4/2/13 George AMPS-418, +5- 260

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alaina and George

Member Since 2012
Good Morning! Here is yesterday's condo: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=92268#p989688

Today at 10:30 we have an appointment at the vet. Looking forward to having a supportive vet, finally.

George was treated for an upper respiratory infection prior to and during the DKA and I think he's sounding congested again when he is purring. I wonder if that had something to do with the number spike? He was on Clavamox when he stopped eating last time so I don't necessarily think that's the drug for him since it can kill the appetite and the goal is to keep him eating so I can get him healthy again. He did have 2 chest X rays though and both were clear.

I'll update the thread after our appointment.

Hope everyone has a great day.
 
Re: 4/2/13 George AMPS-418

Good luck at the vet! I hope it goes well and you are able to get another sort of medicine...
 
Re: 4/2/13 George AMPS-418

Come on down from there George!! Please and thank you!
Sending good vetty vines and prayers to youtoday. Will be looking for your update. hugs and scritches from us.
 
Re: 4/2/13 George AMPS-418

Hope you have a good vet visit and get some answers.

Maybe George is a candidate for the Allerplex ( Rusty) is on.
Hope George comes down from that red floor.
 
Re: 4/2/13 George AMPS-418

Hi guys .. I can't remember if I've been to george's condo or not, so welcome from us .. I hope the vetty visit goes well and that george's congestion clears up soon .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 4/2/13 George AMPS-418

Just got back from the vet and we're going to stick with 1.25u BID for now, but she thinks he may need 1.5u eventually. I'm going to start him on some Zyrtec so we don't use antibiotics if we don't need them.

Dr. Czerwonky at Cat Hospital of Chicago was wonderful. I felt like she should have charged me for a counseling session too :lol:

I'm going to reduce the amount of times I've been testing and do a curve in a week; my nerves need a break and so do George's ears. Overall the doctor thought George looked good and he hasn't lost any weight since he came home from the hospital so that's good.

We also ran a GI Blood panel to see if there are any underlying issues that could make it difficult to regulate him.

Thank you everyone for all your support and encouraging words. They have helped me immensely.

I'll continue to visit your condos and update you guys as we go along.
 
Just so you know, I ignore the vets at Cat Hospital when it comes to testing. At least for Gabby, I know her patterns as a result of testing they way I do. I used to use Dr. Pohl at Cat Hospital and we agreed to disagree about the frequency of my testing. (Dr. Pohl died last year -- she was a wonderful vet, too.) Both Pohl and Czerwonky also leave me alone when it comes to dosing.

I think that vets, while even those who are supportive of home testing, are used to seeing a cat in their clinic that's stressed. Often, I think they make the assumption that the cat will be similarly stressed at home. I just haven't found that to be the case.

You need to decide what's right for you and for George. The minimum testing you'll need in order to follow the Tight Regulation Protocol is 4 tests per day -- you two pre-shot tests and at least one additional test per cycle (barring things like needing to work). If you're wanting to follow the Tight Regulation Protocol, did you discuss that with the vet? With the TR approach, you evaluate the dose every 3 days. The downside of leaving a cat sitting in higher numbers is that glucose toxicity can develop. This can make it harder to get numbers into a better range. Because George is newly diagnosed, the less time he spends in higher numbers, the better his chances of remission.

I'm glad you liked Cat Hospital.
 
Alaina,
I would think you would want to get George down to better numbers and you would be able to do the minimum tests (4 tests /day) while he is riding so high. The time to test more frequently is when you start seeing numbers below 200.
As his ss looks now, he very likely bounces off of blues.

Just adding my opinion.... wouldn't want George to get used to those higher numbers. cat_pet_icon
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top