4/19 PMPS 225 +2 39 +3 53 +3.5 39 +4 47 +5 50 + 11 135

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Rocky

Member Since 2013
Good morning everyone!

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=117440&p=1232506#p1232506

It looks like Rocky might be bouncing this morning, then again, I DID feed him a LOT OF MC and LC cat foods last night for his mini-meals (which his system is not used to at all), even when he did not have a BG in the 50s. The reason I did was to see if I could raise his BG to the 100s. I believe I overfed him too many carbs to surf the blue numbers overnight. I was also trying to get him to surf the blues so that I could get some much needed sleep. :sad: I-)

There was only 1x when Rocky really needed those carbs last night and that was right after his PMPS shot. His BG had dropped to 53. He probably did not need more carbs after he was back up to 64. I think the next time this happens I won't keep feeding him carbs when he is in the 60s.

Rocky spent all day in his AMPS cycle yesterday in green numbers. There was only 1x when I needed to feed him carbs then too, and that's what I did. His BG did not go into the 300s that time. :cool:

Rocky's recap of yesterday:

AMPS 62 +1 55 +2 42 +3 504 53 +6 64 +11 94
PMPS 64 + .5 53 +1 64 +1.5 62 +2 78 +3 99 +8 386
 
Re: 4/19 AMPS 384 +2 379 +8 284

Hahaha! "Save a strip day"! I like that a lot. :lol: Yes, I have been doing all sorts of housework to keep myself from running to his ears when I know good and well that Rocky is taking his recovery from this bounce nice and slow... Maybe by tonight we will at least see some blue numbers? :roll:
 
Re: Freakin' drop! 4/19 PMPS 225 ----> +2 39 rt-54!!!!

I am not trusting the Relion meter one bit tonight.. Holy crud.. (and I'm still fighting this dang cold) First, his PMPS +2 said 39 :o :shock: @-)

I immediately pulled that strip out and flung it to the floor, stuck another one into the same meter and this time poked and drew blood from his other ear. This retest read 54.. that is 171 point drop in BG! :o :shock: @-) nailbite_smile This is a HUGE drop in only two hours. In addition, Rocky is crying and crying for more food after I already fed him his 2nd mini-meal. I'm at a loss for what to do. nailbite_smile

No no no.. i don't think it's time to decrease his insulin already.. this is a MISTAKE on my part for not getting a PMPS +1.. ohmygod_smile i didn't think he would go down like that from the 225.


***UPDATE***

Fed Rocky (1)TBS + 1/2TBS MC Friskies Country Style Dinner-- 11% carbs at PMPS +2.5 when BG was 39 for a second time.

I'm wondering if there is something wonky with these test strips? :roll:

Am I really suppose to lower his insulin dose to 1.75u in the morning? Maybe I should try decreasing to a "skinny" 2.0u first? :roll: :?:

Julie it appears this is not a "save a strip" night! :lol:
 
Re: 4/19 PMPS 225 +2 39 rt-54 +2.5 39 +3 53

Tina, I think you need to reduce again. I think it was Shelly's Jersey that started all of a sudden needing reductions quite quickly. This sounds like a really good thing to me. You did feed him again I hope. If he is that low and wants to eat you need to feed him I would think. I'd take the full reduction.

Max is stuck in mellow yellow and I think I should have given a full 2 instead of a short. He is crying as well but not eating.

Are you okay?
 
Re: 4/19 PMPS 225 +2 39 rt-54 +2.5 39 +3 53

I agree. Take the reduction. I doubt you have a batch of wonky strips. One? Yes. Multiple? Doubtful, although I guess not impossible. Remember you can always go right back up if his numbers get bad...you don't have to wait that 6-8 cycles.

Nice job working that juice Rocky, but give your mom a break!! A slow slide and surf is what we want to see...not this cliff diving diva! China? Gracie?? What are you telling this guy?!
 
Re: 4/19 PMPS 225 +2 39 rt-54 +2.5 39 +3 53 +3.5 39

LOL Elise and Suzanne!! haha_smileyYes, Elise, I am Ok! You can head off to bed. It's nearly 2am here. Thanks so much for asking about me though. :YMHUG:

I'm going to be up for a few more hours to monitor Rocky. I just put the 911 in the subject line so folks can see that Rocky is diving hard. I am going to be one sick puppy, er uh, kitty(?) if Rocky doesn't stop these late night shenanigans pretty soon. I am sooo aching for sleep. I would have got some too last night, IF my DH (I can think of another adjective to describe him right now cat(2)_steam ) would not have woken me up at 6am today.. I couldn't fall back asleep. I has a sore throat, horrible headache, then was hot-n-cold. Of course, I tried to do housework through the entire day even though I just wanted to crawl back into bed and.. well, you know at least SLEEP! I-)

I don't like the idea of Rocky going all the way down to 1.75u, again, but I'll do it for his safety. If he is really healing and Mr. Liver is finally getting it, why does his BG go up to the 400s when he bounces? It's not making sense to me. :cry:
 
Re: 4/19 PMPS 225 +2 39 rt-54 +2.5 39 +3 53 +3.5 39

I'm sorry you are having to deal with this and are sick. Nothing about FD makes sense to me. However this protocol has worked for so many. I think his pancreas IS healing. Every time Rocky clears a bounce he goes green. You can always go up if needed. You can't risk a hypo. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 4/19 PMPS 225 +2 39 +3 53 +3.5 39 +4 47 +5 50 +5.5 66

Hey Tina,

I always miss the late-night action! I totally agree on taking the reducie.

ECID, I know, but I've always seen a lot of similarities between Rocky and Jersey. (I think I may have even mentioned it in one of your condos way back when.) Their bounces, they way they broke bounces.....it was just so similar. I even got our spreadsheets confused sometimes when they were both open on my computer! :lol: In the beginning, Jersey would bounce for 5 or 6 cycles, just like Rocky did. Once we hit the "magic" dose, she would only bounce for one or two cycles - if that. Then she would dive. (It seems like I'm seeing that with Rocky lately, too.)

I'm not saying this will be the case for Rocky because ECID, but it seems like he wants to head in Jersey's direction. We went up to 1 unit for about 8 days and then started reducing. After that, we couldn't seem to reduce fast enough. On 4/6 PM, we gave Jersey a reduced dose. I'm not sure if it wasn't enough for her that night or if that was her last "true" bounce. She was in the stinky pink the next morning and never looked back after that. We just kept reducing and reducing. We couldn't even taper off the insulin like Davidson did. There were just too many drops below that safe level, and we were definitely working to keep her above 50.

I would go with the reducie. If it doesn't work, you can always go back up.

Keep in mind that I'm really not an experienced user. All I have is my personal experience to go by, so take that for what it's worth!

Shelly
 
Happy Easter, Shelly! I just took a look at Jersey's SS again. Wow.. she really zoomed her way to recovery. I think Rocky's ride has been a bit more bouncy, but I do see how it might look a little bit similar.

The difference i see is that Jersey didn't spend as much time in the pinks, and it looks like she never touched red or black. Rocky has done both.

Yes, I agree with everyone here. I'll go ahead and give him a decreased dose of insulin this morning even if he back up to the 300s by his shot time in about 45 minutes.

I don't want to see any numbers lower than 39, that is for sure!
 
Tina, I saw the similarities with Jersey. I am glad you looked at her ss. I think you may be seeing a breakthrough. I hope I am right.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top