4/19 Willie PMPS 82, +1~91, +3~81, +4~85, +5~97

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 4/19 Willie AMPS 191, +3.25~167

Hi guys! that BTB and cuddles sounds soooo nice! enjoy! in the meantime Willie - looting good this AM, and I bet you see green later on. :-D

Willie - see you at Gracie's!! Thx for getting the dogs dude - we needs them!! ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 4/19 Willie PMPS 82

pffft. Why steal hotdogs when you can just loot the bean's amex??? :lol: :lol: :lol:

Was not expecting a green PS tonight, so I am most excited! Willie was waiting for me in the window, which I always love, then met me at the door to make sure I was aware that he was, in fact, star-VING! First dinner has been consumed and the bean is going to sneak off to the store before things get rolling tonight. I'm just so relieved. He's gotten off track before and it's been lots of pinks and yellows before getting him back to good numbers. To have skipped a shot, only hit yellow for a brief time, and the next night be back down in greens is uncharted territory for us, and I couldn't be more pleased... or more thankful for all of the friends we have here who guide us along the way. :-D :-D
 
Re: 4/19 Willie PMPS 82, +1~91, +3~81

Christie, I just read your message over in Devon's condo. I can not believe what your vet said to you. well, yes, I can. I talked to a specialist vet who made sure to reduce me to tears, just because I had the nerve to want to meet her before I brought my Kitty to her.

The vet who nearly ruined us was at least well-intentioned. This person sounds cruel. I think it's written in the laws of nature somewhere that someday you will have to tell her how well Willie has done!

Killed, indeed. Hmmph. Humbug!

Oh, BTW, nice surf!
 
Re: 4/19 Willie PMPS 82, +1~91, +3~81, +4~85

It still stings, Kathy.

I knew we were in the wrong place when, after telling me I'd just killed my cat (on Christmas Eve, no less), she didn't suggest quickly tracking down a vet (we were out of town at my parents' house in Iowa), but rather as I firmly held my ground and told her that I had all the support I needed and would be making the decisions I felt best for my cat, she just said "well, okay then. Call us next week and let us know how he's doing." Um, according to you, lady, he'll be dead in a few hours. *sigh* The hurtful statement was mere dramatics on her part. Sadly, this practice is one of the best feline practices in our area and they are so good at so many other things. I wish I was a big enough person to actually request a sit-down to discuss what I've learned, but I just don't have the energy, especially when it will likely be a wasted effort.

We were ultimately dumped from their practice for being "noncompliant." Most of the things they wanted to pin on me were either things that one of the two vets had told me NOT to do, or were things I had already done. It came down to the fact that they would accept nothing less than full control over his insulin dosing. When I refused, it was made clear I wasn't welcome there. I had already made the decision to leave before our last visit, which ended up feeling alot like high school all over again... "You can't break up with me... I'm breaking up with YOU!!!" :lol: :lol: :lol:

I am blessed to live in a major metro area with probably hundreds of options, and we were thankfully able to find a good one. Willie's dermatologist (the kid has more specialists than I do!!!) told me to call one of the receptionists at the other emergency clinic in town who apparently knows EVERYBODY in the vet community. I explained our situation and what we were looking for, and she gave us a couple suggestions... and the first one was an absolute winner. She is very willing to learn, but is also very respectful of the knowledge I have gained and the support I have here, and has encouraged me to continue on the path we are on, letting me know that she is there for support if needed.

I've seen several stories on here lately with folks with vet problems, and I know for many it is hard due to location and number of options, but if at all possible, if you encounter a problematic vet, please keep looking. The sugar dance is enough of an emotional roller coaster full of questions, self-doubt, and the need to put your own emotions aside because the dance isn't about you or your needs....it's your furbaby's show, and like it or not, you're just along for the ride.

The last thing any of us need is a vet adding to that stress by providing misinformation, unhelpful advice, or, as in my case, hurtful dramatics. Thank heavens for the Felinehood of the Traveling Patient Pants (also known as Lantus Land)!
 
Christie, that's such a beautiful statement youve just written. I think you should add that to your profile! It's too good to drift away.

I'm left speechless by the nastiness of that vet on Christmas Eve. These are the moments when you see that vets are just ordinary human beings, and not all of them very nice ones. You can't even excuse them by imagining that they get along better with animals, because this vet was just plain medically WRONG about the best care for the animal. Like MDs, when we treat them like gods, sometimes they become vulnerable to believing the hype.

Kitty's sugar dance has broken my trust, and built it back up again. I know I can't be passive, just because I don't understand his biology. Vets don't expect active involvement, but I think all of us in Lantus Land are part of the solution to that problem. I do believe that every vet who sees a cat on this protocol learns about what's possible, whether they feel able to admit it openly or not.

Thank heavens for the Felinehood of the Traveling Patient Pants (also known as Lantus Land)!

Hip hip hooray!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top