4/19/13 Rag AMPS

Status
Not open for further replies.

yo hon

Member Since 2013
7:30 a.m. eastern AMPS 423 only ate one can ff with water and three small F/D chicken liver treats.

1 unit given. Have to go to work . Will update SS when I get home.

YoHon & Rags
 
1:30 p.m. eastern +6 - 370

5 -freeze dried chicken/liver treats, small

1/4 can ff with water. doesn't seem to be too hungry today. Someone has diarrhea, but I don't know who. Am trying to monitor.

Becki & Rags
 
Could you please update the subject line to include the BG measurements?
4/19/13 Rag AMPS +423;+6 370

Then everyone can see what is happening with Rag without reading the entire condo. Thanks!
Liz
 
Liz, do you mean in the "new topic line ?" If so, yes of course ! I wasn't aware that we were supposed to do that.

Becki
 
Hi Becki.

Actually, when we have a new BG test number to post, we go to the first post of today's thread, and press the Edit key and add the latest test numbers and then press Submit.
That way all of us who are following Rags' progress can see from the main view of all the condos what his current BG reading is.

If you have a question or anything to add, please don't Edit the body (big box) of the first post, as most of us that have already ready some of your thread but not yet all of it, will click on the "First unread post" to advance down to the post we left off on. So, if you have a question or anything to add, please Edit the Subject Line of your first post, the way I described, and then do a Reply to the post thread and add your question or addition in the new box that comes up.



Hope that helps. Let me know if it does not :)
 
04/19/13 Rags AMPS 423, +4 370

To do it the way we do it :) and to help those of us helping you, the most, you would change the Subject Line in your first post to say 04/19/13 Rags AMPS 423, +4 370 (if those are the wrong numbers, sorry :oops: , that's what I see in your spreadsheet).
 
7:30 p.m. PMPS 200 ate three f/d chicken liver treats. Also eating 1 1/2 can ff with water so far.

Becki & Rags
 
4/19/13 Rag PMPS 200

That's a nice PS number, Rags cat_pet_icon

I would start tonight's testing with a +2.
 
Becki --

If you go back to one of Marje's earlier posts, she noted that we generally suggest that if you get a pre-shot number that's between 150 - 200 that you post and ask for help. Most of us, once we're past being new at using Lantus, shoot substantially lower numbers. While Hillary was offering a suggestion about not shooting below 200, skipping a shot is the one option that has the most negative impact on the insulin depot and on consistency. In some cases, it's the best option. I'm not sure skipping is the best option now.

An alternative would be to wait 30 min. and see where Rags numbers are. If his numbers are rising, it's safe to shoot. You might find this post on shooting low numbers helpful.
 
Dyana , I put it in +5 with the time i took it. i don't know what to do in those situatios. on post i put +6

Becki
 
yo hon said:
Dyana , I put it in +5 with the time i took it. i don't know what to do in those situatios. on post i put +6

Becki
I think you might need to erase those clock times, because if his shot times change, then the +5 changes to +6, like it did today. ;-)

Don't worry, once you get used to shooting at the same time everyday, you'll start to remember those + numbers. I do.
 
4/19/13 Rag PMBG 200, +12.75 478

Yes, please do. Actually, if you wouldn't mind, because there is such a big difference between that 200 at +12 (7:30) and that 478 at +12.75 (8:15) I would double check and test one more time now, just to make sure the 478 number isn't a mistake or error in the glucometer. If his BG is still that high, then give him his insulin.


Please see the Subject Line I have added to this post. Are those the right numbers? 200 at 7:30pm and 478 (after eating) only 45 minutes later.
 
4/19/13 Rag PMBG 200, +12.75 478

Have you been able to get another test, Becki? Or did you give the insulin, yet?
I don't see any replies to my question in my previous post, so I don't know if you saw it.
 
Dayana, i already gave him his shot at 8:30 p.m. because I didn't get an answer and didn't want to wait longer. I had to stick him seven times because it kept saying error. He is very stressed out now. I know he will be running tomorrow.

See I was told many,many times to hold inj. if it was 200 or under,so now I was totally confused. I am not trying to disrespect anyone, I just need to know what is right ! I do not want to hurt my boy and I am new at this Lantus and the Novolin. Everyone gets mad, frustrated and discouraged with me because I ask questions. I'm scared, I'm sorry !!! They think by now I should know all there is to know andI don't ! I am being totally honest with you ! I do appreciate all the help you have given me. Thank You !

Becki
 
It's okay to ask questions when you're new. We encourage you to ask questions, lots of questions, when you're new.

Just don't forget that Rags' next shot is 12 hours past this one, so at 8:30am tomorrow morning, or you can shoot a little earlier if his BGs are high. Let us know in the morning what his numbers are and we will help you if you want to give his insulin earlier than 8:30am, okay?


The 200 rule is mostly on the Main Health forum, where you started out. Over here on the Lantus forum, we often give insulin when the cat is below 200. In the beginning of your cat's diabetic adventure, we just ask that you post the number in your condo, if his numbers are 200 or below, so that we can help you and guide you. We want to keep your kitty safe.
Don't worry about it. Okay? You're doing fine. Just fine.
 
Dyana, thank you so much for the words of encouragement, I really need them !!!! And you are very kind and I do appeciate that as well.

I really need to go to bed, I am soooo tired and worn out,

Thank you again Becki & Rags
 
Becki :YMHUG:

I know you are headed to bed so you can read this later....no hurry.

There is so much information in this forum and it can be overwhelming. So we are here for you ....if you have questions, worries, doubts....just let us know.

I think Dyana might be right that the line I left on your SS might be confusing you. Would you be ok if I took it off?

Here's how to know which block to put your test numbers in:

if you give a shot at 7:30 in the morning and you test three hours later, you put the test number in the +3 column. If you shoot late...say at 8:30 and test again three hours later...you still put it in the +3 column. So think of your shot time as "0" and then whenever you test, just count the number of hours from that. :-D

If you try to poke him three times in a row and can't get a number, then just take five minutes.....breathe, calm yourself, love on Rags, give him a treat, and then try again. The calmer you are, the calmer he will be.

I hope you get some rest. The stress can make you more tired, too. Just remember that even though his numbers are high, he is still getting insulin and it is helping him process his foods better.

Ni Ni!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top