4/19 Kim's Simon AMPS 72 PMPS 66 +2/68

Status
Not open for further replies.

kim and simon

Member Since 2012
Yesterday I posted pics of one of our Monarch chrysalides. Check it out! We caught caterpillar #2, aka "flower," pupating and the whole family was amazed. It happens in 1-2 minutes. They actually shed their last caterpillar skin, revealing the green pupa beneath. I took a video and lost it when my camera powered off. Bummer! YouTube has some though.

Simon has had good AMPS progress. Scouting for his nadir is a challenge! Have a great day LL! :mrgreen:
 
heehee kim! i haven't looked at simon's ss for awhile!

the protocol says with normal numbers for a week, try reducing the dose and see if it holds. so yes, that was ok. simon's looking pretty darned optimistic! wahoo and woot!

Reducing the dose:
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.
If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose.
Try to go from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely.
 
As you can see I'm not so optimistic to shave whole .1 units! I am trying to be consistent with half drops and double checking with calipers. So far, so good!
 
I love how his PSs have come down :-D :-D

After I read your condo about the calipers, I bought a 4" digital caliper and have been using it to double check the dose but I find even with the calipers, I have to be sure and hold them the same way every time and hold them steady.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top