4/19 - Alphyne PMPS @ 323 / +2 @ 288 - bouncing

bobjoh

Member Since 2021
(previous) 4/6 - Alphyne AMPS @ 223 / Gryphen AMPS @ 130 | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

So, Alphyne has been going NUTS with the reductions. I'm honestly starting to wonder if she even has diabetes, or if something else is going on. :(

She has had 4 reductions in two weeks, and now she appears to be bouncing like crazy. This morning she dropped 200 points @ +3, and that can't possibly be normal! (Side note, I switched back to the AlphaTrak until I can get in to the new vet in May; my vet won't use the human meter numbers and with Alphy dropping in to the 50s, I need to give the vet the numbers.)

I originally told my vet that I thought Alphy eating the DM food prescribed to Gryphen gave her diabetes, but my vet disagreed. She was on me for a long time to switch back to prescription food, but I told her to stop bringing it up, since I wouldn't do it. (It didn't actually do anything good for Gryphen, either.) I wish I had found this group sooner, as I would have tried the diet change before starting insulin. :( But now that Alphy eats mostly wet, I can't get her anywhere near regulated. Gryphen has flatter numbers, but is also at the lowest possible Lantus dose. I thought the YA was having a bad effect, but I don't think that's the case.

I'm glad they are both headed toward lower numbers, but I feel so bad for Alphy. She gets so low, then soooo high. :( I did start feeding them both at +2, but while that works with Gryphen, it seems to have no effect on Alphy.

Keep your fingers crossed for my poor girl; I hope she stops bouncing soon! I do have an appointment on the 26th for a full blood workup, to see if something else is going on.
 
Alphyne earned a reduction down to 1.0 units, not 0.75 units. Your vet has her on too low a dose.

If you use one of our dosing methods, we can help you with dosing (24 x 7) and you can go back to the human meter. Most of us stop talking to the vet about what to dose after the beginning. And due to the nature of the AT, cats look bouncier on it that the human meters. The AT highs are a lot higher.

Gryphen's looking good. :cool: In the spreadsheets, could you note that you are now using the AT, instead of just what you previously were using.
 
I agree with Wendy, we stopped going to the vet about diabetes management too (our vet made it very easy for us, he was clueless) and it paid off big time. the forum uses very explicit protocols and has a lot of people around to help when needed. Most important is with the forum guidance you get to understand much better what to do on your own. Additionally by getting advice from 2 sources you only introduce more unknowns into the process, which is unwelcome in diabetes management.
PS i would never trust a vet that pushes prescription food for diabetes, ours tried to give us 20% carb kibble for diabetes, when we told him it was 20% carbs he was shocked and didn’t even bring it up anymore.
 
I agree with Wendy, we stopped going to the vet about diabetes management too (our vet made it very easy for us, he was clueless) and it paid off big time. the forum uses very explicit protocols and has a lot of people around to help when needed. Most important is with the forum guidance you get to understand much better what to do on your own. Additionally by getting advice from 2 sources you only introduce more unknowns into the process, which is unwelcome in diabetes management.
PS i would never trust a vet that pushes prescription food for diabetes, ours tried to give us 20% carb kibble for diabetes, when we told him it was 20% carbs he was shocked and didn’t even bring it up anymore.
 
Sadly, if I don't 'talk' to the vet, I don't get a prescription for the insulin. This vet (who lowered the dose) was the one was trying to switch to. I did mention she earned a reduction to 1, but he said he usually doses in .5 increments. I'll put Alphy back up to 1U. My regular vet doesn't work with me much anymore; I think I made her mad. I have an appointment at another clinic in May. :(
 
Sadly, if I don't 'talk' to the vet, I don't get a prescription for the insulin. This vet (who lowered the dose) was the one was trying to switch to. I did mention she earned a reduction to 1, but he said he usually doses in .5 increments. I'll put Alphy back up to 1U. My regular vet doesn't work with me much anymore; I think I made her mad. I have an appointment at another clinic in May. :(
:eek::eek: That is too much power in the hands of the wrong person. When we changed the vet we told her that we don’t need any help with diabetes management anymore, she saw the spreadsheet, concluded we understand what we are doing and didn’t try any further comments.

I didn’t understand if the new vet will not give you prescription for insulin if you don’t consult the treatment with him or the old one.
 
I didn’t understand if the new vet will not give you prescription for insulin if you don’t consult the treatment with him or the old one.

It's kind of a nightmare here. Very limited options. Rural state (though at least I live in a bigger city). :(
 
Back
Top