4/19 Tessie Lou AMPS 286 - Tramadol No More

Status
Not open for further replies.

tessielou

Member Since 2010
Good morning everyone!

Tessie and I had a long sleepless night. About an hour after her 8pm feeding and shot, she started having spasms again, and was clearly in pain. So, I gave her 1/8 tablet of Tramadol. The reaction was not as extreme as it was with the 1/4 tablet, but it still made her jittery. She purred a lot, though, and I definitely think it helped her pain. But, she did not sleep a wink. I laid by her on the couch all night, and tested through the night to make sure the Tramadol didn't send her diving down. It didn't. She was flat yellow all night. I finally nodded off after the 4am spot check, and when I woke up at 7am, she was in the exact same position, still awake, staring out into space. :YMSIGH:

So, no more Tramadol. Guess we go to Bupe now. And btb.

Hoping all condos are full of good and happy events today- -I'll catch up a bit later.
 
I hope you have better luck with the Bupe. Note that Bupe is dosed by both body weight and duration of action. A larger dose will not necessarily have a stronger pain relief effect, but will give a longer duration. In my experience, however, especially with a kitty who might be sensitive to meds, a larger dose will have a significantly stronger sedative effect. I tend to under dose the Bupe initially, and then evaluate the response before increasing the dose. I have found that for my civie, a dose which (for her weight) should give 8 hours of duration is actually effective if given every 12 hours, and allows her to remain awake enough to function (i.e. get out of bed to eat and move around). For Bear Man, an even tinier dose was sufficient. You may find that the dose of Bupe prescribed by the vet has a "zoning out" effect. If it does, you can discuss with the vet reducing the dose until you find a good balance of pain control vs. sedation.
 
Hi guys .. I'm sorry you two had such a long night .. I hope the bupe works better for tessie lou then the tramadol .. I wish she wasn't having these little spasms ...
 
oh my.... what a night! Good luck with the bupe. It sounds like Linda has good advice, you can trust what you read. I hope she does better with the bupe, I think she will. Good luck, and feel better little one.
 
Sandy: I'm so sorry your sweet Tessie Lou had a rough night and you didn't get much rest either. Sending her healing vines. Insofar as the bupe, we dose Gussie every 12 hours and it takes the edge off but keeps him extremely lucid and functional just as Linda said it does with her girl and did with Bear Man. So we dose for Gus's weight but give every 12 instead of 8 hours. I hope it helps her.
 
Sorry you had such a night, Sandy! Glad to hear that Tessie is purring at least... and hopefully the bupe will work better for you guys! Have a good evening!
 
It sounds like the Tramadol is having the same effedt on Tessie Lou as it does to me when I take it. It keeps me awake. It doesn't do too much for my back pain but is great at keeping me feeling like a normal human being that has some energy. I hope the bupe helps her. Poor baby girl. Have a great night guys. Tessie Lou, I hope you get to feeling better and can make it to Choco's party tomorrow. :razz:
 
Hi Sandy and Tessie Lou,

Sending positive thoughts for good results with the Bupe. You've gotten good advice. Feel better, Tessie Lou, and I hope that you both will get a good night's sleep tonight. Rusty has picked you a bouquet of healing vines.

Ella & Rusty
 
Thanks so much for your concern, everyone. Such wonderful support here...

Linda, that is so good to know. I had pretty much decided that whatever the vet wanted to start with, I would half it, and then see how she gets along. I hate to think of her "zoned out" because she gets so little exercise as it is. Still, it has to be better than the Tramadol effects.

Marje, I'm glad to hear the bupe works for so long for Gus, too.

Thanks guys, Tessie and I are going to take an ear break tonight and get a good night's sleep. Much needed.

Maria, a big YES on Choco's party tomorrow. Wouldn't miss it! When one kitty makes it, we all rejoice! :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top