up to them how long you get to do it :)
 
Re: 4/2 Autumn Amps-110,+3-257,+6-229

Hi Mel,
Hope you're sleeping. A little scary last night, but at least you two had Chippendale memories. Keep it going green!
 
Re: 4/2 Autumn Amps-110,+3-257,+6-229

Doreen and PeePee said:
Hi Mel,
Hope you're sleeping. A little scary last night, but at least you two had Chippendale memories. Keep it going green!


I read back and its clear that I missed a really good time........
 
Re: 4/2 Autumn Amps-110,+3-257,+6-229

Wish I could say 1) I'm sleeping...but of course not...why is it when I really really need a nap everyone and their dog wants to call and chat for hours? or the Fur Gang decide to be complete idiots and knock everything all over the house? Or like today...BOTH! lol and 2) That playing hypo watch last night was my first time doing it...although last night was the very first time with any of my diabetics that I have had to pull out HC food and even think about pulling out the Karo because she just wasn't going to budge and come up and stay up. I have never ever had to do anything besides just feed up to stop her from diving until last night.

I have to tell you that the most beautiful sound in the world this morning was my tempermental little tortie girl screaming at the top of her lungs to be fed, because by the time I called it a night when she hit 60 she was done, she wasn't going to eat another bite, she was done being poked and woken up. And if she had dropped on me again it was going to be grabbing the Karo, thankfully she started up and kept going...whew! I was really worried that she was going to suddenly dive again before morning and I was just too tired to haul my hiney back out of bed to recheck her. So to hear her at the bedroom door when the alarm went off wanting her breakfast made last night all worth every sleepless moment.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 4/2 Autumn Amps-110,+3-257,+6-229

MommaOfMuse said:
Wish I could say 1) I'm sleeping...but of course not...why is it when I really really need a nap everyone and their dog wants to call and chat for hours? or the Fur Gang decide to be complete idiots and knock everything all over the house? Or like today...BOTH! lol and 2) That playing hypo watch last night was my first time doing it...although last night was the very first time with any of my diabetics that I have had to pull out HC food and even think about pulling out the Karo because she just wasn't going to budge and come up and stay up. I have never ever had to do anything besides just feed up to stop her from diving until last night.

I have to tell you that the most beautiful sound in the world this morning was my tempermental little tortie girl screaming at the top of her lungs to be fed, because by the time I called it a night when she hit 60 she was done, she wasn't going to eat another bite, she was done being poked and woken up. And if she had dropped on me again it was going to be grabbing the Karo, thankfully she started up and kept going...whew! I was really worried that she was going to suddenly dive again before morning and I was just too tired to haul my hiney back out of bed to recheck her. So to hear her at the bedroom door when the alarm went off wanting her breakfast made last night all worth every sleepless moment.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang

Wow - after all this time - a first....who'd a thunk it. Of course it was worth it, but I hope its a first and a last for you as well....and that you'll get some well deserved rest tonight.
 
Re: 4/2 Autumn Amps-110,+3-257,+6-229,+9-272

Of course today as mom is being a good kitty servant and caring for all her Meowjesty's earthly needs, where is she? Sleeping soundly in the sun on my sewing machine in the diningroom window....lol

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
I was actually expecting to see pink at the very least this pm with no more insulin than I gave her this am...so I'm tickled with the 290 for a pmps, if that is all the higher she is going to bounce off of both a near hypo on Sunday and on last night, I'll take it. At least she is high enough tonight that I could shoot through the bounce and sleep soundly tonight.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
MommaOfMuse said:
I was actually expecting to see pink at the very least this pm with no more insulin than I gave her this am...so I'm tickled with the 290 for a pmps, if that is all the higher she is going to bounce off of both a near hypo on Sunday and on last night, I'll take it. At least she is high enough tonight that I could shoot through the bounce and sleep soundly tonight.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang


Good - both you and Deb deserve some sleep......may they finish bouncing quickly for you though...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top