4/19 Gus PMPS 524 +3=410 !?!

Status
Not open for further replies.

bev5477

Member Since 2011
~O) ~O) ~O) ~O) Watching Gus to see if/when he responds to dosecrease. I've been setting my alarm clock in order to get the PM +6 test. I just couldn't hack staying up that late every night (midnight). Maybe 20 years ago, but it was taking a toll on me. I really don't want to change shoot times because they work well for everyone else in the house. I'd rather have interrupted sleep than have to do with 6 hrs. each day. I'm not a napper, I feel worse after having taken one. Also been practicing drawing up .1U just in case. Knowing Gus, that bounce is just a couple of cycles away!
 
Re: 4/19 Gus AMPS 499 +3=509

:shock: this is me watching you watching gus. :lol: wonder what gus will do today? i think punkin is bouncing from the dose increase. *sigh*
 
Re: 4/19 Gus AMPS 499 +3=509

You made me laugh. Only because you understand!! Punkin' bouncin'? I hate when that happens. Seriously, I know ECID, but I wonder what is the average time it takes for the #%*@!$ liver to heal. Factors like degree of severity of FD and length of time in the HI #s all averaged, I wonder how long?
 
Re: 4/19 Gus AMPS 499 +3=509

How nice to see that 499, and the +3 is practically the same. YAY Gus! Progress! Good idea too on the practice - those micro-doses are hard to do....

I hear you on the nap thing - I can't take them either - makes me feel 10X worse if I do...

have a good one today! :-D
 
Re: 4/19 Gus AMPS 499 +3=509

i just tip over on the sofa and crash - the key with a nap is to not sleep too long. that's deadly - then you feel like you're a zombie. just 20 minutes or so is perfect for a nap. my inner clock usually wakes me up, although last week i think i slept 3 hours in the afternoon. blame it on antihistamines!
 
Re: 4/19 Gus AMPS 499 +3=509

You're probably right. I always sleep more than 30 minutes when I nap. On NPR, they're talking about the Air Traffic Controllers who nap on their breaks (and when they're working :? ) The controllers who do choose to nap, always keep it to 20-25 minutes. So that must be why I feel so crappy after a nap.
 
Re: 4/19 Gus AMPS 499 +3=509

Maybe we could get jobs as air traffic controllers?? Michelle up all night & many other members--
Be careful of low flying kitties :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Hope Gus's numbers come down!
BTW Welcome to lantus land if I didnt say it!! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 4/19 Gus AMPS 499 +3=509

zzzzzzzzz Huh! What? No, really. Thanks Wish I could say we were glad to be here. And that is NO offense to any of the great beans that we've met. Just wish we could all meet on a OTJ board forum.
 
Re: 4/19 Gus AMPS 499 +3=509

Bev, i understand all too well the nap problem. My husband can close his eyes for 20min and be ready to go the rest of the night. I on the other hand am just like you, I'm done. And you asked all good questions. I too wonder when the liver decides it's had enough and just behaves.
I was wondering, where exactly is .1u? I have the needles with 1/2 u markings also. is it just enough to register in the needle? I might be trying R with Tommy and practicing is an excellent idea. I'm glad you brought it up..
By the way it is nice to see his numbers not quite so high as they were on the 17th.
I wish you much luck and well deserved sleep :lol:
 
Re: 4/19 Gus AMPS 499 +3=509

scroll down about 1/2 way through this page and you can see the dosing for tiny amounts in a syringe. it takes a good eye, i'm sure!
 
Re: 4/19 Gus AMPS 499 +3=509

The sticky at the top of the page title 'New to the Group' has a picture of what .1U looks like. It is literally one drop. One the syringe, it's barely visible to my eye.
 
Now, I'm really confused!! Even after getting his insulin today, Gus hasn't varied much in his numbers. From 499 to 524 really isn't a difference to mention. Can somebody explain this to me. Thanks.
 
no input on the numbers...but binks decided to just skip the microdoses cuz he knew i'd screw them up!

gus, come down, buddy!
 
nope, can't explain it. although lantus is supposed to make a 'flat' curve, and maybe that's what you're seeing. i don't know. a drop from 524 to 410 isn't flat, though . . . i've kinda given up trying to figure it out and have resigned myself to just going with it.
 
Bev --

It isn't a matter of the liver healing. The liver is fine. In fact, because there's a bounce you know the liver is working just like it's supposed to. The bouncing begins to diminish as a cat's body becomes acclimated to lower numbers. At this point, Gus is used to spending time in higher ranges. Those highs become the new "normal" so when the insulin brings his numbers down, the liver panics. The more time Gus spends in lower ranges, the more the liver will "learn" that there's no reason to panic. We affectionately refer to this as, "Liver Training School" (LTS).

I'm not sure I'd be getting up to catch the +6 when Gus' numbers are running this high. I'd suggest you sleep and save it up for the nights when Gus is in low numbers and you need to stay up and test!.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top